We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”
Review of Picnic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Picnic Inn
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value for Money”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Its really value for money if you are on low budget.Had great time with Joel manager at hotel. He can guide you for best deals. He is always there to help. There are so many beautiful places to visit near by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c_hardik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    29
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
15
31
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Pic nic inn is a very good way to stay in maldives for a reasonable price. The staff is friendly and kind. The rooms are nice. It's not directly on the beach but it takes 10 min walking. You have to go to the white shell hotel beach to find a nice spot. It's not so wide but it's nice. Maafushi otherwise is not so nicely conserved. You can see an open dumpster on a wonderful beach where you can see plastic floating in the sea. It's a shame. That's a huge pity.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just come back after a weeks stay there. Warm welcome on arrival, rooms are basic but clean, beds are changed daily and there is a fridge in the room. A nice court yard area were dinner is served and we sat around here playing cards at night as there wasn't much else to do on the island at night. There is a nice beach just down from the Picnic Inn, no more than a five minute walk. Excursions to other islands, night fishing trips and snorkel trips could be organised with the manager. There is a dive school just by the beach to organise dive trips. The first night our food was a bit of a disaster as we waited a long time for it, it was cold and they didn't quite get the order right, but the rest of the time it was buffet food with a few dishes to choose from, a rice dish, pasta dish, salad, and one meat and one fish dish with fruit to follow. This was much better and we quite enjoyed it. We really enjoyed our stay here and it is a great way to see the Maldives without spending a fortune.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Arrived 20Dec 2012 for a 7night stay and we were more than pleased with our choice.

We got on very well with the Manager Joel who was always there and always happy to help with anything including arranging our boat trips to the local resort islands and making sure that we had enough Kurumba Fani (fresh cocount) to drink. Theres no alcohol on Maafushi, so the TV in the communal area was a god send for some quite long evenings.

The food was very good and arrived in good time, unlike some of the other places we dined. The local fish is recommended, as is the Maldavian Breakfast, (grated tuna, coconut and onion, served with chappati) and all the fresh fruit juices that are available, especially the mango and the papaya.

Room was very clean and well looked after daily, and had effective air conditioning. Theres also laundry service available, which was excellent.

We would go back, big thanks to all at the Picnic Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goolash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We originally were planning to stay here one night just to get a feeling for the island. The manager was very nice and offered us a discount if we chose to stay with them. We organized all our day trips (to near by resorts and diving) through them and they gave us discounts and were flexible with us so we get the most out of our trips.
The rooms themselves are very clean and new. We wished there was a TV because evening were a little boring. Food is okay, but nothing special.
We recommend this place as a base for taking day trips in the area. Staff was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Einav835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maafushi Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Kaani Beach Hotel
Kaani Beach Hotel
#5 of 54 in Maafushi Island
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arena Beach Hotel
Arena Beach Hotel
#3 of 54 in Maafushi Island
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Masaaree Boutique Hotel
Masaaree Boutique Hotel
#12 of 54 in Maafushi Island
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crystal Sands
Crystal Sands
#2 of 54 in Maafushi Island
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shadow Palm Hotel
Shadow Palm Hotel
#1 of 54 in Maafushi Island
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaani Village & Spa
Kaani Village & Spa
#4 of 54 in Maafushi Island
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Picnic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Picnic Inn

Property: Picnic Inn
Address: Bahaaree Hingun, Whitefish, 08090
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Maafushi Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Maafushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Picnic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PICNIC INN – A Wonderful Destination In Maldives. Picnic Inn is a guest house for the concept of excursions, boating, fishing and diving & snorkeling tourism located in Maafushi. Maafushi is a typical island of Maldives, located nearby International Airport. Maafushi and the atmosphere gives the feeling of real holiday in the really beautiful island of Maldives, where islands, beaches, lagoons, reefs, corals, sandbanks, mantas & dolphins are naturally beautiful and it feels really getting back to the nature.Picnic Inn is a wonderful opportunity for budget travelers, who want to manage limited budget for their vacation in Maldives. Picnic Inn is an easygoing, boating fiesta, riches excursions to the beautiful islands and white beaches surrounded wealthy echo-system also promise some of the world's best for water sports, snorkeling and diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Picnic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picnic Inn Maldives/Maafushi Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing