We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location - Tick, Staff - Tick, Accommodation - Tick”
Review of Lady Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lady Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Location - Tick, Staff - Tick, Accommodation - Tick”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lady Bay Resort. It is in a great location - an easy walk to the beach and Lake Pertobe Park. Most people I think would drive into the central shopping area but it is possible to walk it for a fit person that likes a walk. Lake Pertobe Park is great for kids, lots of room to run around and play in with a mix of playground equipment, barbecues, a small maze, lake with ped-lo boats to hire and a flying fox.

We tried to hire bikes for all of us but there were no children's bikes to hire so if you're bringing your small people pack their bike/scooter as there's plenty of spots to ride around the resort, including a skate park adjacent that was very popular!

We stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment (number 10) overlooking the front carpark. Don't be put off by this because the view you get is mostly of Thunder Point across the road. I got lots of great sunset photos from our balcony. We found the apartment suited us well. The bed was comfortable and both rooms had large inbuilt wardrobes. Good quality doonas. Pleased to find a laundry and clothes horse! The kitchen had all the usual things you would need.

Note though that this apartment (as would some others I imagine) is accessed by a flight of stairs from the entry and then has another flight of stairs to the bedrooms and bathroom (there is a laundry and separate toilet downstairs). So if stairs would be worrying to you ask for an apartment on the ground floor.

Our daughter made good use of the pool, which was clean and well maintained. It's wasn't as large and luxurious as the resort webpage makes it look but no complaints. One addition that would be welcomed is some sort of a rail to make entry easier for older or more unstable guests. Some conditions make stepping down into a pool with no rail to grip on to impossible and for this reason my Mum was unable to take a swim, which was very disappointing. Apparently they are constructing a gym, which is due to be completed in February and this will be a great addition.

We ate mostly at the resort. They do breakfast, lunch and dinner (although breakfast isn't mentioned on their webpage which is a bit of an oversight I think). Breakfast buffet was ok, not huge but satisfactory with all the usual things. Lunch could do with some light and simple additions, perhaps just a good sandwich or simple salad buffet? This is particularly important because the resort is not so close to the main shopping area of Warrnambool so if you're just wanting something basic but not wanting to go into central area or make it yourself then there's nothing much available close by that's reasonably healthy. Dinners were things like crispy skinned salmon, risotto, Angus steak, lamb shoulder etc. The desserts seemed to us to be needing a revamp for Summer as a few of them seemed pretty heavy. We thought the dinner menu could do with the addition of a couple of good but simple choices; sometimes you just want a good hamburger, not a 'fancy' dish. All were done well and presented nicely. I must give credit to whoever is recruiting the restaurant staff - without exception they were efficient, friendly and extremely well presented.

I think Foxtel is becoming something generally expected, so that might be worth Lady Bay considering. Also, a second small TV in the main bedroom would be welcomed by many guests.

Overall we found the resort friendly, quiet and no fuss.

Room Tip: If stairs bother you, ask for a ground floor apartment. Don't be afraid to book a room that face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    122
    35
    10
    4
See reviews for
86
119
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrnambool, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This resort could not have done more to make us more welcome! From the moment we walked in, everyone went out of their way to welcome us. The room was stunning with a great view and very spacious. The food was superb!

The resort is VERY well situated - we loved it.

Thank you Lady Bay Resort for making our stay in Warrnambool such a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyMacK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were very spoilt prior to arriving at Lady Bay Resort as we had stayed at a five star country club resort in Victor Harbor. We travelled all day, so after seven hours plus in a very laden vehicle we were looking for utopia.
We didn't find it at Lady Bay Resort.
We had booked a 3 bedroom apartment, and were advised that it had a ground floor entrance layout and that the bedrooms were on the other two floors. This wasn't so and we had to trudge upstairs at 7.00pm at night to access our room.
Upon arrival at reception we must have 'disturbed' the receptionist as there was some disinterest in finishing up the phone call being taken.
WiFi was weak and not worth the trouble.
The balcony door lock was faulty, but it was too late to worry about, so we put up with it.
The apartments are lovely and I guess we had been spoilt by our previous nights accommodation, but we just weren't feeling anything special.
Close by there are possibly two function centres that were hosting events and we had the aftermath in the way of loud vehicles and rowdy guests coming and going. A little bit of alcohol and every one wanting to fight each other..... After they had gone, a couple of hours later another lot of well imbibed patrons were heard outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from venues conducting functions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at the resort in a comfortable, and quite large, studio room.
King sized bed was a little short but otherwise fine. Tea and coffee supplied with milk but toiletries and towels were fairly average. Room was not cleaned after the first night also.
Balcony had nice view over river and out to sea which was lovely and peaceful even with skate park just below doing a roaring trade.
Easy walk to beach and breakwater and eating and drinking options.
Went to visit friends one evening and a gorgeous bottle of wine from the bar was recommended. So good that we bought another one when we got home to have with our fish and chips on the balcony.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 255100Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Excellent location, view from the room is amazing. Friendly staff and good facilities. We had all the amenities required for a comfortable and relaxed vacation.the staff was very helpful and gave us great tips about things to do.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mukta14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed one night in Lady Bay Resort. Kids love the 2-storey apartment that we stayed. Beyond our expectation in terms of comfort levels, attentiveness to details and great views with balcony. Location is so convenient and near to beautiful playgrounds and lakes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Everything was perfect. Beautiful! I love how I didn't even have to put in a bond! Perfect! Please keep up the good and friendly service. Loved our room. Tv was hdmi compatible! Beds were comfy! Had electric blankets. Only place id come to and trust!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warrnambool hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites Deep Blue
Quality Suites Deep Blue
#6 of 28 in Warrnambool
737 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Olde Maritime Motor Inn
0.9 mi away
Quest Warrnambool
Quest Warrnambool
#4 of 28 in Warrnambool
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Western
Comfort Inn Western
#2 of 28 in Warrnambool
277 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn On Raglan
Comfort Inn On Raglan
#5 of 28 in Warrnambool
188 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Warrnambool International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Bay Resort

Property: Lady Bay Resort
Address: 2 Pertobe Road, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Warrnambool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Warrnambool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lady Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lady Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing