We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get up early”

Dolphin Discovery Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.71*
and up
90-Minute Dolphin Discovery Centre Eco Cruise
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
$7.72*
and up
Bunbury Dolphin Discovery Centre: General Entry
Ranked #1 of 10 Tours in Bunbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: In May 2017 the Dolphin Discovery Centre began its redevelopment to improve and add to their existing facilities. Construction work began and our volunteer building and research room has been moved off its existing site to the block next door in preparation for our building the new Café/Restaurant. At the same time that this is happening the City of Bunbury is constructing a Coastline Revetment Wall for coastal protection, Department of Parks and Wildlife are building across the road and the Waterfront Project has begun with new landscaping and bridge work along Koombana Bay. So our area looks like an industrial zone BUT in fact we are still operating full steam throughout this whole process. Our Dolphin Eco Cruises will operate year round subject to weather and our Swim with Wild Dolphins will be operating next summer as usual. Much of the disruption will be finished by December and there will be new assets along Koombana Bay including a substantial playground, additional parking , a kiosk and a beach auditorium. The entire process for the DDC redevelopment including the new interpretive experience will be completed by November 2018 however elements will be progressively delivered. Entry to the DDC will be free over the winter months where most disruption is likely to occur so pop in and see what is happening. At times we might have alternate access to the beach for any dolphin visits and boat departures over the next 8 months. There are a lot of exciting times ahead and we appreciate your support through the process of building our new Café and Discovery Centre. The Dolphin Discovery Centre in Bunbury WA is 90 minutes south of Perth. Koombana Bay is home to local wild Bottlenose Dolphins who regularly visit the interaction zone at peak times during the year. Swim with Wild Dolphins or Dolphin Eco Cruises are a great opportunity to interact with the dolphins in their own environment. The philosophy behind the centre is to promote research, conservation and education of the Bottlenose Dolphins and other native marine life. The centre operates October to April 8am - 4pm (closed Christmas Day) and May to September 9am - 2pm.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I'm sure this attraction is as good as people say and much better than average I just wanted to add a note of caution. We stayed in Bunbury overnight to visit the attraction the following day but didn't get there early enough (the boat left at 07:00 and anyway the trip needed to be booked the previous day). We were traveling on so couldn't wait for the next day.

1  Thank BathfanOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDCBunbury, Manager at Dolphin Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Good Morning, Our Swim Tour begins at 7.30am and we do have an 18 hour cut off time, which we do advertise - this is so that if we don't have minimum numbers that people can be notified in plenty of time. Unfortunately we aren't in a place where tourism is optimum all year round and to make our tour viable we do have to still have minimum numbers. I regret that you didn't get the opportunity to go on the tour - I hope the opportunity arises again so you can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 406 of 549 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

Activities at the centre is informative, but limited. But when the main attraction of the dolphins, there is always a lot of excitement. We stayed overnight at Bunbury just to catch the dolphins in the morning and we were not disappointed. Three dolphins came in and the centre staff and volunteers will sound the bell and everyone will go out to the beach and into the water. The dolphins came as close as just a metre away. The kids were excited even though they were cold. We managed to get good videos as well.

One thing great about the tickets is that it entitles you to three visits to the centre with no expiry date.

1  Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDCBunbury, Manager at Dolphin Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Good Morning, it's very exciting when the dolphins choose to visit our beach! I'm glad your children got to see them up close. We have exciting redevelopment plans in place for the next 18mths-2yrs that will allow us to enhance our displays and add to your visitor experience. Unfortunately we need to wait on Government funding opportunities but hopefully if you get a chance to return it will impress you. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Informative centre with helpful and friendly staff. Take your bathers and relax on the beach as you may have a wait for the dolphins to come in. Alternatively pay a bit extra and go out on the boat trip to view these beautiful creatures feeding and resting in the bay. We were lucky enough to watch a pod of about 20 pushing the fish towards the beach and feeding. For the more adventurous you can don a wet suit and swim with dolphins.

1  Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDCBunbury, Manager at Dolphin Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Good Morning, you have nailed it in a nutshell! :) it is beautiful weather at the moment to spend the day on the beach after visiting the centre. I'm glad you took time out to enjoy it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

You can never have enough of encounters with those cute,loveable shiny mammals. This Bunbury attraction is an interactive zone ,an area of shallow water that has been roped off to allow encounters between dolphins and people.
Volunteer guides will help you to stand in waist-deep water or choose to have an underwater encounter,which involves donning mask and snorkel and watch the cute critters approach you. Its unnerving and adrenaline -charged as patience teamed with anticipation, produces a crescendo of thrills and joy.
8.00 am is the prime time to see these wild dolphins,especially in summer.

1  Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDCBunbury, Manager at Dolphin Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Good Morning, the interaction zone is a great place to see the dolphins - remembering they are wild and come and go as they please. To see them with a mask and snorkel is only on a swim tour not in the interaction zone. I'm not sure if you did the swim, but it is a great opportunity to see the dolphins in their natural environment. Thanks for taking the time to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

After you enter the Dolphin Discovery Centre keep an ear out for the dolphin spotters on the beach. The will be a signal letting you know that a dolphin is near the shoreline. To avoid disappointment wear bathers so you can wade in and line up so the dolphin can swim by. The satff are quite strict on what you can and can't do so 'go with the flow' to enjoy the experience.

1  Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDCBunbury, Manager at Dolphin Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

It's great you got to see the dolphins and enjoyed your day! We do have to be strict as we get a few people not listen and do the wrong thing and then it puts our visitors at risk... they are wild dolphins and not trained ones. We'd love to see you back again, it's a great morning down the beach and visiting our aquarium friends :) Thankyou for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Discovery Centre also viewed

Bunbury, Western Australia
Bunbury, Western Australia
 
Bunbury, Western Australia
Bunbury, Western Australia
 

Been to Dolphin Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing