We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy restaurant”
Review of Stingray Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stingray Beach Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We didn't overnight at Stingray, but we have visited their restaurant several times. It is the most cosy restaurant in town as tourism is not yet developed, the place is cosy, clean and tidy.
But be careful, the food can be very spicy and you you must also wait for long time for getting the food, as elsewhere on the island, the waiting time can be very long, more than one hour.
We can recommend the tandoori chicken and fish kebabs.
This gæsthus arranges the only trips to a resort called Rihiveli, it was the best resort we have visited and we can very highly recommend this specic trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibrahim M, General Manager at Stingray Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Orly C,

Greetings from Stingray Beach Inn!

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about our restaurant. We always try to bring best services to our customers.I assure you that if you visit us again, you won't have to wait for an hour for your food. Hope to see you again.

Best Regards
Ibrahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 212 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

That's great place to save your money. Don't expect 5-star hotel, but staff is very friendly, food and accommodation are very cheap. And you may book by absolutely reasonable price different tours (to other islands and hotels as well). Maafushi is not the best place to stay, but we spent all 5 days in different tours. transfer from/to airport is also much cheaper then other hotels offer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilya_Zhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibrahim M, General Manager at Stingray Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Ilya_Zhu,

Greetings from Stingray Beach Inn!

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about our hotel. I'm glad that we could make your holidays wonderful and memorable. Hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The trip to Maldives in February was to get a quiet time out away from city life, to relax. Staying at Stingray Beach Inn made that possible. The accommodation (as well as Maafushi Island) were serene and relaxing. As the place consisted only of about 10 rooms, the place was not crowded/noisy. Our room was always tidy. The hammocks beside their restaurant was my favorite spot. Food was superb (try the lobster and the fish with Maldivian sauce or anything seafood).

The best thing about Stingray Beach Inn was their service. Mr. Ibrahim and the staff (especially the two brothers who assisted us in our first snorkel activity in banana reef and long reef) were very helpful and accommodating. We went on our excursions without hassle. They made sure they catered to our need.

If you really want to enjoy your stay in Maldives (visit other islands/resorts and do a lot of excursions) without having to worry you'd go and overspend, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibrahim M, General Manager at Stingray Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Janice R,

Greetings from Stingray Beach Inn!

Thank you for taking time to write such lovely comments about hotel. I'm so very glad to hear that your holidays was memorable and you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at Stingray Beach Inn two weeks in February 2013. What we really liked was the cosiness of the place and the very friendly staff. It is a small place and everything is very kept clean and tidy. The location is great close to the beach (where bikinis are allowed) and very peaceful, which also holds for the entire island. The beach is not that large, but the water is absolutely astonishing - we have never seen anything like that. And 50m from the beach the coral reef starts with many beautiful and very colourful fishes and just 100m out we saw Stingrays and a reef sharks (NOT dangerous but shy, so we only caught short glimpses).

There are small things at Stingray Beach Inn that are not perfect, but this is to be expected since it is a 2 star B&B not a five star resort, which is also reflected in the price and value for money is definitely excellent. The only glitch that I find worth mentioning is the inconsistency of the food quality - sometimes really really good (especially if you like fish) but sometimes not that good (and wrong dishes served more than once). However, the other restaurants in the area is not performing better - maybe even to the contrary - especially getting the food while it is warm seems to be a big challenge in general.

Thanks to Ibrahim and the entire staff for all the service you provided, which helped make our vacation in the Maldives absolutely unforgettable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Family_Lund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibrahim M, General Manager at Stingray Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Family_Lund,

Greetings from Stingray Beach Inn!

Thank you very much for taking time to write such wonderful comments about us. I'm glad to hear that you had a wonderful and memorable stay with us.

We are trying our best to maintain the quality of the services we provide. We will work very hard to improve the services we provide. We want all our customers to get the best services.

Looking forward to meeting you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

After surveying all hotels in Maldive almost for a month , i found this hotel which suits my budget and trust me its much better then i except , though they cancelled my booking a day before i reached then they try to book for me some other hotel but its ok..., anyways its a small hotel with 6 rooms with almost all facility , nice clean rooms,good staff (Ibrahim) and good water sports trip they should encourage some Indian vegetarian food is my only suggestion rest everything is perfect keep it up ....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dheer1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibrahim M, General Manager at Stingray Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear dheer1205,

Greetings from Stingray Beach Inn!

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about our hotel. We are sorry that your booking was changed in the last minute. We are trying to include more vegetarian food in our menu. Hopefully soon, there will be more varieties available. Hope you had a memorable holiday with us. Looking forward to meeting you again some day.

Ibrahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We just came back from staying in the Maldives, and it was incredible thanks to the amazing service and care administered by both Ibrahim and the fantastic staff.

They went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and pleasant. There only a few rooms, but those rooms are meticulously kept and because of the small place, they can provide you with a very high quality of service.

I will definitely recommend coming to Maafushi and staying at the Stingray Inn over any resort. If you are coming all this way to the Maldives, spend time with the locals and get to know the country. Its just amazing..

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigRatings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibrahim M, General Manager at Stingray Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear BigRatings, Greetings from Stingray Beach Inn!

Thank you for taking time to write lovely comments about your stay with us recently. I'm glad to hear that your holiday was memorable and you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again to our hotel sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Maafushi is really the island to go to if you want to experience local tourism in the Maldives and by what we saw - Stingray Beach Inn is the best guest house there. Local tourism is a very different experience to staying in a resort. There's a very nice beach in Maafushi but it's not the endless powdery white beaches you might have seen in other pictures of the Maldives. However, if you're looking for something authentic and you enjoy diving and relaxing, then it's a great option. It's especially great if you, like my husband and I, live in Male' and want to get away for a few days.

Getting there: It's really simple, the ferry leaves from the terminal in the west of Male' called Vilingili terminal. Any taxi driver will take you there for 20mrf (less than 2 dollars). You can get to Maafushi either on the government run Atoll ferry which is also only 20mrf or on the slightly faster private ferry run by Maafushi island. If you contact the guesthouse they'll tell you the ferry times. Someone from the hotel then meets you where to ferry arrives and takes you straight there.

Pros:
Newly opened, everything is in great condition. My first impression when I entered the room my husband and I were staying in, is how clean everything was.
The decor is lovely and there is a very private courtyard and where there are lots of hammocks and even a hot tub to lounge in, in the evening.
The food is absolutely delicious. I recommend the Maldivian noodle soup with egg and the chicken biriyani and the garlic bread and the banana milkshakes! There are lots of other places on the island which are more modest but still offer really delicious traditional Maldivian breakfasts etc... I had some lovely grilled fish from a local cafe one night, so you don't have to eat at the hotel every night.
There's a table football and chessboard.
The location is great - quiet but very close to the beach.
If you like diving, then you'll have no lack of things to do. There are 3 dive centres in Maafushi all offering courses and boat dives. I reccommend the Maafushi Dive and Watersports centre which is on the harbour front run by Into Scuba. They offer daily boat dives and have a range of other fun watersports stuff to try like wakeboarding, water skiing and also have kayaks to rent for about 10$ an hour.
The staff are very polite and discreet.
The hotel provides both bath and beach towels.
The hotel provides free snorkelling gear - which is great!
I truly felt relaxed throughout my stay.
The island people are friendly and welcoming (although they do tend to stare a fair bit)

Cons: My only issue with the room is that the double bed was actually two singles pushed together and you could feel edge in the middle at night.

Other tips: The hotel provides soap but no other amenities so make sure you bring enough toiletries.

My final point - all tourists should remember that this is a Muslim country. Whilst it's fine to be in a bikini on the designated beach, it's not fine to walk around the rest of the island in revealing clothing. At one point in my stay, I saw a girl coming back from a snorkelling trip and she was walking back along the harbour with nothing covering her bottom half. A group of local men got very upset and starting telling the guide to tell her to cover herself with a towel. If local tourism is going to work in the Maldives, all tourists should be sensitive to the clothing customs and try not to offend anyone. Please remember to cover up when walking through the public areas of the island. All it takes is a sarong and it will maintain good relations with the locals.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Adele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibrahim M, General Manager at Stingray Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear fairyadele,

Greetings from Stingray Beach Inn!

Thank you so much for taking time to write such wonderful and informative comments about our hotel. We really appreciate all the helpful tips for our customers.

I'm so very glad to hear that your holiday was memorable and you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are working very hard to provide our customers with comfort and relaxation they deserve.

I look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maafushi Island
0.1 mi away
Kaani Grand Seaview
Kaani Grand Seaview
#1 of 1 in Maafushi Town
54 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
1,562 reviews
0 mi away
Arena Beach Hotel
Arena Beach Hotel
#2 of 53 in Maafushi Island
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kaani Beach Hotel
Kaani Beach Hotel
#4 of 53 in Maafushi Island
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shadow Palm Hotel
Shadow Palm Hotel
#1 of 53 in Maafushi Island
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaani Village & Spa
Kaani Village & Spa
#3 of 53 in Maafushi Island
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stingray Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stingray Beach Inn

Address: Ziyaarai Magu, 08090
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Maafushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Maafushi Island
Price Range: $62 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stingray Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stingray Beach Inn, a small boutique hotel, is purpose built to suit the needs of travelers looking for an easy going budget alternative to the Maldives resort experience.Stingray Beach Inn, offers 10 deluxe airconditioned rooms with attached bathrooms which bring together contemporary and modern style to the discerning guests.All our rooms feature tropical décor, a king size or twin beds. Rooms are also equipped with individually controlled air-conditions with overhead ceiling fans and modern furniture. Stocked mini bar with complementary tea and coffee making facilities available at the lobby. Each room has its own attached bath room with quality bathroom amenities such as water heater and rain showers.The hotel lobby also consists of an attached restaurant where our guests can enjoy themselves sipping tropical cocktails, fresh juices and gastronomical delights before heading off for a big day of activities. Our facilities also include free wifi internet to catch up with friends and family while on their holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Stingray Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stingray Beach Inn Maldives/Maafushi Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing