We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
41
52
16
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
52
16
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamp kitchenlake pertobeacross the roadpeak seasonplay equipmentgreat walksurf clubschool holidaysgreat spotpowered siteclean amenitiesminute strollyoung familylong weekendcomfortable place to stayflagstaff hillperfect location
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 122 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here with our caravan. The beach is the key focus if you're staying here and is great if the weather is pleasant. We were lucky with beautiful days and very little wind during the week we were there.
Pros - central location right on the beach, has some facilities including toilets, showers and a laundry.
Cons - LOTS of children riding their bikes around all the time, through your site and although the 'camp rules' state helmets will be enforced they aren't. Also if your site is near the amenity blocks you will get foot traffic through your site.
Interesting - there is security people working overnight. They park near the entrance and keep an eye on things over summer nights. They are pleasant enough but seldom leave the entrance area. (One of these guys has a personalized plate on his car 'HIMBAD' hysterical!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank geoffdemanser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mordi35, General Manager at Surfside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thanks for your comments.

Just to clarify - Security are stationed permanently at the boom gates through summer peak season, with other security also roaming the grounds through the evenings. We station a security officer at the boom gates so all campers know there will always be one at the boomgates.
Others roam inspecting toilet blocksand facilities at random times.

Yes we have lots of kids in the park and we are targeting the family markets through the peak season. Lots of kids after Christmas testing out the new bikes that santa gave them.

Helmets are of course law in Victoria that are enforced by police.

Hope you had a great relaxing holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The location of the park is ideal for activities based around the area.

However if you are looking for a quiet place -this is not the one. The park policy stipulates 'no audible noise after 10pm" and other campers need to be considerate of others. These two rules did not apply during our stay.We had noisy campers on either side of us. One lot in particular were swearing and carrying on and did not tone down any noise until 1- 2am plus on consecutive nights. The security guards were not seen to be wandering the park to follow up the policy rules. The noise was so close to the guards it could be easily heard.
It was reported to the office who then said a security guard would be sent later that night...too late for us as we will not be returning. If the rules were enforced as they should have been without having to be notified- this would have been avoidable.
As well as camper noise, be prepared for carnival music and a laser show on top of hill until around 10pm-11pm depending on the night if you have young children.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kupo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mordi35, General Manager at Surfside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Our peak season does make our park very busy and with 5000 people in the park every night in January we do rely on campers being "Good Neighbours".

I will pass on your comments to our security that we employ each night to help monitor campers behavior.

From what you wrote in your review you seem to have reported the incident to the office which I thank you for. Our staff do enforce the noise restrictions and evict some campers if required.

If you did wish to return we can allocate you to another area that is away from the carnival and Flagstaff Hill Sound and Laser Show, but many of our guests also like being near these attractions.

I hope you enjoyed summer in Warrnambool though.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed 1 night in the $100 cabins, no flywire on windows, aircon was so noisy and cabin not so clean. Was a warm night and insects everywere. Unfortunitly office shuts at 5pm during daylight savings and drink machine swallowed oir money!Was good to see park accept dogs though.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnycoasttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mordi35, General Manager at Surfside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

I am very sorry to hear of your experiences. These cabins are about to be sold and brand new 6 star energy rated installed. We have 6 of these cheaper older units, but 18 other more modern and larger units that we could have swapped you to.

We have an onsite manager who could have helped you with the drink machine problem. The number is displayed on the office window, as well as the after hours bell that is linked to the managers residence.

Be assured we are committed to ensuring our guests enjoy their stay and I hope you can return one day to see our replacement cabins.

I will pass on your comments to Surfside staff to highlight the problems you had.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We bought a powered site for 10 nights through a travel auction. I don't know if we could afford to stay at normal rates as it is pricey, especially in the warmer months, but then with this park you get what you pay for. We took our caravan and used 5 nights in the middle of winter, when it was cold but off peak so quiet. The caravan park is gorgeous, right between the beach and a beautiful big open park with a bird lake. The facilities are as new and the staff are very nice and helpful. I can't wait to book in later in the year when it is warmer and use our other 5 nights up. I must also mention that for anyone who loves fishing this is a great place, for brown trout and salmon. Awesome

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mixson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We are pitched next to the beach. Very clean site and great welcoming. Newer facilities definitely better. Awesome location next to main beach.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davefromdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews