We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and atmosphere; a bit pricey”
Review of Java Spice

Java Spice
Ranked #4 of 54 Restaurants in Swan Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $31
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed October 18, 2013

On the last night of a 30-day roadtrip from Melbourne to the west coast and back we overnighted in Swan Hill. After looking over Trip Advisor reviews we decided to drive by Java Spice. The smell from the kitchen lured us in as we approached the restaurant. As we walked in we felt like we were in Bali. All staff were very friendly and efficient, and the food was delicious. We started with the scallops in red curry sauce (5 scallops, $13). The scallops were not actually in the sauce. The sauce was drizzled over the top of the scallops. While good, we felt the dish was a bit overpriced and underseasoned. The Malaysian stir fried goat curry with rice ($29.50) was terrific and we ordered roti bread ($4) with which to dip into the sauce. Unfortunately there was not really enough sauce. The Mie Goreng noodles were super. We had a bottle of local Brumby Shiraz ($30) which was fine, as was the Bali Hai beer ($7.50). We definitely recommend this restaurant, but be aware of the prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravellingTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavaSpiceSwanHill, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Hi there. Hope you are enjoying your travels. Thanks for the feedback. Glad you enjoyed your meals. We don't appologise for the price as we believe that given the surrounds & quality of the products we use, the prices are reasonable. Hope to see you back some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 177 of 234 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Don't you just love it when you come across excellence when you least expect it

My wife and I were on the road from Adelaide to Albury and as normal broke our trip with an overnight stay at Swan Hill. We have been here many times before and have never had a meal of any great consequence at any of the clubs or pubs in town

I decided to look up tripadvisor to see what my fellow travellers had to say about the eating houses here and was more than pleased to see such glowing reviews of Java Spice as we both love Asian influenced meals

Even though it was a Wednesday night I rang for a booking and as it turned out it was lucky I did as we later learnt there were over 100 booked in for dinner

Having read the reviews I had been intrigued that the owner Peter had responded to each and every one of them--surely a sign of some one who loves and is fiercely proud of his restaurant and what it stands for

From the lady on the phone to each and every staff member it was apparent that all share Peters zeal and enthusiasm with the service being outstanding

The food was equally great and the ambience terrific-- don't be put off by my mention of over a 100 diners as the restaurant is very cleverly divided into a number of separate rooms and private bures and provides a great atmosphere

Peter the owner visited our table and we were pleased to learn how he came to open his restaurant in such a comparatively out of the way place-- a former teacher and long time resident of Indonesia their loss is certainly Swan Hills gain

My final comment -- do yourself a favour and have a meal here if you are ever on the road through the town or for that matter live within a hundred Kms of the place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank longhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavaSpiceSwanHill, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Wow...Thanks for the glowing review. It was nice to chat with you both. I also enjoyed your enthusiasm as diners. Both Trish & I & the staff appreciate your kind comments and look forward to you returning to Java Spice some time soo. Kind regards, Pete & Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Great food and decorated in the Bali style. Wait staff are very good and even speak Balinese!
Good menu with Banquets available for those who find it hard to choose.

Try the outdoor Bailes, Great for a groups - yep even in Winter - heated by Kleenheat Gas!

Terrific food, great staff, Ambience, Reasonably priced - why not go !
Definitely worth a visit if you are in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Uncle_Brendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience at Java Spice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is real gem in Swan Hill. The building sets the scene of tropical indulgence. Our dishes were fresh and tasty. We were well looked after and I would happily go back for seconds next time I am there

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CynthiaCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thanks for the positive feedback. Glad you enjoyed. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Seriously great.

Not only is the food and the service first class, but so is the atmosphere. I felt I was on a tropical island in one of the outdoor huts.

Any tourist must eat here because this place is right up there with the best of them.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Truthermountainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thanks for visiting Java Spice. We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience. We hope you pop in again some time soon. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java Spice also viewed

 
Swan Hill, Victoria
Swan Hill, Victoria
 

Been to Java Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing