We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveler rating
43
53
16
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
53
16
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews camp kitchen lake pertobe across the road peak season sheltered from the wind location is brilliant play equipment great walk great spot surf club school holidays clean amenities young family long weekend comfortable place to stay flagstaff hill short walk
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 125 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

First time stay in warrnambool. Great proximity to beach.. (Although it was notoriously windy) Two night stay in a new chalet after Christmas.. Was lucky to get in short notice. Staff- jacinta and Emily helpful when booking. Code for gate was simple.. Most importantly everything was clean, kitchen we'll equipped, air con working and big screen tv. The park was very busy but all the public loos were kept clean.

Date of stay: December 2013
1  Thank bluey_york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Surfside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for your comments on our beachside chalets.

These are new to the park and provide a high quality place to stay and the closest accommodation to the beach.

Will pass onto staff your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We booked this park because of its location and although it was not even a third full we were given a site in the furthest cnr of the park with busy rd on one side and busy railway on the other! The park was not even a third full with many spots in front of the beach free the whole time we were there. Our closest amenities were the old block not the new one and they haven't been cleaned in days. The laundry closest to us was locked up and we were told to use the one at the far end of the park!

Date of stay: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brooke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Surfside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thanks for your comments.

Outside our peak periods we are happy for guests to come back to the office and ask to be moved if they want to be close to the beach or any particular area of the park.

Please feel to ask for sites near any area of the parks and I am sure our staff will attempt to help you.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter A, General Manager at Surfside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have never come across more useless staff. I stayed here the past weekend. (2nd Nov 2013). Originally booked for the two nights...we left after 1 due to the nasty and lazy staff! On arrival we were given a code to get in and out of the place but not told we needed a separate code for each car load of people. We had 15 people so Id assume it was pretty obvious more then one code was needed. Regardless our troubles began when needing to exit the caravan park. Not only do you need separate codes for each different car to enter...each car needs another different code to exit. (2 codes per car). This I guess is not unusual in most caravan parks now a days but you would think when we tried to sort this out..we would be provided with new codes. Instead we had 4 cars in a line waiting to exit..and my partner was told by a female staff member that she was too busy to give us codes because she was dealing with a booking she'd mucked up. When my partner explained we were stuck she said we would have to come back later. Unable to escape the park...we found a very miserable staff member who put his code in and we could exit. Disgusted in the treatment we returned later that day, packed up our stuff and attempted to leave., This time we asked for the code, we were told once again that it wasn't their problem and that she gave us a code already. Appalled that we again had to explain we needed more then one code we drove the car around the gates and left that way.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlKate11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Surfside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Hello - I read your review with some horror and I apologise for this incident and series of failings of our service to you and your group.

We haveraised this in our staff meeting today and will ensure staff involved are spoken to individually.

The boom gate systems you speak of are just being replaced - the order for the equipment actually went in yesterday. This doesn't excuse the service you provided but the new boom gte systems will be more user friendly.

I take your comments seriously and apoligise again for your experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed one night - but we made a mental note to come back perhaps with a group of friends and stay longer - as some of our friends don't like camping - this is perfect as they do have cabins and little huts as well - self contained so no need to dash over the whole campground to go to the facilities.

We booked a Mariners Cottage - only the two of us so that would do for just one night. It is small but right next to the entrance of the park and also the beach access - very convenient. Basically it is one large room with a rather small double bed (not a good nights sleep if one of you is moving around a lot) and no less than 2 double bunks. The kitchen is fully equipped with a stove and oven and the whilst the shower and toilet is small - that is all one need - perhaps not if you want to stay more than 2-3 nights.

I did like the location in particular - one side to the Beach the other to Lake Pertobe - perfect. As the Western Gateway to the Great Ocean Road Warrnambool is in a great location of you intend to start your drive from this end - or indeed if you finish your Great Ocean Road adventure there.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R_G_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Surfside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for your kind review.

The Marinr Cottages are our basic cabin offer. We have the larger Cedar Cabins as well as our brand new Beach Chalets that are all close to the beach, Lake Pertobe Playground and Flagstaff Hill Maritime Village.

There is also a restuarant at the Surfclub which is very good called Simons.

I hope we can welcome you back soon and stay longer in our beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews