We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
41
52
16
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
52
16
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamp kitchenlake pertobeacross the roadpeak seasonplay equipmentgreat walksurf clubschool holidaysgreat spotpowered siteclean amenitiesminute strollyoung familylong weekendcomfortable place to stayflagstaff hillperfect location
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 122 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We previously stay here during Easter 2011.

For families such as ours with four children it is rare (and a bonus) to not be charged extra for each child.

The park is very conveniently located the beach, bike/walking path, Flagstaff Hill and the centre of town. Lake Pertobe (and the adventure playground) is very easily accessible from the Park.

The grass on our site was in good condition given it was the end of January. All of the sites had plenty of grass and no dirt.

The rubbish and recyclables were collected daily.

At Easter 2011 there was no recyclable collection so it was great to see recyclables collected separately during this visit.

The amenities blocks to the rear of the park are much older than those at the front of the park but remember this is not a four star park. The amenities block near our site had received some improvements since our last visit. The improvements included the addition of hand soap and hand dryers, new shower heads and more reliable hot water.

The amenities blocks were serviced twice per day however the cleaning was inconsistent. Some cleaning efforts were more thorough than others. An older amenities block doesn’t have to be dirty. My wife was also concerned about the very slow draining basins in the women’s amenities being a health issue.

The BBQs are not evenly distributed around the park so be prepared. Again this is not a four star park.

The well-equipped camp kitchen is located at the front of the park which is a long way from the sites at the rear of the park. Again this is OK provided one is prepared.

The daily V-Line train at 6:20am can be a shock. I am not sure why it is necessary to sound the horn while passing the entire park boundary.

We were unfortunate enough to have a site in the middle of a group of friends that occupied five sites around us. The first night we experienced eight loud teenage girls at the sight next to us until 12am. Their parents were obviously elsewhere.

On the second night on the two sights adjacent to ours there was a party with 30-40 people complete with seating for dinner. We have been caravanning for a number of years and had never experienced anything like this. When we learned of this in the afternoon prior to the party I mentioned it to the reception staff who advised ‘they are not allowed to do that’. The planned party was clearly violating a number of caravan park rules. The manager did speak to those on the sites adjacent but the party did happen. To be fair the party was civilised and there was no music going past 10pm but it is not something one should have to endure at a caravan park.

The carnival that is at the front of the park in summer is clearly not for everyone. Even at the rear of the park the noise was surprising noticeable. My wife wanted to drop a bomb on the carnival. Hearing (booming from the Carnival) ‘Are you readdddyyy?’ and ‘HaHaHa wipout’ in an American accent over and over for three hours every evening is tiring, particularly when it is drowning out the sound of the waves on the beach. It is interesting that the carnival noise goes until 10:30pm when the park (well most) settles down at 10:00pm. If the Carnival must be there in Summer reducing the noise would result in more satisfied customers.

So overall our experience was OK. The grassy site, cost for a family of six, proximity to the beach, bike paths, Lake Pertobe, Flagstaff Hill, and the centre of town was offset by a big party on the site adjacent, inconsistent cleaning of amenities blocks and excessive noise from the carnival.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robbie_D2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Rang prior but told plenty of sites so just rock up. Arrived around 1.30pm Friday and the huge sign said NO VACANCY for any kind of accommodation. Panic! Went into the office and was told don't panic there's tons of sites, cabins etc. Asked for a site close to bathroom and the lovely young girl did exactly as asked, thank you. The bathrooms in the camping area need bull dozing, but don't panic, there are cleaner bathrooms near the camp kitchen. Bathrooms and bbqs are all free which is great. The camp kitchen is really clean but there was a group called turf 2 surf there who totally took over the kitchen for all their meals which is fine, but hold the foul looks at the rest of us needing to use it. Did they really need to take it over for the entire two days with their karate lessons, guest speakers etc. We ended up eating out which was an extra expense we didn't expect and a couple of others ended up at the same place as us for the same reason. Result, staff lovely, amenities good if you look for them, great time to camp as school had gone back that week, park very clean, some info available about things to do and see but not much. Really good value and yes we will return.

Room Tip: The cabins looked good but close to the road and Lake Pertobe where if anything is going on in Warrnambool it happens there, so not really quiet i expect.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with our caravan and family. It was really relaxing and peaceful and we whited the beach access, riding bikes along the boardwalk and swimming in the waves.
Fantastic break. Pleasant staff.
Well serviced, clean and comfortable.
Thanks.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank geoffdemanser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here one night over the weekend and had no problems at all. We were put right at the end of the campsite which was fine as was nice and quite. Campsite is right by the beach and not too far to walk into town. The toilets aren't that great but you cant really expect 5 star bathrooms when you're camping. I've seen a lot worse! Good for a cheap stay.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JeseaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Went for the weekend as my sister was staying there the old toilet block is disgusting and needs lots of updating when they cleaners clean them maybe a bit of bleach and disinfectant would be good to use there was an disgusting smell in the toilets for two days and never was any better after the cleaners had been through the showers are gross and everything gets wet the wall dividing the shower from the dressing room part needs to be wider or the shower rose be placed the other way the floors of the showers and toilets need a good scrub as do the basin around the taps was dirt that has built up over time scrubbing with a toothbrush would fix this, Also lots of children around riding bikes with no thought to other people and no helmets accident waiting to happen, the rules should be enforced although might be a bit hard as you never see any staff around the grounds, on our last night we had an extremely loud large group come in and the noise continued until very late before anyone told them to tone it down all people in the park need to show bit more respect for others .... The park generally needs quite a bit of cleaning up and rules regarding bike helmets enforced no good after a child has been hit by a car or the rubbish truck for that matter

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chook6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Surfside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for your comments.

I have taken note of your comments and shared with our summer cleaning crews.

We are always looking to re-invest in our facilities and have a capital program to upgrade or replace all our toilet and shower facilities over coming years.

We are also looking at our cleaning programs as this summer we have had issues arise. Join our facebook page to keep up to date with these changes as they occur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews