We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great short trip away on a Travel Auctions package”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Colonial Village Motel
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Warrnambool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have recently come back from a 4 night stay at Colonial Village Motel with a holiday package we got through Travel Auctions. It had been along time since we had been to Warrnambool and we had some concerns when we read previous reviews about this property. But our experience was great! Our self-contained unit had everything we needed and was comfortable and clean. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 118 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

ok ok, i stayed here this year with a family member and it was bad! I mean reallly bad! (you will see my review earlier)

But the second time around (my husband booked it without remembering I didn't like it the first time, and I travelled with someone else that time!)...different story

The $185 or something like that rooms with a double bed and three single beds, a fridge, kitchen, tv, dining table, spa bath ....is fantastic!
We decided to spend some time in Warrnambool, Great Ocean Road for our wedding anniversary!
The hotel lady was nice and understood we had trouble booking the hotel near Flagstaff Hill !
This just proves that sometimes you need to pay up more for quality and that is what happened this time around. Location was good as we wanted to be away from the town centre. The rooms are away from others which is good so we did not hear noise from other guests.

Clean place this time around....

Maybe the owners are reading this site.
Thank you. I believe in redemption!

Room Tip: Pick the double bed with 3 single beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suz79au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We just spent 4 nights at the Colonial Village Motel and have to say that after reading a review written on 14 June 2012, we were a bit worried as to what we would find. However, we did not find anything to worry about. Our self-contained unit was spacious, clean and comfortable and catered to our every need. The bonus was wi-fi internet for $5 per day, which worked really well - no trouble with reception.

The location of the motel is great. It is situated on the Mortlake to Warrnambool service road in what is largely a residential area, consequently, we found it very quiet and peaceful. For convenience you are only a 3 minute walk to a Centro shopping complex and a 3 minute drive to the town centre.

Thank you to Sue and staff for making our stay enjoyable. We would have no hesitation in returning should we find ourselves in Warrnambool, again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobcatnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Recently stayed here. First room had a fridge that didn't work so we asked if we could be moved. Was very dusty but the ensuite was renovated and reasonably clean. New room fridge worked, but bathroom was dirty, tiles mouldy and cracked. I had to clean with Exist Mould before we thought we could use it. The room had not been vacummed or dusted. Cutlery was sticky and grubby. Never once during our stay were we asked if we wanted our linen changed. This is not a 3.5 star place.

Room Tip: Dont accept one of the rooms without a renovated bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lucyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

A lovely spacious room with three beds ( I only needed one!), a full kitchenette and clean bathroom. Staff were lovely, really friendly and helpful.

Disadvantages:
-One of the overhead bed lights didn't work
-The alarm clock didn't work
-Weak wifi (luckily i had my own with me)

My only real problem really was that the hotel was a fair distance from the city centre and train station which meant, as I was there for business, multiple $7 cab rides into town and back. A central hotel in walking distance to my appointments would have been cheaper (yes, should have been obvious!).

Good cheap room service breakfast

Next time I would stay somewhere closer in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catelawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed here recently in a deluxe apartment. When compared to other accommodation in warrnambool it seemed very cheap, so we were amazed when we opened the door to a modern clean 2 storey, 2 bathroom, 5 bed apartment! The staff member at reception was friendly. The apartment had full cooking facilities and a full sized fridge. The only thing we could fault was there was a couple of items on top of the fridge that had been left by previous people and not cleaned up.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kara89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Upon checking-in, noticed a cracked shower screen which the Manager denied knowing anything about (how could you miss it when tidying up, cleaning lady!!!!), dirty bath mat, tea towel smelt and was unclean, bathroom falling apart especially the taps.

Shonky place to stay which I don't recommend. In fact, we are taking our complaint further.

How could this place be given a 3 star rating??? beats me!

Maybe if you are a tight wad and don't care for quality, you might like this place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suz79au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warrnambool hotels
2 mi away
Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs
Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs
#5 of 28 in Warrnambool
776 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Olde Maritime Motor Inn
1.2 mi away
Quest Warrnambool
Quest Warrnambool
#3 of 28 in Warrnambool
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Warrnambool International
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn On Raglan
Comfort Inn On Raglan
#6 of 28 in Warrnambool
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hopkins House Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Colonial Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Colonial Village Motel

Address: 31 Mortlake Road, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Warrnambool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Warrnambool
Price Range: $81 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Colonial Village Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Unique property has gone under a Renovation, Refurbishment and is conveniently located to the City center,on three acres of garden. Our guests can relax in Spacious Studios, Suites or Appartments that offer modern, contemporary amenities, FREE WiFi,Foxtel,most are appointed either with a Kitchenette or Full Kitchen. Including Spa rooms for a spontanious couples getaway, Single,Double or Family rooms are also avaliable yo suit all types of traveller, at amazing value! A Tennis court, FREE parking at your door to room, FREE WiFi, wheelchair access, Laundry are avaliable, with a BBQ amoungnst beautiful garden,Playground,perfect for lazy summers night after a day spent exploring The Great Ocean Road and famous Twelve Apostles. Visit the areas popular Attractions including Logan's Beach Whale Nursery,Flagstaff Hill,Tower Hill Reserve, Hopkins Falls. We look forward to Welcoming you to Best Western Colonial Village Motel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Colonial Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing