We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better if things worked”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Suites Deep Blue
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Warrnambool
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Better if things worked”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were using Warrnambool as a base for 3 days on the Ocean Road and whale watching and other touristy things. We opted for the Deep Blue over the Lady Bay based on the sea views and the reviews. The views were very good, but after 3 days at the Deep Blue, I don't think I will believe the reviews ever again.
We arrived latish on a Sunday to find the desk empty, but a phone call summoned someone. We went to our room which indeed had some stunning views over the bay. However, the room was chilly as the heating was not yet turned on. The room was largish, but the carpet and furniture were seriously dated, dirty and a bit broken down. The hotel uses the thermal hot water to heat the rooms, a plus in my mind, but it takes ages to warm the rooms up and ours was off. Nowhere is it explained how to use the thermal heat, and the backup heater in our room didn't work.
To add to the heating problem, we had no hot water either. Staff "reset" something and we got a bit for a short while, but it was gone the next morning. It seems that later that day a plumber finally arrived to sort the situation out and we did have hot water from then on.
Finally, the TV only got 4 channels and even then only worked intermittently. Many attempts did not solve the problem, so we did without.
To the staff's credit, they did try to solve the problems, and in the end we were given a free night in compensation, but I think the problems run much deeper. Basically, maintainance seems to be completely responsive and even then only modest. Nothing really worked very well and it seems it hadn't for a while. Though the staff were nice and tried to help, you still pay a lot for these "suites", but next time I would stump up a bit more for the Lady Bay next door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b_robin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    292
    133
    41
    29
See reviews for
116
400
16
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel more than four times. We make a point of visiting during the winter as it's a nice break and to view the whales. We also go to relax in the spa. This time however in attempting to book a private spa for the Sunday, we were told none was available as there were no staff. This is very poor and no notice of the lack of staff was given. The opening hours were listed as normal. The private spa is one of our reasons for using this hotel. If this is now the norm, we'll probably reconsider staying there and choose one with full facilities.

Room Tip: Pay for the penthouses as the view is great and the facilities (apart from the spa) good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank techie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerQSDB, General Manager at Quality Suites Deep Blue, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Techie,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip advisor we are happy to hear that this was your 4th visit to the hotel!

We apologise that you were unable to use one of our private geothermal baths during your stay. The day spa is available for treatments 7 days a week but on Sunday and Mondays bookings are required for all treatment and private baths are subject to availability. The day spa opening hours are listed in the hotel compendiums and Spa menus which does indicate that pre bookings are required for all spa treatments, the desk is not manned at all times as therapists may be in treatment. We would of been more than happy to make a reservation for your private spa on Sunday had we been aware that you were looking to book this, the private baths require pre bookings as they take some time in filling and they often sell out. Alternatively we have our open mineral spa that is open 7 days a week from 8am to 8pm. You do not need to book these and the hotel reception staff can give you access.
Please don't hesitate to contact the day spa prior to your next visit and we will ensure that the private bath is ready at your preferred time.

Kind Regards
Katharine Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed over the peak time of Christmas 2012 and found the hotel thoroughly enjoyable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean, quiet, comfortable and up to date. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend. Looking forward to coming back!

Room Tip: Always ask for the best value rooms as there are many options available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2435kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had a great stay at the Quality Suites Deep Blue. Excellent room at good value. Service was very friendly. The inhouse restaurant for dining both in the evening and breakfast was excellent. Strongly recommend this facility when staying in Warrnambool. A good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Deep Blue Hotel for my husband's bday 2 weeks ago. Bed was comfortable and big (being a king size bed). We also enjoyed the pool with my 5 yr old son as it was a heated pool.
Only downside is the continental buffet breakfast. Not much option, you have to order from the ala carte menu and pay extra if you want eggs, bacon etc. Also we dined at the Hotel restaurant on our 1st night and food was not to standards to the price that they are charging. Good thing we went our for tea the next night and found a much better option.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackielee911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerQSDB, General Manager at Quality Suites Deep Blue, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Hi jackielee,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor & a big Happy Birthday to your husband for when you were here! Being only walking distance to the some of warrnambools best swimming beaches it is sometimes a little hard to venture into the waves at this time of year! Our indoor heated swimmig pool is a favorite for children and adults alike- especially in the winter months!

The Watertable restaurant's continental Breafast Buffet is contantly being improved so we do encurage all feedback, it has an extensive range of cerials, breads muffins, danishes, fruits, yoghurts, and unlimited tea, coffee and juices. Alternatively you can order from our al a carte menu which also has a wide range of hot items and are priced accordingly.
The hotel regularly has Bed & Breakfast packages on offer that include the continental buffet, if you would like a hot breakfast with your continental buffet their is a small upgrade fee.

The hotel bistro menu has was recently relaunced to include extensive variety of contemorary australian quisine as well as yummy seafood delights, giving our guests more variey when dining at the hotel, we are sorry to hear that the food was not to your liking, your feed back gives us a chane to better improve for your next visit!

Kind Regards
Katharine Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
169 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Wow what a change,food has been a disapointment here for a while.Dont get me wrong.its been OK, fresh, tasty etc But not fantastic.BUT a new menu seems like just a recent change has now made a huge difference.Great tasting, more choices,WOW.
Accomadation as always excellent,I would not have returned here 14 times.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazzz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerQSDB, General Manager at Quality Suites Deep Blue, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Hi Gazzz1,

Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards so I appreciate you taking the time to post your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you got the chance to enjoy our new menu. We have concidered guest reviews such as yours from the past and aim to improve with your suggestions. We value your feed back and comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

King Regards
Katharine Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel room was so beautiful and clean. Bathroom was extremely nice and new. The whole place is extremely clean. Bed was very pleasant to sleep on. Used the geothermal spa twice and the indoor heated swimming pool once. It was such a relaxing and pleasant experience. We ordered room service breakfast and asked if it could be delivered earlier than what we initially indicated. Staff was very catering and helpful. Room-service breakfast was delicious! Lovely place! And just a five minutes' drive to the town centre and around about 10-15 minutes drive to Logan's beach!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girl24Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerQSDB, General Manager at Quality Suites Deep Blue, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Girl24Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Quaity Suites Deep Blue on trip Advisor. We appriciate your feed back and and very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our housekeeping department work very hard to deliver the high standards of clenliness that you have commented on. We have a number of different breakfast options and Room service is always a nice treat! Logans Beach is a short drive and with the Whales putting on quite a show this year it would of been a great day out! We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards
Katharine Boyd
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warrnambool hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Olde Maritime Motor Inn
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Western
Comfort Inn Western
#2 of 28 in Warrnambool
265 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn On Raglan
Comfort Inn On Raglan
#6 of 28 in Warrnambool
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quest Warrnambool
Quest Warrnambool
#3 of 28 in Warrnambool
357 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mid City Motel Warrnambool
Mid City Motel Warrnambool
#13 of 28 in Warrnambool
115 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Warrnambool International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Deep Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Deep Blue

Property: Quality Suites Deep Blue
Address: Worm Bay Road, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Deep Blue Warrnambool)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Warrnambool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Warrnambool
#3 Luxury Hotel in Warrnambool
#5 Family Hotel in Warrnambool
#8 Business Hotel in Warrnambool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Suites Deep Blue 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quality Suites Deep Blue - Warrnambool (Previously The Sebel Deep Blue).Less than three hour's drive from Melbourne, Quality Suites Deep Blue offers luxurious accommodation, perfectly positioned on a peninsula between Lady Bay and Stingray Bay in Warrnambool, also known as 'The city by the Sea'.Comprising 80 guestrooms including eight deluxe suites with spa baths there are also five 2 & 3 bedroom fully self contained penthouses. All accommodation features magnificent vistas and the resort's unique positioning on top of a natural mineral aquifer, 800 metres underground, enables to provide geothermal room heating, as well as supply to 4 mineral rich, private hot deepwater pool rooms in the Bath House and gymnasium.Other features include individual balconies, air conditioning as well as ceiling fans, flat screen TV and cable, work desk, broadband and wireless internet and CD player.Our very own Day Spa - Deep Water Baths & Spa (providing mineral geothermal hot water) includes a large indoor heated pool, an open mineral pool, 4 private hot mineral pool rooms and adjoining day spa offering a range of specialty body treatments, signature facials, massages and beauty treatments, including spray tanning. Quality Suites Deep Blue Warrnambool hotel's signature restaurant, The Water Table boasts a casual yet stylish ambience complemented by a seasonal menu of the finest local Victorian produce showcasing local cheeses and an extensive wine selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Suites Deep Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Deep Blue Warrnambool Hotel Warrnambool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing