We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chalets we're beach front, clean and new!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfside Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Surfside Holiday Park
melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chalets we're beach front, clean and new!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

First time stay in warrnambool. Great proximity to beach.. (Although it was notoriously windy) Two night stay in a new chalet after Christmas.. Was lucky to get in short notice. Staff- jacinta and Emily helpful when booking. Code for gate was simple.. Most importantly everything was clean, kitchen we'll equipped, air con working and big screen tv. The park was very busy but all the public loos were kept clean.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bluey_york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Surfside Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your comments on our beachside chalets.

These are new to the park and provide a high quality place to stay and the closest accommodation to the beach.

Will pass onto staff your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    39
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
32
33
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mudgee, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

We booked this park because of its location and although it was not even a third full we were given a site in the furthest cnr of the park with busy rd on one side and busy railway on the other! The park was not even a third full with many spots in front of the beach free the whole time we were there. Our closest amenities were the old block not the new one and they haven't been cleaned in days. The laundry closest to us was locked up and we were told to use the one at the far end of the park!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank htnbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Surfside Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thanks for your comments.

Outside our peak periods we are happy for guests to come back to the office and ask to be moved if they want to be close to the beach or any particular area of the park.

Please feel to ask for sites near any area of the parks and I am sure our staff will attempt to help you.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have never come across more useless staff. I stayed here the past weekend. (2nd Nov 2013). Originally booked for the two nights...we left after 1 due to the nasty and lazy staff! On arrival we were given a code to get in and out of the place but not told we needed a separate code for each car load of people. We had 15 people so Id assume it was pretty obvious more then one code was needed. Regardless our troubles began when needing to exit the caravan park. Not only do you need separate codes for each different car to enter...each car needs another different code to exit. (2 codes per car). This I guess is not unusual in most caravan parks now a days but you would think when we tried to sort this out..we would be provided with new codes. Instead we had 4 cars in a line waiting to exit..and my partner was told by a female staff member that she was too busy to give us codes because she was dealing with a booking she'd mucked up. When my partner explained we were stuck she said we would have to come back later. Unable to escape the park...we found a very miserable staff member who put his code in and we could exit. Disgusted in the treatment we returned later that day, packed up our stuff and attempted to leave., This time we asked for the code, we were told once again that it wasn't their problem and that she gave us a code already. Appalled that we again had to explain we needed more then one code we drove the car around the gates and left that way.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlKate11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Surfside Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello - I read your review with some horror and I apologise for this incident and series of failings of our service to you and your group.

We haveraised this in our staff meeting today and will ensure staff involved are spoken to individually.

The boom gate systems you speak of are just being replaced - the order for the equipment actually went in yesterday. This doesn't excuse the service you provided but the new boom gte systems will be more user friendly.

I take your comments seriously and apoligise again for your experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
240 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed one night - but we made a mental note to come back perhaps with a group of friends and stay longer - as some of our friends don't like camping - this is perfect as they do have cabins and little huts as well - self contained so no need to dash over the whole campground to go to the facilities.

We booked a Mariners Cottage - only the two of us so that would do for just one night. It is small but right next to the entrance of the park and also the beach access - very convenient. Basically it is one large room with a rather small double bed (not a good nights sleep if one of you is moving around a lot) and no less than 2 double bunks. The kitchen is fully equipped with a stove and oven and the whilst the shower and toilet is small - that is all one need - perhaps not if you want to stay more than 2-3 nights.

I did like the location in particular - one side to the Beach the other to Lake Pertobe - perfect. As the Western Gateway to the Great Ocean Road Warrnambool is in a great location of you intend to start your drive from this end - or indeed if you finish your Great Ocean Road adventure there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_G_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Surfside Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

The Marinr Cottages are our basic cabin offer. We have the larger Cedar Cabins as well as our brand new Beach Chalets that are all close to the beach, Lake Pertobe Playground and Flagstaff Hill Maritime Village.

There is also a restuarant at the Surfclub which is very good called Simons.

I hope we can welcome you back soon and stay longer in our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Right next to the beach yet still nice and sheltered if you choose your spot well. We had 2 weeks here and it did get busy over Easter but they open up huge extra areas and it had a great atmosphere for families. Great walking and cycling path along the beach to the pavilion cafe best in warrnambool, and a walk up large hill to the town centre. Also directly across from lake pertobe so can't ask for better location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marg95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mordi35, General Manager at Surfside Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for the review.

Weare about to open our new Beach Chalets that are right next to Simons resturant and the main beach and they are 6 star energy rated cabins that we will be very proud of.

I am gald to hear you enjoyed your stay and its a great place for families.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have been to this park heaps of times but last time didn't like it couldn't get the site we wanted they said it was booked we were there a week and no one came to that site till the day we left wasn't happy they sent us right down the park the wind was awful I had ants in van all I did was work trying to get rid of them I had to throw out food I went to have a break not work we have never had to book before we would arrive and go and pick a site we liked I loved this park if I can't get the site we want next time want be coming back and as for the security I have never seen anyone walking around and yes the sites are pricey up till the last time we stayed we have had no problems with the park

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 690AnneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warrnambool hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites Deep Blue
Quality Suites Deep Blue
#5 of 28 in Warrnambool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Western
Comfort Inn Western
#2 of 28 in Warrnambool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Olde Maritime Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quest Warrnambool
Quest Warrnambool
#3 of 28 in Warrnambool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.7 mi away
Discovery Parks - Warrnambool
Discovery Parks - Warrnambool
#4 of 22 in Warrnambool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
4.6 mi away
BIG4 Hopkins River Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Holiday Park

Property: Surfside Holiday Park
Address: Lot 12 Pertobe Road, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Warrnambool
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Warrnambool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfside Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Holiday Park has been providing the classic Australian beachside holiday since the early part of the 20th century. Located just over the sand dune from the main swimming beach of Warrnambool, we are the only holiday park adjacent to Lady Bay Warrnambool. Surfside provides cabin as well as powered and non powered camping sites. Adjacent to the Lake Pertobe Adventure Playground area, and the Flagstaff Hill Maritime Village, with a short stroll to the main CBD on sealed bike paths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Surfside Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing