We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Enjoyable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breakers Restaurant - CLOSED

Breakers Restaurant
Price range: $21 - $25
Cuisines: International, Mediterranean, Australian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Local owner/chef Leon Greene has operated the renown restaurant for the past 20 years & ensures fresh quality seafood & fantastic food with service to match. Breakers Restaurant is Warrnambool’s only specialty seafood restaurant, sourcing the freshest Local crayfish, prawns, oysters, fresh fish, scallops, squid and much more. We also have a range of local beef, lamb, pork and chicken dishes on our extensive menu. Offering relaxed informal dining with superb food to match in elegant Tudor surrounds. Signature dishes include Breakers Special Oysters - bacon, cheese, shallots & sweet soy and our famous Breakers Seafood Platter & of course the local Crayfish. We offer an extensive wine list with over 40 bottles to make your Seafood Dining Experience at Breakers Restaurant complete. Breakers can also cater for private functions for up to 65 people. *Drinks at Bar Prices. *Childrens Menu Available.
2 reviews
“Very Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Good ambiance! Wonderful service. Delicious food! We ordered the Seafood platter for two and were not disappointed !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LibbySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astro1969, Manager at Breakers Restaurant, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
glad you enjoyed your experience with us libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    7
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Expecting wonderful crayfish however it was served with garlic butter and diced into little pieces and quite dry. Very disappointing. But the others at the table thought the Thermidor was great and the crayfish risotto also really good. So mixed experience for us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astro1969, Manager at Breakers Restaurant, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
sorry you didn't find the garlic butter crayfish to your satisfaction, but it is cut into smaller pieces to be cooked in the garlic butter as are any of the crayfish dishes that are cooked in a sauce. Glad you enjoyed the crayfish thermidore and the crayfish risotto. Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Overpriced, small servings and cramped”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Dissapointing ... The most expensive menu prices in town ... Jumped up staff ... Avoid.

$2 for a bread roll when decent restaurants don't charge at all

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chopsus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astro1969, Manager at Breakers Restaurant, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
So sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience with us. Please feel free to contact me personally so I can address some of the issues that you talked about in your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“I left one very happy customer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Have travelled from Swan Hill, wanted a good local seafood restaurant to visit. Was advised by local friends to try Breakers. After a warm welcome and a great feed, Which i had the seafood platter I was rather full and very happy and content. I found it to be a neat casual dining experience I can fully recommend. Thanks to all the staff at breakers.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LB422451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astro1969, Manager at Breakers Restaurant, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
thanks LB for your review, we aim to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Amazing food and service. For entree I had tiger prawns and the chef happily altered the dish to suit my husband. We had lobster for mains and the freshness, quality, quantity and presentation was exceptional. The single waitress handled the full restaurant with ease and a smile on her face. Although on the higher end of the price scale we had great value for our money. Look forward to returning soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SandN255355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astro1969, Manager at Breakers Restaurant, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Glad you had an awesome night. Thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breakers Restaurant also viewed

Warrnambool, Victoria
Warrnambool, Victoria
 
Warrnambool, Victoria
Warrnambool, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing