We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible at Best”

Dolphin Retreat Bunbury
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolphin Retreat Bunbury
Euclid, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible at Best”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

If you like being surrounded by drinking, drugs, and theft, this would be your place. Anything is fair game--food, clothes, cell phone chargers, etc. Forget about any rest because you will be lying awake hoping that no one steals anything of yours. The common areas and bathrooms are dirty. Many of the lockers don't work or can easily be broken into.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalhondingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
7
8
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stayed here as a UK single senior male 23 - 26 Jan 2014. The booking was all done direct on the internet and on arrival Christine on reception was ready for me and had even managed to keep me a bottom bed. I was in Room 1 which is actually on the front porch and is a twin room. The other guest was a long term stayer and the most untidy person l've ever come across but he was hardly ever there.

The facilities are adequate but as in most hostels a few more toilets and showers would have been good. The hostel supply a crockery and cutlery pack which is very helpful. The kitchen was ok and again spoilt by those too idle to wash up their cooking pots etc, mainly men I have to say. Also the same people seemed to think that the sofas were theirs to stretch out on with their shoes on the cushions and not worry about other guests.

It is very conveniently sited being a 6/7 minute walk from the the transport center and just another 4 minutes to the beach on the same road.

Yes taking all in to consideration l would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hairyhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 3 bed dorm which was pretty cosy. The hostel is small but has decent facilities. Breakfast included and good parking area but no free wifi. Close to the beach and a short walk to the town. Nice place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyGarethPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We were only passing through so only spent one night, thank goodness as I'm not sure we could have coped with any more. We had stayed in three other YHAs on our trip and the standards here were by far the worst. The place needs gutting and re-vamping, the kitchen is pretty grubby, there are only two communal female toilets and showers, you have to leave a deposit for the room keys and a crockery bag (a plastic bag with one cup, plate, bowl, spoon, fork and knife) which makes you feel as though you are checking into jail and the receptionist that greeted us was far from friendly, in fact she was pretty rude. We asked to use the FREE BBQ which are advertised on posters all round the hostel and on the website yet we're told that these were only available on a Monday and it was a 'roast night' so if we wanted to join the social team going out for a roast then to meet in reception at 6pm?! No, we wanted to BBQ our meat we had bought with us. Luckily there are free BBQ down by the beach so we used these and watched the sunset - just stunning.

There are also unfortunate long-termers who are far from wholesome! Drunk 24/7, racist, xenophobic and on the dole - not a great asset I have to say!

The location of the hostel is perfect, our room was clean and did have complimentary water and milk and we got a good nights sleep. Unfortunately compared to others and therefore our expectations overall it was below average. Ok if you just need to stay for one night as you are passing through.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bexybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bunbury hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here quite a few yrs back (just started this tripadvisor thingy) This is a very small YHA, however it created a cosy environment. The staff & owners were great, even with their short office hours. The communal areas were well equipped and the outside areas were good. The rooms were very small, however had all required furniture. Good sound control between the rooms and social areas. Would stay here again if I return to Bunbury.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghost_of_the_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Probably the smallest YHA I have seen. The reception inconveniently only opens in the morning and from 4-8pm. I know many people drive but some people use the public transport, we arrived at 11.30am and found it closed despite putting our arrival time on the booking. So we had to leave our bags in the dining area and trust the few people around that they wouldn't nick anything.

When we returned everything was fine and the double room was a pleasant surprise, it was clean and large considering the size of the rest of the hostel. The kitchen was small but well enough equipped and seemed to be kept clean by all who used it. People were friendly and happy to chat over a drink even though they were longer term residents. Its quite a sleepy hostel so there wasn't much noise overnight. The bathrooms are clean and functional.

Room Tip: Splash out on a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0p3zJ0n3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Was initially apprehensive staying there due to previous not so good review but stayed there for convenience sake. It's not to de yha std I've come to expect. Most of them are long timers n it's very cramped wit limited parking. Wld not recommend friends to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phlee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bunbury hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Admiral
Comfort Inn Admiral
#5 of 9 in Bunbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lord Forrest
Hotel Lord Forrest
#4 of 9 in Bunbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Lighthouse
3.6 mi away
Discovery Parks – Bunbury Village
0.7 mi away
Discovery Parks - Koombana Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Retreat Bunbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Retreat Bunbury

Property: Dolphin Retreat Bunbury
Address: 14 Wellington St, Bunbury, Western Australia 6230, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Bunbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bunbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Retreat Bunbury 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolphin Retreat Bunbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing