We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service prior to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Warrnambool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I are traveling to Warrnambool for my birthday so decided to book a room at this hotel as the listing on agoda.com stated that the room we were looking at featured many room features we enjoy when we stay in hotels, e.g, bath tub, kitchenette, etc.
After booking this room through the agoda website, then emailing the reservations team directly to confirm the details, I was shocked to find that the room I had booked actually had none of these features, but was a standard room. Was then told I'd need to pay $40 for an upgrade to a room with the features I desired, even though it stated on the site that the room I'd already paid for contained all of these things.
Upon speaking to reservations staff on the phone I was told I could not speak to management and that I'd still have to pay for an upgrade as they 'didnt know how that list had gotten to agoda.com'. How about just admitting that there was a wrong listing on their part and they were giving potential customers misleading information and giving us a free upgrade instead of insisting that it wasn't the hotels fault and that I'd had to pay an upgrade fee?

This put me off staying in this hotel and we have since cancelled our booking and booked somewhere much friendlier. I'd definitely advise checking with the hotel prior to booking on a third party website as the room features they say they have and the features the hotel actually has to offer guests seems to be very different.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank Eatprayfeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_MoloneyQSDB, General Manager at Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Eatprayfeathers,

First of all I would like to apologise for the confusion relating to your booking. I have since looked on Agoda to see what the descriptions for each room say and all the rooms descriptions match our current room amenities. The room that you describe is our Premium Kitchenette room which does feature a Kitchenette and a Spa Bath. Upon looking at the reservation the booking we recieved was for a Seascape studio King room which does not feature the bath or a kitchenette. Our reservation staff replied based on the information they had at hand so I apologise if it was not handled to your satisfaction. There has been a change of management since this time and I would like to assure you that I would of been happy to speak to you about this and offer a solution to the misunderstanding. Please conact myself at the hotel if you would like to discuss this further.

Kind Regards
Katharine Boyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 777 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the deep blue suites with our 1 year old son. Our room was lovely and clean, modern with ocean view to the right. Room had all the amenities expected. Ensuite was nice and modern with bi-folding mirrored doors that gave you the option to close them if you wished. We booked in for breakfast on both days which was superb. We went for the full breakfast option which included anything from the buffet and a choice from the menu. There was lots of choice with the breakfast buffet and this would be more than ample, but we were there for a treat and so opted for something from the menu also. On one evening we also booked in at the hotel's restaurant ( the water table) where we enjoyed a lovely meal, with generous portions and reasonable value for money. Staff were courteous and very friendly and the room was serviced daily. We also booked in for a private geothermal mineral bath which was great, very relaxing and without a doubt a must if you are going to stay here. Overall we enjoyed our stay here as the location is great being so close to the ocean and lake pertobe and the hotel lived up to it's expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peppaoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_MoloneyQSDB, General Manager at Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Hi Peppaoz,

Thank you for your recent stay here at Quality Suites Deep Blue Warrnambool! So glad you were able to experience our private mineral baths and enjoy the many delights we have on offer in the Water Table Restaurant. We value your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again in he future.

Kind Regards
Katharine Boyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Decided to travel to Warrnambool without plans and pick a motel when we got there.
We booked an ocean view suite and it was a fantastic , clean , modern and everything you could want (with the great view). We had dinner in The facility restaurant "The Water Table" which served us a fantastic meal with great service. The next morning after a walk along the beach trails we headed back for round two in the restaurant (breakfast) which was just superb. Both the quality and presentation of both meals we had here and the quality of the service within the motel will have us returning

Room Tip: For a few extra dollars choose the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_MoloneyQSDB, General Manager at Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Rohan,

I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Katharine Boyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We booked a king studio with ocean views. We did not get a studio by any understanding I have. Studio implies a separate sitting area and some kitchen facilities in my experience. What we got was a modern, standard hotel room. It had a king bed, desk and chair and a sitting chair in a corner. To watch tv you needed to lie on the bed. The bathroom is separated from the bedroom by a bifold door which is quite strange. Why would you want to open the door? The soap and shampoo are in squeeze dispensers which my wife who has arthritis found difficult to use. The very small balcony without any furniture had a glimpse of ocean in the distance. The location is quite good near the waterfront if you like walking and parklands, however it is a few kilometres distance from the CBD. So this was a reasonable hotel room but certainly not a studio by Aussie standards.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_MoloneyQSDB, General Manager at Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear David H,

Thank You for your feedback on a recent stay with us and appreciate the comments which gives the hotel an opportunity to address instances where we could have done a little better.

The Seascape Hotel Room you booked does state in he highlighted descriptor that is was "King Bed with ensuite Bathroom with bi-fold door to bathroom" and would have been visible to you prior to booking the room. We do try very hard to be transparent with the rooms we list for sale and unfortunately this time it was down to a previous personal experience.

The bi-fold doors you make mention are an architectural design when the hotel was built in 2007 and over the years we have had a great response to this feature but appreciate your comments are personal.

We have looked at placing furniture on our balconies but have found the wind to be too extreme in Warrnambool.

Once again Thank You for your comments

Regards

Daniel Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just arrived at the hotel yesterday after a road trip from melbourne. I had very high expectation of this place and it is so far very average. The room itself and minibar in room is fine, had a good night sleep, but our balcony is in need of a deep clean, with dust and all type of marks through out; not ideal. The hotel is only a 10 minutes walk to the beach and great place for fishing. No freindliness or welcoming from staff here at all when we checked in, had to wait for ages to get directions though. Perhaps some training on local knowledge? Looking forward to our spa appointment tomorrow to truly relax.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_MoloneyQSDB, General Manager at Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank You for your feedback on a recent stay with us and appreciate the comments which gives the hotel an opportunity to address instances where we could have done a little better.

The state of the balcony you mentioned is twofold, a lot of grime came of the extreme rain and wind we had the week prior to your stay and is part of our programmed maintenance on our balconies. We have just completed a high pressure clean on Level 4 & 5 and are working on the other 3 levels over the weeks ahead.

We trust you enjoyed you Spa treatment @ Deep Water Baths & Spa

Once again Thank You for your comments

Regards

Daniel Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place at the end of the great ocean road. Ocean view rooms are great & the geothermal spa is worth a visit. The brekkie was continental which was well stocked with sufficient selection. Keep an eye on wotif for bargains, there are deals offered at at 40% discount to advertised prices including brekkie and geothermal pool entrance (brekkie $17 & pool entrance $9 each)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Planetweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_MoloneyQSDB, General Manager at Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor and pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Daniel Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I booked a 3 night trip away via the Mystery Deal on Wotif and received this hotel for a 3 night King Sea View room.
Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and given our rooms. We had to ask about breakfast and pool / facilities as none of this was explained at check in. Upon entering our room we were quite disappointed as our apparent “Ocean View” was only visible from the very corner of the outside balcony and not at all from the room. In fact it was facing the town side and overlooking a rear car park. When the ocean is the other side of the hotel. Previously having stayed at the hotel and booking sea view I received rooms on the other side facing the sea. We spoke with reception who quickly changed our rooms so we could see the sea from the room. This really frustrated us as these rooms were NOT ocean view and they tried to give us one of these as I believe we had a Wotif special. The room itself is not of a 4.5 star quality, I would say more 3.5, the rooms are out-dated, not clean and a King which is 2 single mattress’s together (not comfortable at all) Our bathroom wasn’t very clean with hairs up walls and on toilet seats. The balcony is nice, but no furniture outside for you to sit and enjoy. We were on the 3rd floor and had a lot of problems with the noise from upstairs. At 10pm each night sounded like furniture being moved around, we called reception but the noise didn’t stop, so wasn’t a restful night between that and the bins outside being continually emptied into skip bins.
The pool was pleasant but you have to pay $15p/p for the thermal pool, which we did but was only for 1hour. The gym is more a storage box, no windows, and only a couple of pieces of equipment. The Austar consists of a couple of channels, so not worth the mention. We seen food left outside people’s rooms for up to 24hrs before being cleaned and taken away, which was horrible, we seen 1 staff member move it from the floor to the end of the hall under the sink, which it stayed there for another day.
We did enjoy pre dinner drinks which were reasonably priced at the bar, with a nice selection of drinks and wines.
Overall I wouldn’t stay here again, the location is the only thing going for it, the staff aren’t over helpful, rooms dated and in need of refurb, the fact they try and put you in a room you didn’t book in is sneaky and unprofessional and having stayed there twice now will never be back!

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms are located on the enterance side overlooking the ocean and lady bay resort and ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frequentoztravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_MoloneyQSDB, General Manager at Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank You for your feedback on a recent stay with us and appreciate the comments which gives the hotel an opportunity to address instances where we could have done a little better.

The mystery deal via WOTIF is a great one if you are able to secure a room and are sold on the basis it has Ocean Views from the balconies which are located on the 3rd and 4th floor of the hotel, If you were not allocated to those floors originally then I do apologize and nice to hear reception staff greeted you warmly and that another room could be made available to you.

We have looked at placing furniture on our balconies but have found the wind to be too extreme in Warrnambool.

The star rating of 4 1/2 was awarded to hotel this time last year and from my understanding is based on the entire product with an emphasis on guest rooms but appreciate your view is of personal opinion. Your comments relating to the bedding, we do have 24 rooms which are King splits which suit a variety of our guests with different needs but we are looking at purchasing King mattress toppers in the hope to make every guests stay a comfortable one.

Pleased you enjoyed the hotels indoor pool and the other is a Geothermal Mineral Pool which is where we pump water up from an aquifer 800 meters beneath the hotel at a temperature of 44 degrees and then cooled to 39 degrees and due to the process and cost is why we charge guests to use. The water contains Chloride, Sodium, Potassium, Magnesium and bicarbonate just to name a few which help with arthritis, assists with reducing high blood pressure, can improve blood circulation and stimulate the body’s lymphatic system.

The Gym does in fact have 3 opening windows to help circulation and in the room we have a Treadmill, Cross Trainer, Bike and a Rower which are all new equipment coupled with a weight bench and ball which I believe is a great offering outside a professional gym which you would normally have to pay to use. To make our guests more comfortable whilst doing their workout the exercise room also has ceiling fans, 42” TV with all TV channels plus FOXTEL and Geothermal heating for those winter mornings.

The Austar you mention is FOXTEL and streams 6 channels of which 3 are sport from memory, Discovery, 24 hour news and a Lifestyle and we also have the option of guest utilizing Docomo, a 24 hour on demand pay per view movie service which the hotel has paid to have installed for our guests to use at their convenience.

I am pleased you enjoyed drinks at the hotel bar, we are trying hard to improve this area of the hotel by way of offering a 5 day promo on food and now doing happy hour every day from 4pm. We are currently sourcing new furniture for the foyer which will add to the overall experience of the hotel and envisage being complete in the next 6-8 weeks.

Once again thank you for your comments of which I have found to be very informative and if we can get you back in the future I believe we can deliver on our promise.

Warm Regards

Daniel Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warrnambool hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Olde Maritime Motor Inn
0.8 mi away
Quest Warrnambool
Quest Warrnambool
#3 of 28 in Warrnambool
409 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn On Raglan
Comfort Inn On Raglan
#6 of 28 in Warrnambool
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Warrnambool International
1.3 mi away
Mid City Motel Warrnambool
Mid City Motel Warrnambool
#11 of 28 in Warrnambool
133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Western
Comfort Inn Western
#2 of 28 in Warrnambool
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs

Address: Worm Bay Road, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Deep Blue)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Warrnambool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Warrnambool
#3 Luxury Hotel in Warrnambool
#5 Family Hotel in Warrnambool
#8 Business Hotel in Warrnambool
Price Range: $92 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs - Warrnambool. The Deep Blue Hotel is home to the only Natural Hot Springs Mineral Baths (The Bathhouse is also open to the public) on the Great Ocean Rd. The Hotel offers 80 different luxurious accommodation options over 6 levels just 100 metres from the beach, all levels are serviced via 2 elevators. Other features include Under cover parking as well as outdoor parking, individual balconies, split system air conditioning, 42" flat screen tv's with 4 dedicated Movie Channels. Our very own Day Spa - Deep Water Baths & Spa (providing mineral hot water) includes a large indoor heated pool, an open Natural Hot Mineral pool, 4 private hot mineral pool rooms for the more discrete guests and adjoining Day Spa offers a range of specialty body treatments, signature facials, massages and beauty treatments. The Water Table, located onsite, boasts a casual yet stylish ambience complemented by a seasonal menu of the finest local Victorian produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Deep Blue Warrnambool Hotel Warrnambool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing