We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Day Out for Everyone.”

Dolphin Discovery Centre
Ranked #1 of 9 Tours in Bunbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Dolphin Discovery Centre in Bunbury WA is 90 minutes south of Perth. Koombana Bay is home to local wild Bottlenose Dolphins who regularly visit the interaction zone at the Dolphin Discovery Centre. Swim on the wild side encounters or Dolphin Eco Cruises are a great opportunity to interact with the dolphins in their own environment. The philosophy behind the centre is to promote research, conservation and education of the Bottlenose Dolphins and other native marine life. The centre operates October to May 8am - 4pm (closed Christmas Day) and June to September 9am - 2pm.
Sunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day Out for Everyone.”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We enjoyed a fantastic cruise on Koombana Bay, and encountered loads of dolphins, resting, feeding, surfing and jumping out of the water. This cruise does not guarantee dolphin sightings however, I don't know anyone who has been on this cruise that has not been lucky enough to spot a dolphin.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDCBunbury, Manager at Dolphin Discovery Centre, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
You are right, our tours are to see wild dolphins however we do make a guarantee that you will see dolphins on your tour or you can come again for free. At this time of year we have loads in the bay and you could sit and watch all day long :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    170
    62
    11
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely day”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My daughter and i went on this tour today and had a great time. Our host was informative and the crew of volunteers were great. It was a windy morning and the current was very strong so we didnt stay in the water too long as i didnt have the strength to continue. Our trip was funded by friends as a gift towards my bucket list as i have terminal cancer. I didnt get up close and personal with the Dolphins but i still enjoyed the day. This is a great opportunity for those who wish to swim with Dolphins and have good swimming/snorkeling skills. The center itself is worth a visit with some lovely fish tanks to view.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank carinastarr61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDCBunbury, Manager at Dolphin Discovery Centre, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Wow... very happy you got to tick a box on your bucket list and your visit with us was special. I hope you get to tick many more off your list and enjoy every single minute. - Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day!”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic experience, saw lots of dolphins including a week old baby! So cute :-) We had a group swim right underneath us when we were in the water...definitely recommend this trip!

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDCBunbury, Manager at Dolphin Discovery Centre, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
It is the season for loads of babies and it is extra fun when you see them, you would have to be made of stone not to appreciate the cuteness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The dolphin swim...”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I booked and attended the dolphin swim on a Saturday afternoon. It was great! I thought it was great that the marine biologist spent time discussing how to approach and respect the dolphins, explained about the different dolphins in the bay and about dolphins generally. As I'm anti captivity focused for dolphins and whales, I found this centre respectful of the animals and very education focused. I would very highly recommend this swim experience. Great job guys!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDCBunbury, Manager at Dolphin Discovery Centre, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thankyou so much, in recent days we have had a lot of requests asking if we have captive dolphins. It's lovely to be appreciated in the fact that the tour is with wild dolphins that come and go as they please. The interaction is that much more special! So happy your tour was loved :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Really good low cost experience and whilst we missed the dolphins morning feeding the rest of the Centre was great.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CharltonChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDCBunbury, Manager at Dolphin Discovery Centre, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review. It's nice to know you enjoyed our Discovery Centre - we have big plans to make it bigger and better but still a couple of years off. I hope you'll be back to see those!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Discovery Centre also viewed

Bunbury, Western Australia
Bunbury, Western Australia
 
Bunbury, Western Australia
Bunbury, Western Australia
 

Been to Dolphin Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing