We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BIG4 Riverside Swan Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My son and I stayed at this park with friends. We had great time and were truly impressed by the courteous and helpful staff and great facilities. We stayed in a spotlessly clean cabin near the rivers edge and although it was during a massive heat wave it remained cool and pleasant. The young ones enjoyed the pool, easily walked into town when they wanted, and enjoyed the freedom to move around to visit friends. We were able to have a group BBQ, and everything was clean and easy to use. I highly recommend this park.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLR014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    56
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
38
88
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed on a Caravan Site with concrete slab for 4 nights, the reception staff were not very helpful, had to ask for a map of Swan Hill to find out where the supermarkets etc. were, these maps are kept under the desk, the toilet block near our site was very old with tiles missing off the floor, the material on the shower walls were buckled and most of the showers dripped consistently, it was hard to know if they were clean as the grout between the tiles was black. Apparently the toilet block is due for refurbishment before Easter 2014, this should have been done before putting in a café. The toilet block near the riverside sites is very good, just a shame the other block which is much larger is so bad. Big 4 have a reputation as being excellent, they seem to have spent money on Cabins and children's entertainment and ignored the needs of the caravan travellers.
The position of the park is excellent within easy walking distance to Pioneer Settlement and the town centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
319 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Unsure what to expect, we were pleasantly surprised, and chose a powered river edge site. We were conveniently placed across the road from spotless amenities, on a concrete slab. Large gum trees have been retained, and due to this, some of these sites need expertise when backing a van. I found reception staff friendly and without asking I was issued with a town map and an indication of what was on offer with the nearby Pioneer Settlement and Paddleboat Cruise which was most appreciated. Though no longer peak season, I thought $42 a night was on the high side!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandykperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
423 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here in an ensuite studio on the last night of a 30-day driving trip from Melbourne across the Nullarbor and back. What a perfect way to end the trip. The studio (S12) faced the river and was absolutely spotless. It appeared that the fittings and appliances were brand new. We booked the studio before the trip and our arrival in Swan Hill was delayed by a day, but we were able to change the date with no problem. We arrived in town a couple of hours later than we said we would and just before reaching the park the lady at reception called to check on us. Very thoughtful. When we arrived she noted several dining places in town in which we might be interested. And the rate was very good - $108. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed in our caravan at the Riverside Caravan Park for two nights in September. Although we had booked a riverside site once we arrived we changed our minds once we saw how close the sites were and chose a lovely big grass site up on the hill. Although this was near a toilet block which is due for refurbishment the toilets and showers were quite adequate and clean. Staff on check in were not all that friendly and did not offer any extra information which was quite unusual for a Big 4 park. Maybe they were having a bad day. The park has lots of new features such as a lovely reception area and cafe,a jumping pillow and games room for kids and a nice pool. It is a beautiful location close to the Pioneer park and walks along the river. Probably the unpowered tent sites situated right near the jumping pillow would not be a good spot if you like a bit of peace and quiet early in the morning. (There were children on the pillow at 7am and a tent close by which had a very early departure)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank explorersblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a riverside site which was fantastic - great views, shade, grass and a concrete slab. The facilities are good, very clean, staff really helpful and friendly. There is a cafe in the park which is excellent, plus only a short walk into town. All in all, everything you could want for a great stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sandrapeter63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a really great place for familys and things to do .We had 3 kids and this spot is on the river with plenty of walking trails, its just short walk to the main street .Some of the things we did was fish in the river ,watch the kids play on the awesome play ground and swim in the pool.the kids got very excited when a couple of possums came out of the tree in our cabins front yard .We walked in to the main street and got a couple of awesome pizzas,it was a good stay .

Room Tip: just watch the kids stay off the roads its a busy place with lots of 4wd and vans
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darkchery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swan Hill hotels
1.7 mi away
Paddle Steamer Motel
Paddle Steamer Motel
#2 of 13 in Swan Hill
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Lady Augusta
Comfort Inn Lady Augusta
#1 of 13 in Swan Hill
107 reviews
1.2 mi away
Murray Downs Resort-Swan Hill Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Swan Hill Resort
Ibis Styles Swan Hill Resort
#11 of 13 in Swan Hill
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Campbell
Comfort Inn Campbell
#6 of 13 in Swan Hill
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Australian Settlers Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Riverside Swan Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Riverside Swan Hill

Property: BIG4 Riverside Swan Hill
Address: 1 Monash Dr, Swan Hill, Victoria 3585, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Swan Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Swan Hill
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your BIG4 Riverside Swan Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing