We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peacefull”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Merton Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merton Manor
Ranked #3 of 9 Warrnambool B&B and Inns
Horsham Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Peacefull”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Merton Manor on the 6 May 2013 We were in Warrnambool for a wedding and we like B&B's. Merton Manor is a lovely House but you don't sleep in the house. We had 3 rooms in a Mews style apartment Lounge Bedroom and Ensuit. My only complaint was that there was no window in the bedroom. The breakfast was great, food well cooked and hostess was very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieChrisMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
33
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, it was clean the spa was great, the bed was comfortable and it was priced reasonably well. The host was lovely and helpful and the gardens were beautiful. But it did freak us out a bit when we were thought we were alone and realized that the host was gardening right out the front of our window and suddenly felt very, well, exposed. Also I'd give the breakfast a miss and go into town unless having an average breakfast with a shared dining table with inquisitive strangers is your thing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishnbradlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Was a lovely quiet place to stay. It is out of the town but if you are looking for quiet, clean, comfortable rooms this is the place. Our host was very friendly and sharing breakfast with a group of fellow travellers was a great way to pick up some tips on places to see.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazza1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodend
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The large beautiful rambling house that is advertised is only for the owners
The paying guests stay in motel rooms behind the house...very very disappointing...
Breakfast is served in the dining room of the house but ALL other rooms are totally banned and not welcome to the guests.
We chose this place at top dollar to experience a lovely rambling house atmosphere....not so ....old fashioned motel rooms with absolutely no views or ambience...false advertising.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aubergewoodend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamela b, Owner at Merton Manor, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Rooms in main house are always available to the guests, some choose to use them, others prefer the privacy of the lounge in their own suite.
Guests suites are muse style, including private entrance, private lounge and very large ensuite bathroom. They are decorated in a style in keeping with the era of the main house, not a modern, trendy Motel.
We try our best to accommodate all our guests to the best of our ability, but, unfortunately, you cannot please everyone all the time. We will keep trying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We planned a short stay (2 nights) in Warrnambool and were attracted to Merton Manor - promoted as an ''exclusive' B&B. From the web site we expected to experience some old world charm and grace in an authentic older property. This was not so and we were very disappointed. The 'suites' at the rear and separate to the main house are motel rooms with only one window at the front in the sitting room. The rooms were basic although the spa bath was great. Breakfast on the first morning was not enjoyable - overcooked and tough and incredibly weak coffee. On day two, we sought an alternative breakfast option - fabulous coffee, great view and feeling less like we were in a scene from the Adams family.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Melbourneshortstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham,england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Booked into the sebel on the quayside for three nights but left after the first night due to the noise.Dont normally stay in b&bs but merton manor was a real eye opener!!.Hadnt read the trip advisor reviews before booking and really pleased i didnt as i might have been put off.The hostess was a gem with lots of useful local info,the room(we stayed in the king suite) was clean and quiet.A huge bathroom rounded off the suite and it was lovely to luxuriate in the spa bath.
Breakfast was just what the doctor ordered with bacon and eggs,lovely fresh bread and a choice of cereals.
We walked into the centre of town on both of our nights stay and it was a pleasant walk of ten minutes to get there-try the werrnabool hotel-the rib-eye was superb.
Its the first b&b we have stayed in for years and we plan to return,many thanks pamela.
As an aside,ate at the boggy creek pub on the way out of warranambool onto the great ocean road-when we first went in wondered what we had let ourselves in for as the place was somewhat basic but had a great meal and the locals were excellent company so first impressions can be deceptive.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyb08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

I have stayed at a few B&B's and we loved the fact that Merton Manor's room's were seperate to the house as this gave us lots of privacy. We loved the free port and cookies and the rooms were charming, clean and tidy. We also had the chance to use the billiards room which was outstanding with a full size game table and the front sitting rooms where superb. Its about five minutes from the town centre which we liked for the peace and quite. Breakfest was great with everything including cereal, fruit, yoghurt, toast, tea, coffee and a cooked breakfest as well. The host's Pamela and Ivan where so charming and made our stay so enjoyable and we would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to stay in Warrnambool.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellenthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warrnambool hotels
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Olde Maritime Motor Inn
2.0 mi away
Quality Suites Deep Blue
Quality Suites Deep Blue
#5 of 28 in Warrnambool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Western
Comfort Inn Western
#2 of 28 in Warrnambool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn On Raglan
Comfort Inn On Raglan
#6 of 28 in Warrnambool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quest Warrnambool
Quest Warrnambool
#4 of 28 in Warrnambool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blue Whale Motor Inn & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton Manor

Property: Merton Manor
Address: 62 Ardlie St, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Warrnambool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Warrnambool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Merton Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merton Manor is situated in Warrnambool, on the Great Ocean Road, midway between Melbourne and Adelaide, with beach nearby. All our suites have private entrances, off-street parking, air-con and ensuite bathrooms with double spas and separate showers. Full breakfast is included in price and served in the Grand Dining room. Guests have full use of formal Lounges, Billiards and Music rooms, as well as a number of garden areas. Complimentary Port, chocolates, tea/coffee and cookies are in all suites. Shopping, beach, Restaurants, walking paths and entertainment are all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing