We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa bath with a mind of its own”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Olde Maritime Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Warrnambool
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Spa bath with a mind of its own”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were driving the Great Ocean Road and found this hotel advertised in tourist information offices. It had a great picture of a renovated room complete with spa bath. We booked it and it was as good as the picture presented it. After a long drive in the car, the opportunity of a hot, relaxing spa bath was too good to pass up so on with the taps and when there was some water in the bath, turn on the spa jets - big mistake ! Either the last user, or cleaning staff, had left EVERY adjustable jet pointing towards the ceiling. The ensuing flood did dampen spirits a bit but after some mopping the spa was duly put to good use - along with a very good bottle of NZ wine.
Breakfast was good and the staff very helpful.
Would happily stay again - but I'd check the spa jets first !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul51_and_Marg52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    229
    49
    9
    1
See reviews for
166
268
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is in a great location, just across the road from the visitor information centre and Old Maritime Village. It is quiet and very clean. It is an older style hotel but still was very comfortable. We used it as our base for whale watching. It has a nice bar and restaurant attached and serves nice cold beer on tap in front of a large open fire place, very relaxing.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room as the stairs are a bit narrow when carrying luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

On arriving was greeted very professionally and friendly, really made to feel welcome. The room was tastefully decorated in neutral tones, very relaxing. Don't know which room Mirror 74 stayed in but our bed was incredibly comfortable and had a great nights sleep.

Walking distance to the town and train station so very east to get to and get around.

We were very lucky to catch 5 whales. 1 at Logans Beach and 3 at Ritchies Outlook (who were putting on a good show).

Dinner in the Lounge/Bar was exceptional with the staff making you feel like part of the 'family'. Would most definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: We were in the single storey units in Banyan Street. Could not fault them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Clean and comfortable hotel/motel. Very friendly staff. Hotel offers a very good accommodation for the money paid. The bathroom was completely new, the room was a very good condition. Nothing to complain. Hotel can be recommended for traveling on the Great Ocean Road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1342112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
257 reviews
233 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here just one quick night in July 2013... very easy to find, very decent BW in downtown Warrnambool... very clean rooms, but rather on the small side, with sleeping quality that could definitely improve (replace mattresses from time to time!), also internet speed and Wi-Fi coverage left to be desired, but for 85 euro very decent stay...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PremiumFlyer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

After a long day travelling along the Great Ocean Rd from Geelong I was looking forward to a good nights rest with the family and I wasn't disappointed.. We booked a family mezzanine suite which was perfect for our needs. The beds are extremely comfortable and the room was very spacious. We ordered room service meals which arrived in quick time and were good and filling.The staff were friendly and efficient which helped make the stay more memorable
The only negative with these mezanine rooms is that you have to carry your bags up 3 flights of stairs as these units are on the 3rd floor and this is not advertised in their information - luckily we were travelling lightly.

Room Tip: Be aware that the Mezanine rooms are on the 3rd storey with no lift but are good value and perfect f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickVdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Raj and the staff were lovely and friendly. Great location for the main street and parks across the road. But unfortunately you need to show what the rooms really look like. The rooms just look so old and tired with the wallpaper. My husband is 6'1 and had to squat in the shower as the head was too low not to mention we couldn't have our 4 year old in with either of us as it was tiny. The bathroom window although fogged glass is out in the main hallway. The museum across the road had something on one night and it sounded like a car sitting under our window with doof doof on.

There needs to be signs asking guests to remember the rooms arent sound proof and they aren't the only ones there, so when coming in and running up the stairs carrying on at 12 am and banging the doors as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazld71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warrnambool hotels
0.8 mi away
Quality Suites Deep Blue
Quality Suites Deep Blue
#5 of 28 in Warrnambool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Western
Comfort Inn Western
#2 of 28 in Warrnambool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Warrnambool
Quest Warrnambool
#4 of 28 in Warrnambool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn On Raglan
Comfort Inn On Raglan
#6 of 28 in Warrnambool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mid City Motel Warrnambool
Mid City Motel Warrnambool
#12 of 28 in Warrnambool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Warrnambool International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Olde Maritime Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Olde Maritime Motor Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Olde Maritime Motor Inn
Address: | corner Banyan Street & Merri Street, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Warrnambool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Warrnambool
#2 Best Value Hotel in Warrnambool
#3 Romantic Hotel in Warrnambool
#3 Business Hotel in Warrnambool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Olde Maritime Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this charming Warrnambool hotel located in the heart of town, close to attractions including Flagstaff Hill Maritime Museum, Tower Hill Game Reserve, Botanic Gardens and Hopkins Falls. BEST WESTERN Olde Maritime offers a range of accommodation and function services with a restaurant and bar in the beach side town of Warrnambool, Victoria on the Great Ocean Road. All of the guest rooms at Olde Maritime are tastefully renovated, well furnished, spacious and clean ensuring you get a great nights rest. All rooms are equipped with premium quality beds, free WiFi, LCD TV, air-conditioning and mini bar. Be sure to visit the Clovelly Restaurant located onsite, where you will enjoy a relaxed and friendly dining atmosphere. Take pleasure in the company of friends and family in the licensed 'Raj's Bar' which features a cosy fireplace and leather chesterfield tub chairs. Raj's Bar offers old world charm making it the perfect setting to meet, chat and enjoy a pre-dinner drink or nightcap. Warrnambool is a beautiful city by the beach and is located on the Great Ocean Road and close to the 12 Apostles. The area offers a range of activities and great scenery such as Logan's Beach Whale Nursery, Maritime Adventure and Boardwalk and Breakwater, all of which are easily accessible to the Best Western Olde Maritime. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Warrnambool, make a reservation at this Warrnambool hotel today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Olde Maritime Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Warrnambool
Warrnambool Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing