We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad, bad experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summer Villa Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Summer Villa Guest House
Ranked #35 of 53 Maafushi Island B&B and Inns
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad, bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

They didn't answer my emails and didn't even apologize it. Smelly! No window outside. Dirty room, long black hair on the floors. Bed was old and not firm. I didn't get hot water from the shower. The reception area and the breakfast area dirty. Seemed unorganized and unprofessional, I wouldn't book any trips from these guys. Located at the other end of the island from the beach, and it is next to a prison. It is not very far to walk though because it is a small island. The manager talked to me only once in person, when he saw me next day he asked which guesthouse I moved to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeikkuAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    15
    7
    10
    5
See reviews for
12
36
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Immediately you arrive, you receive a long and tiresome sales pitch on all the over priced activities offered by the guest house. If you don't buy any of them the staff quickly lose interest. The rooms are new and the whole guest house is still being developed. Big problem with their water supply as its very brown and smelly - shower water included. We were told it was the same all over Maafushi but after moving elsewhere we discovered that this was not the case. The only good thing is the breakfast; they do a great maldivian breakfast. However, better value and nicer rooms can be found elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chopperpilothill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed in this guesthouse for 11 nights because we decided to declare it as our "base camp" to make several trips from here to other locations.

The staff picked us up at the ferry and gave us a warm welcome in the guesthouse with a drink and a snack. They explained us the activities they offer to give us a first impression about what we could do there (like snorkelling trips, resort visits, and much more which is also described on their home page).

If you have the chance, try to get one of the newer rooms. They expanded the guesthouse in the past and the new rooms are bigger and more comfortable.

Breakfast was the same every day with toast, cornflakes, eggs (fried, scrambled, ...), instant coffee, water, et cetera. You really should try the dinner! They make great rice dishes! And the curry is also delicious, but very spicy, too. But it will take about 30 minutes until it is going to be served.

The owner of this guesthouse is a really kind person. If you wanna know anything about the Maldives, the life, the government or whatever, just ask him. He will explain a lot which is very interesting to get to know this country from a local perspective.

We met really nice people in this guesthouse, who stayed there too, and did several trips with them together. Good thing is you can reduce the transfer cost when you wanna make a tour with 4 persons or more.
Example: We visited the Biyadhoo Resort with 4 persons. That reduced the transfer costs from 25 US Dollar to 15 US Dollar per person.
Other example: going to Fihalhohi Resort for 50 Dollar instead of 65 Dollar with 4 persons.

Only thing we complained about was the way they handled to check us in for the Biyadhoo Resort. Only 20 day visitors are allowed there. So we told the Summer Villa staff directly in the morning to check us in for the next day. But they made the necessary call in the evening and, of course, this was too late several times and the resort was already fully booked.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the new rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gelini22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have booked Summer villa via Agoda and stayed on 28th January, 2013. We arrived Male at 8:30AM and by 9:30 we reached to Vilingili ferry terminal. We got one Dhoni to Maafushi which is really cheap and a nice 2 hours journey to Maafushi. Nabeeh was at Maafushi ferry to receive us. During check in info, they gave us welcome juice and towels. The room was very good and comfortable. Nabeeh showed us Island resort excursion list; we have chosen Fihalhohi resort which took 108 USD (including Boat transfer, tax and lunch!!! lunch is 7 USD per person which is enough). Whole day we stayed that excellent place at the resort. At night Summer vila offered 10 USD buffet dinner which includes yummy fish barbQ. The complementery buffet breakfast next day was also awesome and too much to finish. Its really a good place for comfort, excursion and value for money. You need any info write me on aurthohin2000@yahoo.com
Thanks

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Showkat_Ctg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Level Contributor
115 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were family of 4 persons ( 2 adults + 2 child )and were staying in deluxe room ! The room was okay and the breakfast was also good ! The owner of this guest house Mr.Naseem was very co-opearative and helpful,but his son Mr.Mohamed Nabeeh is very rude and greedy for money ! We have not demanded for any extra bed in our room since our kids were comfortable on the same bed itself but it was Mr.Nabeeh who told us that we are giving you an extra bed and have not told us regarding any price ! We thought it was complimentary but in the last at the time of checking out,he damanded extra money in terms of USD 25 per bed per night ! He was so rubbish that he threaten us that we would not be able to leave from the Maafushi island unless we will pay the said money ! He was also threatening us to take us to near by police station,where he might be having his relation ! In short,we have a very bad experience and all the credit,which was earn by his father Mr.Naseem has washed off,as he has also putt off his mobile on switch off mode ! Don't go to this guest house,who are cheating tourists in the name of activities and services !

Room Tip: All rooms are good to stay but without WI-FI and television ! The staff especially Mr.Nabeeh ,son of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dipeshkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

The most accomodating people on earth. If you are on a tight budget, they would stretch out the alternatives. Nabeeh, Nashat, Naanu, Nazee, Shifan, Ali & KV are the best!- I am greatful for the tretment that they gave us. They are the nicest. If you really want true Maldivian experience visit and stay in Summervilla.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karz03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Firstly, we would like to point out that this is our first negative review on any traveler's portal and we rarely complain, but we don't want other people to go through the disappointment like we had to. We chose this guesthouse based on many positive reviews, but to be honest, for us the other reviews are like talking about the different guesthouse. Maybe the hotel motivates somehow the travellers to write positive reviews?

We have agreed on airport pickup with Summer Villa, but nobody came for us to the airport. After arriving to Maafushi on our own, we got a really terrible room which was quite small, had no windows (!!) and a dirty bathroom. The surroundings of the hotel is not nice at all (maybe the worst of all the places on Maafushi, right next to the jail). The hotel is building a new part which makes a lot of noise. Another source of noise was from reception and dining area of the hotel which was right next to the room. We did not sleep for almost 2 nights. It is true that the hotel is from the cheaper ones, but it has extremely expensive trips, so in total it is definitelly not good value for money. We have checked another places on Maafushi (WhiteShell, Stingray,...) and they all looked much better in many aspects.

Breakfast was not completely poor, but nothing special. Buffet dinner was definitelly not good value for money.

The only positive thing on Summer Villa was the staff which was nice and helpful. When we decided to cancel a big part of our stay and move to a different island, they did not make any troubles which we highly appreciated.

Generally, Maafushi is not very nice compared to the other islands. Beach is small, but looks OK and girls wear bikini on it even though the hotel said that it is not allowed (our impression was that on the beach bikini is already tolerated by the locals).

If, for some reason, you want to go to Maafushi, choose a different guesthouse. We highly recommend to choose another local island (Maafushi is currently not the only local Maldivian "non-resort" island) - after the cancellation we moved to Dhiffushi where everything was 1000x better than on Maafushi.

Room Tip: Maybe they have different rooms that other people describe in the reviews. Definitely check in advan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tomas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maafushi Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Water Breeze Maafushi
Water Breeze Maafushi
#12 of 53 in Maafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachwood Hotel
Beachwood Hotel
#17 of 53 in Maafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shadow Palm Hotel
Shadow Palm Hotel
#1 of 53 in Maafushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sun Shine View
Sun Shine View
#10 of 53 in Maafushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Lodge
Holiday Lodge
#20 of 53 in Maafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Narnia Maldives
Narnia Maldives
#26 of 53 in Maafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Villa Guest House

Property: Summer Villa Guest House
Address: 08460
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Maafushi Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Maafushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Summer Villa Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Summer Villa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Villa Guest House Maldives/Maafushi Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing