We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded, cramped n weird place!”

Dolphin Retreat Bunbury
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dolphin Retreat Bunbury
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Crowded, cramped n weird place!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Was initially apprehensive staying there due to previous not so good review but stayed there for convenience sake. It's not to de yha std I've come to expect. Most of them are long timers n it's very cramped wit limited parking. Wld not recommend friends to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phlee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
9
8
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I recently stayed at the Dolphin Retreat, and was really shocked at the low standard considering it is a YHA. It is very run down,and clearly needs a re vamp, and in my opinion is very badly managed. Firstly the kitchen suffers from old clapped out cookers, and equipment,and is dirty. The rules of the hostel are not adhered to, although rules are posted everywhere, no one should use the kitchen after 10.30pm, if you use the kitchen first thing in the morning, you will realise this rule is broken ,as its usually filthy If you are living at the back of the hostel, good luck as you wont get any sleep, for the noise from residents sitting out in the back garden area,sometimes till 4am. Another rule posted on the wall, states that after 11pm everyone should move into the container, to allow quiet, but no one sticks to this rule, and no one is challenged. The same goes for the smoking area,supposed to be away from the building, but again this is not the case. The reception is only open from 8/10am and not again until 4/8pm,so if you need anything between these hours too bad, or you ring the number posted on the door. Security in the hostel is non exsistent,main doors are left open during the night,and there are no staff present during the day,or sometimes a token long termer who helps out. Free tea,coffee and toast is advertised,but is only available after 8am, so if you are working like a lot of people are, and want it before this, it is not available. The TV is situated in an open area, with dorms going off,so if you want an early night, or a quiet space forget it, as the TV does not get turned off until 11pm. On a positive note the reception staff are very nice and also helpful when they are there. There is no feeling of a welcome at this hostel, as staff are hardly around. It is well located for the town and beach. Unfortunately, there are only two hostels in Bunbury,this one and a backpackers which is not much better. Only ok if you are passing through briefly!!

Room Tip: Choose the front inside of the hostel as quieter. The two dorms opposite the office. Some of the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bunbury hotels

Perth
2 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We had booked this place in advance - but once we arrived and looked around we refused to stay and had to drive back up to Perth. The building is shabby and worn out and the whole place is dirty - long term grubby not just needs a bit of a tidy. We have stayed in YHA hostels around the world and cannot believe they let their name be associated with this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheres_Cor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The location was pretty good, staff were friendly, the beds were a bit soft and everything was a tad old. It was in general it was ok and maybe I would go there again, not sure.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Walked into the shabbiest most run down yha hostel I've been to since becoming a member over 10+ years ago! The only redeeming feature is its location, Bunbury is a pleasant town, WA style, and the hostel is centrally located. The hostel is grubby throughout. Facilities were minimal and poorly maintained. Beds were broken and were well past their best before date. The staff however were helpful and friendly. Not the place for even a one night stop over, just too depressing.

Room Tip: Book another hostel, or bring a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therese R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

This YHA is adequate but I think it needs a good clean and there should not be people staying long term in YHAs, as they should offer accommodation for travellers, not those looking for options for cheap housing. At least one was doing that as I heard them say it. Several lone men were staying and the hostel really did not clean and I saw one man lick the kitchen carving knife and put it in the drawer and then wipe his face and table with the tea towel - a real turn off. The kitchen was dirty. I saw the bathrooms being cleaned but the air vents and ledges were very dirty. The two rooms we had were ok but you did not get a feel of general cleanliness. The beds creaked badly when just turning over and you could hear it in the next room. No fan or aircon in room I had - and it had been over 30 degrees so the very small room was stifling. The walls were very thin so a bit noisy although that night was not a big problem, as we went to bed late.

On the positive side - the staff were nice, helpful and friendly. The location is good and there are bikes to use and a variety of rooms to sit in. There is some off street parking. I would not generally recommend it but for people who are not too fussed about cleanliness and want a cheapish place to stay I would say it is ok for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysunderway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Pros - good location, clean bathroom
Cons - kitchen is kinda dirty unlike the other hostel's kitchen i've been to. can be quite noisy at night.
Service - was okay. the lady forgot to mention that there is a number lock that locks you. My buddy and i went out for a walk early in the morning and got locked out in the cold.

Other than that it is value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luffygomomono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bunbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lord Forrest
Hotel Lord Forrest
#4 of 9 in Bunbury
373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
#1 of 9 in Bunbury
943 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ocean Drive Motel
Ocean Drive Motel
#7 of 9 in Bunbury
76 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bunbury Apartment Motel
1.5 mi away
Bunbury Seaview Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Retreat Bunbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Retreat Bunbury

Property: Dolphin Retreat Bunbury
Address: 14 Wellington St, Bunbury, Western Australia 6230, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Bunbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bunbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Retreat Bunbury 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Dolphin Retreat Bunbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing