We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay after a day travelling along the Great Ocean Rd”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Olde Maritime Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Warrnambool
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay after a day travelling along the Great Ocean Rd”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

After a long day travelling along the Great Ocean Rd from Geelong I was looking forward to a good nights rest with the family and I wasn't disappointed.. We booked a family mezzanine suite which was perfect for our needs. The beds are extremely comfortable and the room was very spacious. We ordered room service meals which arrived in quick time and were good and filling.The staff were friendly and efficient which helped make the stay more memorable
The only negative with these mezanine rooms is that you have to carry your bags up 3 flights of stairs as these units are on the 3rd floor and this is not advertised in their information - luckily we were travelling lightly.

Room Tip: Be aware that the Mezanine rooms are on the 3rd storey with no lift but are good value and perfect f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickVdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    229
    49
    9
    3
See reviews for
172
275
21
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Raj and the staff were lovely and friendly. Great location for the main street and parks across the road. But unfortunately you need to show what the rooms really look like. The rooms just look so old and tired with the wallpaper. My husband is 6'1 and had to squat in the shower as the head was too low not to mention we couldn't have our 4 year old in with either of us as it was tiny. The bathroom window although fogged glass is out in the main hallway. The museum across the road had something on one night and it sounded like a car sitting under our window with doof doof on.

There needs to be signs asking guests to remember the rooms arent sound proof and they aren't the only ones there, so when coming in and running up the stairs carrying on at 12 am and banging the doors as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazld71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We took advantage of the weekend special. Our room was quite spacious with a very comfy bed. Wifi reception was excellent [ and free ! ] It was an older room refurbished to a good standard and although the bathroom was small it was quite serviceable, clean with great hot water and good towels etc. This was value plus at only $99, booked on line.

We ate at Clovelly, the in-house restaurant. The menu looked OK but it was the specials which really attracted us. A scotch fillet, cooked as requested and salad requested in lieu of steamed vegetables was not a problem and again good value. My seafood pasta special was excellent and just spicy enough. Plenty of scallops and fish but a bit scant on the prawns. Having been tempted by the mains we opted for sweets. A raspberry and cranberry tart was superb and the old favourite, brandy snaps, hit the mark. With a bottle of wine [ Australian ] plus a little warm cobb loaf to start this fine feast was just over $110. Excellent value for quality food.

Breakfast the next morning was standard with all the necessaries and bacon and eggs done as requested was acceptable. Perhaps the $19 was a tad expensive. $17 would be OK.

Overall this establishment comes with a high recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

On the recommendation of a work colleague, I've stayed here several times in the past 3 months for business, and each time I've been hugely impressed by manager Raj and his thoughtful staff. Their service is impeccable and they are amazingly thoughtful and considerate - eg turning on the heating in my room before a late arrival on a cold winter's night; helping out with a late dinner; advising on wi-fi and local directions... The restaurant has a tempting and quality menu so no need to venutre out if you dont want to. Also the room cleanliness is top notch -te linen is alway fresh and carpets in their rooms are so soft - its evident that the cleaning staff take a great deal of pride in maintaining this hotel. Simply put- this is the best country hotel I have ever stayed by far.
Great food and wine options, spotless comfortable well appointed rooms, but its Raj and his caring staff who make this hotel so exceptional. 10/10 without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AprilGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were given an upgrade to a suite which was much appreciated. However, if this was a suite one wonders what a standard room is like. I'm guessing that the room is larger than a standard but that's all.

I was thrilled with the free wifi (with a decent signal) and the flat screen TV. I found the bed very comfortable, my partner didn't – not sure why. The room was clean and comfortable. However, the bathroom was positively pokey – I'm glad neither I nor my partner suffer from claustrophobia. The shower was small and cramped and the lack of a second towel rail meant all towels on the one rail. If you didn't have a hand free, they ended up on the floor and didn't dry properly as you had to fold them in half to put them back on the rail.

In addition, it was impossible to put makeup on in the bathroom as the vanity was so small it offered nowhere to put your makeup and there was no other option. The lack of a light over the mirror in the room itself made it impossible to apply makeup there as, even with the lights on, the room was dark so this was a problem.

Breakfast onsite seemed to be a muddle. Unlike other properties, there was no toaster provided so you had to ask for toast to be brought from the kitchen. We found it ironic that they brought a caddy to the table with enough jam, marmalade or butter to satisfy an army all for the ONE measly piece of toast they eventually brought. The cooked breakfast took so long to arrive we were well past our 10.00 am check out time (luckily we were not penalised for this) and consisted of a mountain of egg, bacon and ONE SLICE of tomato – such penny pinching astounds me. I never understand it.

The manager was running round the dining room and into the kitchen like something out of Fawlty Towers probably hindering the kitchen and definitely neglecting people at reception wanting to check out.

We've stayed in far worse but prefer the other Best Western property in Warrnambool to this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very friendly, efficient service with excellent location for those wanting to visit the Flagstaff Hill Maritime museum across the road. This motel is just a 15 minute walk from the station and at the end of the Great Ocean Road journey. Breakfast prices are a bit on the high side for a country motel and quality was average. The entire dish at dinner at night was undercooked, the eye fillet of beef was tough (??) and what was presented was not that promised on the menu, so my suggestion is to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestyTweedValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Olde Maritime is very well located at the edge of the Warrnambool CBD and handy to tourist attractions. It is a great place to stay at the end of a drive along the Great Ocean Road. We only stayed one night and opted for the cheapest room on offer but found it to be quite spacious and well equipped with an excellent free wifi service. There is a large comfortable bar and a good restaurant but, although the food and service standards are good, the cooked breakfast option was far too expensive. $19 for an orange juice plus bacon and eggs on toast is over the top in my view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warrnambool hotels
0.8 mi away
Quality Suites Deep Blue
Quality Suites Deep Blue
#6 of 28 in Warrnambool
737 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Western
Comfort Inn Western
#2 of 28 in Warrnambool
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Warrnambool
Quest Warrnambool
#3 of 28 in Warrnambool
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Warrnambool International
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn On Raglan
Comfort Inn On Raglan
#5 of 28 in Warrnambool
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mid City Motel Warrnambool
Mid City Motel Warrnambool
#13 of 28 in Warrnambool
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Olde Maritime Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Olde Maritime Motor Inn

Property: Best Western Olde Maritime Motor Inn
Address: | corner Banyan Street & Merri Street, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Warrnambool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Warrnambool
#3 Romantic Hotel in Warrnambool
#3 Business Hotel in Warrnambool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Olde Maritime Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this charming Warrnambool hotel located in the heart of town, close to attractions including Flagstaff Hill Maritime Museum, Tower Hill Game Reserve, Botanic Gardens and Hopkins Falls. BEST WESTERN Olde Maritime offers a range of accommodation and function services with a restaurant and bar in the beach side town of Warrnambool, Victoria on the Great Ocean Road. All of the guest rooms at Olde Maritime are tastefully renovated, well furnished, spacious and clean ensuring you get a great nights rest. All rooms are equipped with premium quality beds, free WiFi, LCD TV, air-conditioning and mini bar. Be sure to visit the Clovelly Restaurant located onsite, where you will enjoy a relaxed and friendly dining atmosphere. Take pleasure in the company of friends and family in the licensed 'Raj's Bar' which features a cosy fireplace and leather chesterfield tub chairs. Raj's Bar offers old world charm making it the perfect setting to meet, chat and enjoy a pre-dinner drink or nightcap. Warrnambool is a beautiful city by the beach and is located on the Great Ocean Road and close to the 12 Apostles. The area offers a range of activities and great scenery such as Logan's Beach Whale Nursery, Maritime Adventure and Boardwalk and Breakwater, all of which are easily accessible to the Best Western Olde Maritime. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Warrnambool, make a reservation at this Warrnambool hotel today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Olde Maritime Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Warrnambool
Warrnambool Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing