We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good simple food done well”
Review of Breakers Restaurant - CLOSED

Breakers Restaurant
Price range: $22 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Local owner/chef Leon Greene has operated the renown restaurant for the past 20 years & ensures fresh quality seafood & fantastic food with service to match. Breakers Restaurant is Warrnambool’s only specialty seafood restaurant, sourcing the freshest Local crayfish, prawns, oysters, fresh fish, scallops, squid and much more. We also have a range of local beef, lamb, pork and chicken dishes on our extensive menu. Offering relaxed informal dining with superb food to match in elegant Tudor surrounds. Signature dishes include Breakers Special Oysters - bacon, cheese, shallots & sweet soy and our famous Breakers Seafood Platter & of course the local Crayfish. We offer an extensive wine list with over 40 bottles to make your Seafood Dining Experience at Breakers Restaurant complete. Breakers can also cater for private functions for up to 65 people. *Drinks at Bar Prices. *Childrens Menu Available.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Liked the right-sized portion of green veggies, tender eye fillet steak, flavoursome lamb shank, well prepared sauteed baby chats, speedy service & welcoming front of house vibe. Meal on first night was perfect (Tuesday night 11 Dec), following two nights still good but could aspire to the utter perfection of Tuesday night :-)

Thank MsianFoodFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astro1969, Manager at Breakers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

The staff thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed our little restaurant, people come from all over to have our lamb shanks, even thought we are a specialty seafood restaurant, cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 56 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

We recently started our trip along the Great Ocean Road in Warnambool;our party included my elderly mother. The service was friendly,efficient and the food was nicely presented and tasty. However another diner who was alone chose to phone his mates. His voice filled the room and to make matters worse he was swearing. Unfortunately he did not respond to the usual non verbal hints. We informed the waitress and her manager spoke to him. The swearing stopped but the conversation continued. Our meal was completely ruined.

1  Thank Suegympie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astro1969, Owner at Breakers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

So so sorry there was a rude customer in the restaurant that night. In 20 years i have never had to speak to a customer about their bahaviour as i did that night when the waitress came to me in the kitchen to tell me about your complaint. i went and spoke to him straight away, but i guess the damage had alresdy of been done. Im glad you enjoyed our friendly, efficient and tasty food

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Had the seafood platter with nice calamari, oysters and prawns.

Disappointed with the fish (pan fried not grilled) but had a yummy side salad.

Service was very quick and overall got a nice meal with pleasant service.

Wouldn't recommend as their was no "wow" factor but happy that the meal reflected the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jenza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astro1969, Owner at Breakers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013
Google Translation

glad you enjoyed your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Had dinner at this restaraunt early June 2012. The atmosphere and decor was very pleasant and the service from the staff excellent. The food was also extremely tasty. Would definitely recommend for a client classy evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lucyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astro1969, Owner at Breakers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

extremely happy you had a great night lucy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We had an amazing family dinner just after Christmas. With many choices of seafood and other meat dishes we had trouble deciding what to eat!!

I had the BreakersSeafood Platter it was amazing and left me very satisfied. Meals were generous portions, fresh seafood and excellent service. Recommend to all those who visit Warrnambool!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ebonybridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astro1969, Owner at Breakers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

glad you had an amazing meal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breakers Restaurant also viewed

 
Warrnambool, Victoria
 
Warrnambool, Victoria
Warrnambool, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing