We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pickled perfection”
Review of Pickled Pig

Pickled Pig
Ranked #5 of 124 Restaurants in Warrnambool
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had of course read the reviews before going. We were incredibly lucky, we hasn't booked and we got the last table. They were turning people away all night!

Started with complimentary spiced nuts and as much water as you can drink. Spotlessly clean carpets, table cloths, napkins, cutlery was shining, decor not too intrusive and lighting subtle.

They started with the drinks menu which is extensive but no overwhelming. Ours is always a good bottle of fizz, this time we chose Victorian. Excellent choice, mellow and refined to the nose.

Next, the menu was fully explained along with details of the specials including original of the ingredients. We chose salmon sashimi and tasting plate to start with BBQ pork belly, and the lamb as mains. WOW. The pork was incredibly tender and the lamb was medium rare all the way through. A classy chef indeed plus, both were not just warm as is often the case, they were hotter than Luke warm. Both courses were a complete joy to eat. A true taste experience.

Neither course was so over powering we didn't have room for dessert! We had one affogato and one home made doughnuts. I'm not going in to too much detail here as a good restaurant deserves the clientele who want to find out for themselves.

Even the flat whites were perfect.

All in, with the bottle $155 for two. WHAT A BARGAIN! Seriously! With service like this - attentive and appreciative without being over bearing - plus a top quality chef who seriously knows how to compile a dish, what a total bargain.

Highly recommended.

2  Thank ozdivergt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PickledPig, Manager at Pickled Pig, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Ozdivergt,
Thanks for dining with us at Pickled Pig Restaurant and for all your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed dining with us and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip! We definitely hope you will dine with us again if you are ever in Warrnambool again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 199 of 262 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

Staff very attentive and venue very nice. Food was mostly delicious. Unfortunately something went wrong with the side vegetables of my husbands pork belly - extremely salty. Myself and the other diner enjoyed ours however and concluded my husband's dish was accidently over-seasoned somehow.
Wine list contains good quality wines at a palatable price.
Only thing I would have liked to have seen on the menu, given Warrnambool is by the sea, was a main dish showcasing local seafood.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank catriona777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PickledPig, Manager at Pickled Pig, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Catriona777,
Thanks for dining with us at Pickled Pig Restaurant and taking the time to post a review. I will pass your comments on to the kitchen. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely meal. Service attentive but not over the top. Loved the pork belly. Only thing to improve would be ice bucket for the wine. Very reasonable for the quality of food - 130 for 2 peeps, 2 courses and bottle of wine ;-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TanSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PickledPig, Manager at Pickled Pig, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear TanSea,
Thanks for dining with us at Pickled Pig Restaurant and taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed the atmosphere, service and food. We hope that you will dine with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We came here after reading tripadvisor feedback. The food was really tasty, my husband & I shared the tasting plate, which was local produce, followed by 5 entree dishes that we shared. The scallops in pesto sauce were the standout. The Spanish creme brûlée dessert, was devine. Would highly recommend if you find yourself in Warnambool.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Planetweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PickledPig, Manager at Pickled Pig, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Planetweb,
Thanks for spending an evening with us at Pickled Pig Restaurant and taking the time to post such a lovely review online. We are most pleased that you enjoyed the food and we would love for you to dine with us again if you are in Warrnambool again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

the ladie waiters kniw how things are done at a good restaurant. great starter to share, lovely scallops, great duck, tasty deserts - and service with a smile! very good!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RJB267450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PickledPig, Manager at Pickled Pig, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear RJB267450,
Thankyou for dining with us at Pickled Pig Restaurant and for posting such kind words. We are all very passionate about food, wine and service so its very easy to provide service with a smile and so rewarding to receive such positive feedback! We'd love to have you dine with us again if you are ever back in Warrnambool!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pickled Pig also viewed

 
Warrnambool, Victoria
Warrnambool, Victoria
 

Been to Pickled Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing