We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our needs”
Review of Atwood Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atwood Motor Inn
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Warrnambool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Well appointed and very clean room (I would think recently painted) with very comfortable bed and modern LCD TV, bathroom amenities as expected
Situated within walking distance to dining and shopping areas
Nicely cooked breakfast and hosts congenial and helpful

A real bargain at the price

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaybee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 184 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2010

We had only booked to stay for one night but when we arrived to decided to stay for 2 nights. We had booked a 2 bedroom apartment which was great, the location was good about 5 minutes from the shopping area of Warrnambool. The owners were really helpful. Would recommend to any of my other visitors to Australia to stay there, and would stay there again myself.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kxburniemelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

The hotel is centrally located in Warrnambool just off the main highway, everything is within walking distance. Despite this you can't hear any street noise from the rooms.
The person on the front desk (likely owner) was very knowledgeable about places to eat in the local area and routes to our next destination.
The complex looks a little dated from the outside but the bathroom in the room we stayed in was newly renovated, and a new TV and kitchenette with microwave was installed. The basic room we booked for $85 a night was very spacious, included a desk and space to lay out your luggage. Overall this is a great stopover point on the Princes Highway, a rest day from the Great Ocean Road, or you could stop for a few days for work (not sure if they had wifi or laundry facilities though, check their website or other reviews). My only complaint is that they could put a queen bed in a room that size, they don't cost much more than doubles these days.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drinky_canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in a standard room, with 2 single beds. Room was a little old, smelt a little funny too. Bathroom was more modern and huge, although towels were old and worn.
Our room didn't have a microwave although stated on their website that every room would have a microwave! There was a toaster, tea/coffee, kettle, cups, spoons (no knife if you wanted to make toast though) a tea towel but nothing to wash the dishes with.
Upon arrival the room was clean, but after our 1st night when we returned only the beds were remade and bins empty, no other cleaning had been done. After our 2nd night though the room was cleaned.
TV had a lot of channels which was good.
As for location, this was excellent. A 2 minute walk to the main shops, we could walk to many things which was great. Its located on a quiet street, although a little confussing to find at first. (but we arrived at night, easier to find in the daylight)
Overall for location it is fantastic. Im not very fussy when it comes to hotels, (been overseas many times) but our standard room was very basic and nothing like the photos on the internet. But it served our purpose, as we didn't spend much time in the hotel. The owners are friendly and helpful, so would return (for location reasons) probably stay in a better room next time.
we didn't have breakfast at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayneAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

I am very glad I found this hotel on TA. I would definitely use it again. It's a good value.

The Atwood is a great pitstop in Warnambool, often used as an overnight stop on the Great Ocean Road. The room was nice, though not huge, and pretty and cutely decorated in its own way. The front desk staff was excellent and very good with info. They are also very good with emails and bookings (http://www.atwoodmotorinn.com.au/). The heater worked great and I needed it on a surprisingly cold Autumn day.

The location is exactly as described on the website, very close to town center (just off the main strip) yet far enough to be very quiet and peaceful. When driving, watch out for the signs to the hotel. The hotel is located on a diagonal street and it is not easy to spot from the highway / main drag.

There are many fast food joints nearby. Notably, a McD with free WiFi (the hotel does not have free WiFi) and a very popular KFC. It is within walking distance to the main street and the eateries, but really not within walking distance to the shore. If it matters, they had more TV stations than most hotels in Australia.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nysingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We chose this place based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and it did not disappoint. Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner who was very friendly and helpful. She gave us advice regarding our drive along Great Ocean Rd and pointed out places of interest around the town.

We booked a deluxe queen room for one night and it was definitely one of the cleanest motel rooms I have stayed in. The bed and pillows were comfortable, there was plenty of room for our luggage and the tv worked well. Our bathroom was very large and it was incredibly clean!

The motel is located a very short (1-2 mins) drive to the town centre and 5 mins drive from the beach. I would definitely recommend this place for a stopover.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss_v_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Phoned up on arrival in town and got a good price. Clean tidy room but the room needs a paint job. Had a look at the spa room. Would stay there next time. Nice room. Management very friendly and helpful. Five minutes walk to shops. Room a little crowded with a single bed and sofa as well as a queen sized bed. Adequate for a one night stay.

Stayed: January 2010
Thank MissBonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warrnambool hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Warrnambool International
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn On Raglan
Comfort Inn On Raglan
#6 of 28 in Warrnambool
192 reviews
2.3 mi away
Gateway Motor Inn
Gateway Motor Inn
#14 of 28 in Warrnambool
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mid City Motel Warrnambool
Mid City Motel Warrnambool
#12 of 28 in Warrnambool
132 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs
Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs
#5 of 28 in Warrnambool
773 reviews
2.3 mi away
Motel Warrnambool
Motel Warrnambool
#16 of 28 in Warrnambool
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atwood Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atwood Motor Inn

Address: 8 Spence St, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Warrnambool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Warrnambool
Price Range: $68 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atwood Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inner city location and the upper end of 3½ star quality, make the Atwood Motor Inn an ideal choice for visitors looking for quality accommodation at affordable prices. The motel has 21 units ranging from standard double, queen/twin share, spa with 2 person corner spa, family rooms that offer kitchenette facilities (sink, hotplates and crockery) and two bedroom family units comprising queen and separate bedroom with two single beds, and a disabled access unit is available on request. All units have tea coffee making facilities microwaves and toasters. LCD TV and free Austar. High speed internet is available. Atwood Motor Inn also has an outdoor entertaining area with guest barbecue and also has laundry facilities for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atwood Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing