We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Happy Hour Deal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Mouth St Kilda

Big Mouth St Kilda
Reserve with
Big Mouth St Kilda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 280 Restaurants in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Australian, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Hello and Welcome.We are Big Mouth. We live in the beautiful seaside town of St Kilda and have done for the last 21 years. We are a Restaurant, Bar, Lounge and Cafe. Our customers come to us for big Saturday nights, hang over cures, a casual vino, beer, a romantic table for a first date or a function for 50. We have a great customer base, an eclectic mix of artists, suits, tradies, rock stars, travelers, hot chicks and hippies.We're famous for our famous St Kilda Hash Browns, wine list, djs, Porterhouse steaks and Saturday night dancing. We are a lot of things to a lot of people. Come in and have us your way.
South Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious Happy Hour Deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I've gone for drinks and for dinner a few times, and have been very pleased each time. They have an excellent deal before 7pm on weeknights from a limited menu. It's got a great vibe and if you can grab a window spot it's got truly fantastic people watching too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RachKarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    44
    13
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good quality bar style food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We visited as group of 5 and we all enjoyed the food, service and wines
The Beef Cheeks and Lamb Shanks were some of the best we have had in a long time

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charsal_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rude waitress”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Booked for 11 people .... 8 turned up and the other 3 cancelled at the last minute. The waitress really had a go at us at the table and threatened to charge for the 3 who cancelled. Felt like we were walking on egg shelves. We were charged to cut a cake also I think not sure about it but the waitress mentioned it. Weird staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Orangepinklemk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msanniefine, General Manager at Big Mouth St Kilda, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hi Orange,
We have a policy for bookings that if more than 3 people don't turn up once your booking is confirmed, we charge a $10 fee. We do this to help with accuracy so that we don't have a room full of no shows. For example if we had 5 bookings with 3 no shows thats 15 people we could have had seated.

We, like many many restaurants charge a small charge cakeage fee, ours is $2.50 per person. This is an option for people who choose not to have a cake made by us, or eat our dessert. For this very small fee we present the cake with candles/sparklers, take it away, cut it, cream it and serve it.
Big Mouth, like a lot of venue, offers customers really good quality food for a great price. We think its reasonable that if you dine out in our venue you respect the fee structure. I'm sorry if you took offence at this, but perhaps my explanation helps you understand our side of the story.

Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Good breakfast, good price compared to some places on acland st, nice service, been back a few times

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paynesville, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Nothing like a selection of tapas to warm the cockles of your heart on a winter's evening!

Great food, awesome atmosphere, breezy service, hot bartenders and a couple of slow gins make for a wonderful night out!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Merryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msanniefine, General Manager at Big Mouth St Kilda, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi Merryn,
Glad you had fun. Nothing like slow gin and hot ....service. I'll let the boys know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Mouth St Kilda also viewed

St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 

Been to Big Mouth St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing