We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry, not for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surfside Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We booked to stay here for 5 nights between Christmas and New Year as part of a trip along the Great Ocean Road in our motorhome. We only stayed two nights and couldn't get out fast enough. The location is good - right next to the Pertobe Adventure Playground and the beach and the Pavilion Cafe can be thoroughly recommended. However the campsite is enormous and so nothing is close. It was so big that we didn't feel able to let our children play outside - there were so many people packed in, there are no children's playgrounds nearby and it was very noisy. I couldn't see a kitchen or laundry room and after seeing the toilet block (built in the 1950's, hadn't been updated and was absolutely filthy) I wasn't inclined to look. There is a noisy circus/fair at the entrance and we were told when we checked in that everyone had to wear a wrist band on New Years Eve because they were worried about volumes of people that would be coming onto the campsite. We really didn't want to stay and so we went back to the delightful, quiet, child friendly campsite in Port Fairy that we'd been staying at before and appreciated it one hundred times more!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Surfside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

I am sorry to hear you didnt enjoy your stay.

We are a large park and the peak of summer is busy across all of the South West of Victoria.

We are the only park in Warrnambool on the beach. We have the famous Lake Pertobe Adventure Playground adjacent to the park which gives all families access to great playgrounds.

The Carnival is a Warrnambool summer tradition and is operating from Boxing Day to Australia Day.

We are continuing to upgrade facilities in the park,. including toilets and laundries.

I hope you did enjoy your holiday in the South West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 102 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

First time stay in warrnambool. Great proximity to beach.. (Although it was notoriously windy) Two night stay in a new chalet after Christmas.. Was lucky to get in short notice. Staff- jacinta and Emily helpful when booking. Code for gate was simple.. Most importantly everything was clean, kitchen we'll equipped, air con working and big screen tv. The park was very busy but all the public loos were kept clean.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank bluey_york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Surfside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for your comments on our beachside chalets.

These are new to the park and provide a high quality place to stay and the closest accommodation to the beach.

Will pass onto staff your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We booked this park because of its location and although it was not even a third full we were given a site in the furthest cnr of the park with busy rd on one side and busy railway on the other! The park was not even a third full with many spots in front of the beach free the whole time we were there. Our closest amenities were the old block not the new one and they haven't been cleaned in days. The laundry closest to us was locked up and we were told to use the one at the far end of the park!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank htnbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Surfside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thanks for your comments.

Outside our peak periods we are happy for guests to come back to the office and ask to be moved if they want to be close to the beach or any particular area of the park.

Please feel to ask for sites near any area of the parks and I am sure our staff will attempt to help you.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter A, General Manager at Surfside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have never come across more useless staff. I stayed here the past weekend. (2nd Nov 2013). Originally booked for the two nights...we left after 1 due to the nasty and lazy staff! On arrival we were given a code to get in and out of the place but not told we needed a separate code for each car load of people. We had 15 people so Id assume it was pretty obvious more then one code was needed. Regardless our troubles began when needing to exit the caravan park. Not only do you need separate codes for each different car to enter...each car needs another different code to exit. (2 codes per car). This I guess is not unusual in most caravan parks now a days but you would think when we tried to sort this out..we would be provided with new codes. Instead we had 4 cars in a line waiting to exit..and my partner was told by a female staff member that she was too busy to give us codes because she was dealing with a booking she'd mucked up. When my partner explained we were stuck she said we would have to come back later. Unable to escape the park...we found a very miserable staff member who put his code in and we could exit. Disgusted in the treatment we returned later that day, packed up our stuff and attempted to leave., This time we asked for the code, we were told once again that it wasn't their problem and that she gave us a code already. Appalled that we again had to explain we needed more then one code we drove the car around the gates and left that way.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlKate11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Surfside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Hello - I read your review with some horror and I apologise for this incident and series of failings of our service to you and your group.

We haveraised this in our staff meeting today and will ensure staff involved are spoken to individually.

The boom gate systems you speak of are just being replaced - the order for the equipment actually went in yesterday. This doesn't excuse the service you provided but the new boom gte systems will be more user friendly.

I take your comments seriously and apoligise again for your experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed one night - but we made a mental note to come back perhaps with a group of friends and stay longer - as some of our friends don't like camping - this is perfect as they do have cabins and little huts as well - self contained so no need to dash over the whole campground to go to the facilities.

We booked a Mariners Cottage - only the two of us so that would do for just one night. It is small but right next to the entrance of the park and also the beach access - very convenient. Basically it is one large room with a rather small double bed (not a good nights sleep if one of you is moving around a lot) and no less than 2 double bunks. The kitchen is fully equipped with a stove and oven and the whilst the shower and toilet is small - that is all one need - perhaps not if you want to stay more than 2-3 nights.

I did like the location in particular - one side to the Beach the other to Lake Pertobe - perfect. As the Western Gateway to the Great Ocean Road Warrnambool is in a great location of you intend to start your drive from this end - or indeed if you finish your Great Ocean Road adventure there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R_G_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Surfside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for your kind review.

The Marinr Cottages are our basic cabin offer. We have the larger Cedar Cabins as well as our brand new Beach Chalets that are all close to the beach, Lake Pertobe Playground and Flagstaff Hill Maritime Village.

There is also a restuarant at the Surfclub which is very good called Simons.

I hope we can welcome you back soon and stay longer in our beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Right next to the beach yet still nice and sheltered if you choose your spot well. We had 2 weeks here and it did get busy over Easter but they open up huge extra areas and it had a great atmosphere for families. Great walking and cycling path along the beach to the pavilion cafe best in warrnambool, and a walk up large hill to the town centre. Also directly across from lake pertobe so can't ask for better location.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marg95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mordi35, General Manager at Surfside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for the review.

Weare about to open our new Beach Chalets that are right next to Simons resturant and the main beach and they are 6 star energy rated cabins that we will be very proud of.

I am gald to hear you enjoyed your stay and its a great place for families.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warrnambool hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Olde Maritime Motor Inn
0.7 mi away
Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs
Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs
#6 of 28 in Warrnambool
752 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn On Raglan
Comfort Inn On Raglan
#5 of 28 in Warrnambool
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quest Warrnambool
Quest Warrnambool
#4 of 28 in Warrnambool
391 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Whale Motor Inn & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Western
Comfort Inn Western
#2 of 28 in Warrnambool
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Holiday Park

Address: Lot 12 Pertobe Road, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Warrnambool
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Warrnambool
Price Range: $103 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfside Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Holiday Park has been providing the classic Australian beachside holiday since the early part of the 20th century. Located just over the sand dune from the main swimming beach of Warrnambool, we are the only holiday park adjacent to Lady Bay Warrnambool. Surfside provides cabin as well as powered and non powered camping sites. Adjacent to the Lake Pertobe Adventure Playground area, and the Flagstaff Hill Maritime Village, with a short stroll to the main CBD on sealed bike paths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Surfside Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing