We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing like their website”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Suites Deep Blue
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Warrnambool
Certificate of Excellence
Castlemaine, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nothing like their website”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our first trip to Warrnambool and it won't be our last. However it was our first and last stay at Quality Suites Deep Blue. We had booked a penthouse for two nights and planned on spending some quality rest time away from work. The first penthouse they booked us into stunk like a cheap motel, there was food on the walls, damaged walls, dust throughout the room and it was generally a dirty suite by even a rats standard. I asked to be moved after inspection and was put into the room next door. It didn't smell but there was food on the walls, a big black hair stuck to the wall with something sticky and I think the last time anyone bothered to wipe the walls or the overhead stove exhaust was probably never. The second smoke detector was pulled apart and one of the doors to the room broken. I can handle kitch and I don't mind old but I don't tolerate filth and this place was filthy. If you are planning on staying here send someone to the 5th floor for some recon first and check out the chipped walls and dirty carpet and then go find somewhere nice to stay. Even our friends who live in Warrnambool came to inspect our room and were disgusted. On the flip side, the bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: Avoid the penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    301
    133
    42
    31
See reviews for
118
412
16
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights last week and we were very happy. The person at the front desk was lovely and gave us good tips for places to visit. The room was spacious, well appointed, clean and modern. The downstairs lounge and breakfast area was very nice also and we took them up on the discounted breakfast if booked the night before. The car park turned out to be undercover and convenient.

Room Tip: There was no free WiFi in the room, only in reception. From what I read, I think the ethernet was fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time in Warrnambool and were passing through for the night driving along the great ocean road. We selected Quality Suites Deep Blue online because it looked reasonable and appeared to have availability for the night. We researched some prices and deals that were available online first so we had an idea of the approximate price. We approached the front desk to ask whether any rooms were available for the night. This is where it went sour. The young lady who was working at the reception was distracted and uninterested in assisting us at all. We inquired about a particular deal we found available online but was given a much higher quote for a lower standard room. After questioning the receptionist whether this deal was actually available, she became very defensive and confronting and told us she hadn't "updated" the system yet. So we decided to take our business else where, which was a great decision in the end. We didn't even stay here and would recommend others not too. First impressions count, and unfortunately Quality Suites Deep Blue need to work on having a pleasant welcoming person to greet their potential customers.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were using Warrnambool as a base for 3 days on the Ocean Road and whale watching and other touristy things. We opted for the Deep Blue over the Lady Bay based on the sea views and the reviews. The views were very good, but after 3 days at the Deep Blue, I don't think I will believe the reviews ever again.
We arrived latish on a Sunday to find the desk empty, but a phone call summoned someone. We went to our room which indeed had some stunning views over the bay. However, the room was chilly as the heating was not yet turned on. The room was largish, but the carpet and furniture were seriously dated, dirty and a bit broken down. The hotel uses the thermal hot water to heat the rooms, a plus in my mind, but it takes ages to warm the rooms up and ours was off. Nowhere is it explained how to use the thermal heat, and the backup heater in our room didn't work.
To add to the heating problem, we had no hot water either. Staff "reset" something and we got a bit for a short while, but it was gone the next morning. It seems that later that day a plumber finally arrived to sort the situation out and we did have hot water from then on.
Finally, the TV only got 4 channels and even then only worked intermittently. Many attempts did not solve the problem, so we did without.
To the staff's credit, they did try to solve the problems, and in the end we were given a free night in compensation, but I think the problems run much deeper. Basically, maintainance seems to be completely responsive and even then only modest. Nothing really worked very well and it seems it hadn't for a while. Though the staff were nice and tried to help, you still pay a lot for these "suites", but next time I would stump up a bit more for the Lady Bay next door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b_robin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel more than four times. We make a point of visiting during the winter as it's a nice break and to view the whales. We also go to relax in the spa. This time however in attempting to book a private spa for the Sunday, we were told none was available as there were no staff. This is very poor and no notice of the lack of staff was given. The opening hours were listed as normal. The private spa is one of our reasons for using this hotel. If this is now the norm, we'll probably reconsider staying there and choose one with full facilities.

Room Tip: Pay for the penthouses as the view is great and the facilities (apart from the spa) good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank techie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerQSDB, General Manager at Quality Suites Deep Blue, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Techie,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip advisor we are happy to hear that this was your 4th visit to the hotel!

We apologise that you were unable to use one of our private geothermal baths during your stay. The day spa is available for treatments 7 days a week but on Sunday and Mondays bookings are required for all treatment and private baths are subject to availability. The day spa opening hours are listed in the hotel compendiums and Spa menus which does indicate that pre bookings are required for all spa treatments, the desk is not manned at all times as therapists may be in treatment. We would of been more than happy to make a reservation for your private spa on Sunday had we been aware that you were looking to book this, the private baths require pre bookings as they take some time in filling and they often sell out. Alternatively we have our open mineral spa that is open 7 days a week from 8am to 8pm. You do not need to book these and the hotel reception staff can give you access.
Please don't hesitate to contact the day spa prior to your next visit and we will ensure that the private bath is ready at your preferred time.

Kind Regards
Katharine Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed over the peak time of Christmas 2012 and found the hotel thoroughly enjoyable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean, quiet, comfortable and up to date. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend. Looking forward to coming back!

Room Tip: Always ask for the best value rooms as there are many options available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2435kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had a great stay at the Quality Suites Deep Blue. Excellent room at good value. Service was very friendly. The inhouse restaurant for dining both in the evening and breakfast was excellent. Strongly recommend this facility when staying in Warrnambool. A good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warrnambool hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Olde Maritime Motor Inn
0.8 mi away
Quest Warrnambool
Quest Warrnambool
#4 of 28 in Warrnambool
365 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Western
Comfort Inn Western
#2 of 28 in Warrnambool
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn On Raglan
Comfort Inn On Raglan
#5 of 28 in Warrnambool
184 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Warrnambool International
1.3 mi away
Mid City Motel Warrnambool
Mid City Motel Warrnambool
#12 of 28 in Warrnambool
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Deep Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Deep Blue

Property: Quality Suites Deep Blue
Address: Worm Bay Road, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Deep Blue Warrnambool)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Warrnambool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Warrnambool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Warrnambool
#5 Family Hotel in Warrnambool
#8 Business Hotel in Warrnambool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Suites Deep Blue 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quality Suites Deep Blue - Warrnambool (Previously The Sebel Deep Blue).Less than three hour's drive from Melbourne, Quality Suites Deep Blue offers luxurious accommodation, perfectly positioned on a peninsula between Lady Bay and Stingray Bay in Warrnambool, also known as 'The city by the Sea'.Comprising 80 guestrooms including eight deluxe suites with spa baths there are also five 2 & 3 bedroom fully self contained penthouses. All accommodation features magnificent vistas and the resort's unique positioning on top of a natural mineral aquifer, 800 metres underground, enables to provide geothermal room heating, as well as supply to 4 mineral rich, private hot deepwater pool rooms in the Bath House and gymnasium.Other features include individual balconies, air conditioning as well as ceiling fans, flat screen TV and cable, work desk, broadband and wireless internet and CD player.Our very own Day Spa - Deep Water Baths & Spa (providing mineral geothermal hot water) includes a large indoor heated pool, an open mineral pool, 4 private hot mineral pool rooms and adjoining day spa offering a range of specialty body treatments, signature facials, massages and beauty treatments, including spray tanning. Quality Suites Deep Blue Warrnambool hotel's signature restaurant, The Water Table boasts a casual yet stylish ambience complemented by a seasonal menu of the finest local Victorian produce showcasing local cheeses and an extensive wine selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Suites Deep Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Deep Blue Warrnambool Hotel Warrnambool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing