We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but that's about it” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfside Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Surfside Holiday Park
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location but that's about it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Camped here in on an unpowered site in early January. Very busy, huge park and was almost completely booked out.
Toilet block always seemed unclean and was not well maintained.
The location of the park alongside the beach was great and close to the summer activities such as the night market, fairground and lake.
However, I don't think we'll be staying there again due to the size of the place, the number of late night parties, that we could still hear the fairground noise despite being at the last row at the far end of the park and the condition of the toilets and showers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ms_hannahmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Surfside Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are reworking our cleaning programs through peak season to maintain a higher level of cleaning. Please be assured we work hard to achieve the best cleaning standards and take your comments seriously.

Thank you for your comments and i hope we can welcome you back next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    39
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
32
33
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Langwarrin, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights recently, with 2 other couples, all in caravnas. Booking this was a nightmare - booked 2 of us onto the same site, did not allocate the payment to the third site, referred to us by our surname and not our first name yet it was in the previous 12 emails, then received a very condescending email about they had fixed up OUR error...anyway one car per site??? WRONG...had to move 4 cars all from the same site to get our van in so this is not policed, children run & ride their bikes unsupervised around this huge park and we nearly saw 4 children killed, and the noise level from the "long time stayers" on the last night who had a collective age of 68 was ridiculous, so much so that the security guards had to have words with them. Old toilet block was filthy - I would not even wash my dog in there let alone shower in it. Despite this we had a good week-end due to the 3 couples being able to get away together but this park needs some serious work on staff training and policing of rules & regs - as a council run park you would think that it would be very strict & that all staff would be fully trained

Room Tip: Choose section L or B for caravan / tent sites - closer to "new" amenities block
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We previously stay here during Easter 2011.

For families such as ours with four children it is rare (and a bonus) to not be charged extra for each child.

The park is very conveniently located the beach, bike/walking path, Flagstaff Hill and the centre of town. Lake Pertobe (and the adventure playground) is very easily accessible from the Park.

The grass on our site was in good condition given it was the end of January. All of the sites had plenty of grass and no dirt.

The rubbish and recyclables were collected daily.

At Easter 2011 there was no recyclable collection so it was great to see recyclables collected separately during this visit.

The amenities blocks to the rear of the park are much older than those at the front of the park but remember this is not a four star park. The amenities block near our site had received some improvements since our last visit. The improvements included the addition of hand soap and hand dryers, new shower heads and more reliable hot water.

The amenities blocks were serviced twice per day however the cleaning was inconsistent. Some cleaning efforts were more thorough than others. An older amenities block doesn’t have to be dirty. My wife was also concerned about the very slow draining basins in the women’s amenities being a health issue.

The BBQs are not evenly distributed around the park so be prepared. Again this is not a four star park.

The well-equipped camp kitchen is located at the front of the park which is a long way from the sites at the rear of the park. Again this is OK provided one is prepared.

The daily V-Line train at 6:20am can be a shock. I am not sure why it is necessary to sound the horn while passing the entire park boundary.

We were unfortunate enough to have a site in the middle of a group of friends that occupied five sites around us. The first night we experienced eight loud teenage girls at the sight next to us until 12am. Their parents were obviously elsewhere.

On the second night on the two sights adjacent to ours there was a party with 30-40 people complete with seating for dinner. We have been caravanning for a number of years and had never experienced anything like this. When we learned of this in the afternoon prior to the party I mentioned it to the reception staff who advised ‘they are not allowed to do that’. The planned party was clearly violating a number of caravan park rules. The manager did speak to those on the sites adjacent but the party did happen. To be fair the party was civilised and there was no music going past 10pm but it is not something one should have to endure at a caravan park.

The carnival that is at the front of the park in summer is clearly not for everyone. Even at the rear of the park the noise was surprising noticeable. My wife wanted to drop a bomb on the carnival. Hearing (booming from the Carnival) ‘Are you readdddyyy?’ and ‘HaHaHa wipout’ in an American accent over and over for three hours every evening is tiring, particularly when it is drowning out the sound of the waves on the beach. It is interesting that the carnival noise goes until 10:30pm when the park (well most) settles down at 10:00pm. If the Carnival must be there in Summer reducing the noise would result in more satisfied customers.

So overall our experience was OK. The grassy site, cost for a family of six, proximity to the beach, bike paths, Lake Pertobe, Flagstaff Hill, and the centre of town was offset by a big party on the site adjacent, inconsistent cleaning of amenities blocks and excessive noise from the carnival.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robbie_D2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Rang prior but told plenty of sites so just rock up. Arrived around 1.30pm Friday and the huge sign said NO VACANCY for any kind of accommodation. Panic! Went into the office and was told don't panic there's tons of sites, cabins etc. Asked for a site close to bathroom and the lovely young girl did exactly as asked, thank you. The bathrooms in the camping area need bull dozing, but don't panic, there are cleaner bathrooms near the camp kitchen. Bathrooms and bbqs are all free which is great. The camp kitchen is really clean but there was a group called turf 2 surf there who totally took over the kitchen for all their meals which is fine, but hold the foul looks at the rest of us needing to use it. Did they really need to take it over for the entire two days with their karate lessons, guest speakers etc. We ended up eating out which was an extra expense we didn't expect and a couple of others ended up at the same place as us for the same reason. Result, staff lovely, amenities good if you look for them, great time to camp as school had gone back that week, park very clean, some info available about things to do and see but not much. Really good value and yes we will return.

Room Tip: The cabins looked good but close to the road and Lake Pertobe where if anything is going on in Warrn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortlake, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
330 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with our caravan and family. It was really relaxing and peaceful and we whited the beach access, riding bikes along the boardwalk and swimming in the waves.
Fantastic break. Pleasant staff.
Well serviced, clean and comfortable.
Thanks.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank geoffdemanser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here one night over the weekend and had no problems at all. We were put right at the end of the campsite which was fine as was nice and quite. Campsite is right by the beach and not too far to walk into town. The toilets aren't that great but you cant really expect 5 star bathrooms when you're camping. I've seen a lot worse! Good for a cheap stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JeseaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Went for the weekend as my sister was staying there the old toilet block is disgusting and needs lots of updating when they cleaners clean them maybe a bit of bleach and disinfectant would be good to use there was an disgusting smell in the toilets for two days and never was any better after the cleaners had been through the showers are gross and everything gets wet the wall dividing the shower from the dressing room part needs to be wider or the shower rose be placed the other way the floors of the showers and toilets need a good scrub as do the basin around the taps was dirt that has built up over time scrubbing with a toothbrush would fix this, Also lots of children around riding bikes with no thought to other people and no helmets accident waiting to happen, the rules should be enforced although might be a bit hard as you never see any staff around the grounds, on our last night we had an extremely loud large group come in and the noise continued until very late before anyone told them to tone it down all people in the park need to show bit more respect for others .... The park generally needs quite a bit of cleaning up and rules regarding bike helmets enforced no good after a child has been hit by a car or the rubbish truck for that matter

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chook6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Surfside Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your comments.

I have taken note of your comments and shared with our summer cleaning crews.

We are always looking to re-invest in our facilities and have a capital program to upgrade or replace all our toilet and shower facilities over coming years.

We are also looking at our cleaning programs as this summer we have had issues arise. Join our facebook page to keep up to date with these changes as they occur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warrnambool hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites Deep Blue
Quality Suites Deep Blue
#4 of 28 in Warrnambool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Western
Comfort Inn Western
#2 of 28 in Warrnambool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Olde Maritime Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quest Warrnambool
Quest Warrnambool
#3 of 28 in Warrnambool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.7 mi away
Discovery Parks - Warrnambool
Discovery Parks - Warrnambool
#4 of 22 in Warrnambool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.6 mi away
BIG4 Hopkins River Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Holiday Park

Property: Surfside Holiday Park
Address: Lot 12 Pertobe Road, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Warrnambool
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Warrnambool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfside Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Holiday Park has been providing the classic Australian beachside holiday since the early part of the 20th century. Located just over the sand dune from the main swimming beach of Warrnambool, we are the only holiday park adjacent to Lady Bay Warrnambool. Surfside provides cabin as well as powered and non powered camping sites. Adjacent to the Lake Pertobe Adventure Playground area, and the Flagstaff Hill Maritime Village, with a short stroll to the main CBD on sealed bike paths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Surfside Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing