We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Java Spice

Java Spice
Ranked #4 of 52 Restaurants in Swan Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Swan Hill overnight and thought we would go to an Asian restaurant. Wasn't expecting something so authentic. Great service, the food arrived quickly and it didn't disappoint. Highly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thanks for the review. we are glad you enjoyed your visit to Swan Hill & your dining experience at Java Spice. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    55
    20
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ADELAIDE
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent food and beautiful, authentically recreated decor”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We ate at Java Spice based on recommendations which are definately well deserved. The food was excellent, fabulous authentic flavours and the interior and exterior decor was faultless. Loved the little grass roofed huts, palms and the stunning artifacts. In fact whole experience was excellent apart from the service, which while good, just did not quite meet the level expected for a restaurant of this quality.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chantil3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavaSpiceSwanHill, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks for the review. We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience at Java Spice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service, food and atmosphere?”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We drove past upon arriving at Swan Hill and saw how amazing the place looked so we decided to eat dinner there. Went without a reservation however it was booked out. Peter was so professional and took our number and said he would call if something did. We drove around swan Hill just looking at other restaurants when he called back with the great news. We quickly turned the car around and were greeted nicely again with friendly staff. we sat in our own little hut but the ambience inside was good too. Service was great food and drinks were amazing. We were dressed in our holiday clothes... shorts tshirts and runners, and felt comfortable but Maybe if we travelled up to SH again I might pack something just a little more dressier to eat here. Well done guys you have an amazing place. Now all you have to do is open another next to where we live in Melbournes West!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Enza V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Glad you popped in. Glad you visited our friends at Spoons & glad you enjoyed their venue as well. Not thrilled you compared us both as we are different in so many ways. You compared lunch with dinner and Australian Cuisine with South East Asian. We work nicely together supporting each other when we can. Hope you visit Swan Hill again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Serves high quality South East Asian food, predominantly Thai and Indonesian. We stuck to the Thai menu and found it authentic in every way. A great place to eat in Swan Hill.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank marleemia23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. Glad you enjoyed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangaroo Flat, Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I am not sure if this qualifies for a total restaurant review. We had planned to go there for dinner but after a full day at the pioneer settlement were a bit tired so decided to have it delivered to the hotel. From taking the order to the delivery person the staff were great. The food is as good as we were hoping, Full of flavour and with very generous servings. If you like thai food and you are in swan hill go there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jamescheshunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
So happy you enjoyed your dining experience. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java Spice also viewed

 

Been to Java Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing