We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good food”
Review of Mesa by Casellas

Mesa by Casellas
Ranked #19 of 137 Restaurants in Bunbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bunbury, Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Consistently good food”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Have eaten here a number of times over the years and found the lunch menu excellent value with dishes under $20 - with a jug of Sangria on a warm day overlooking the water it doesn't get much better (in Bunbury). Service is good - the missing orange in the Chorizo and Orange Salad was quickly rectified once it was pointed out it was a key ingredient!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wmcint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    97
    33
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stone cold, over cooked”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Shared a meal here with group of 12 on a Thursday night.

Found the staff great and generally friendly. The barman even remembered our drinks on a subsequent round.

The meal I had was ordinary to say the least. I ordered a medium black angus about $43 from memory. The only part they got right was the black. Black, cold and over cooked would be the only way to describe it. At that price it comes with nothing, just a stone cold steak on a plate with a sauce of your choice. I ordered a side of onion rings which were covered in a thick batter.

Glad I didn't outlay the $90 for the wagu!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rooboy_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanneroo, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful Experience”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Took my partner here for an anniversary dinner last night as was not disappointed! The food was top quality and one of the nicest meals either of us has had out. The prices are standard with what you would expect for a high quality WA restaurant. My partner had the braised beef which fell apart and looked delicious. Both of our desserts were equally fantastic. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting a special night in Bunbury. They are also a wine bar with an extensive wine list. The wait staff were consistent and always there to provide a fantastic service. The ambiance by the water is lovely and the place is well fitted out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miffy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always consistent!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Greeted by friendly staff, who must be part of a great team as they hardly ever change! The food as always was delicious. Don't change what you are doing as it is fantastic!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Divinity6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“another great meal here”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Called in here for dinner and without a booking. We got a table at the furthest point of the restaurant. It was fine for us and we had great views of the bay.
After perusing the menu, we decided on the set menu which consisted of spring rolls, pork with rice and chocolate dessert to finish. Complimentary bread was served first which was welcome. The meals were delicious, the spring rolls were very delicate and filling, the pork was well cooked and tasty and the dessert was divine.
To finish off we had liquour coffee which neither of us liked much, they were bitter and didn't have much flavour of alcohol, next time we will just stick with a cocktail to finish.
The set menu is a new thing with a weekly changing menu. It is a great price and certainly affordable
The wait staff here are lovely, always attentive and friendly, it is so nice to see staff who smile and seem happy in their work. I hope they are appreciated as they make all the difference to a place.
Of course we will be back for more

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrswinendine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mesa by Casellas also viewed

Bunbury, Western Australia
Bunbury, Western Australia
 
Bunbury, Western Australia
Bunbury, Western Australia
 

Been to Mesa by Casellas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing