We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to splash out”
Review of Mirka - CLOSED

Mirka
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place to splash out”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

It was my final night in Australia so I decided I wanted to make my last meal special. Having been rudely treated at di Stasio across the road, my companion and I took our business to Mirka.

We were warmly welcomed but seated in a smallish room off to the side. The place was strangely empty so we asked if we could sit in the famous painted room. We'd been at the Heide Museum of Modern Art that day so the beautiful murals made a lot of sense once we were seated in front of them. Apparently the menu differs slightly between rooms.

Being two of only four customers we were well looked after by the staff and never made to feel we should go. Apart from one mix up on the orders, the food all arrived quickly and looked stunning. The crowning glory was the risotto nero. Silky smooth, tasting of fresh sea and containing satifyingly soft pieces of braised cuttlefish, this was a dish worth writing a review about.

The other light dishes we ordered (stuffed zucchini flowers, salmon tartare) were also well balanced and generous in their portion sizes. A decent glass of Tasmanian Pinot Noir washed it all down nicely.

Yes the prices are on the high side but quality and good service are guaranteed. Recommended for that special occasion.

Oh, one little gripe, the air conditioning was freezing but that was probably due to the fact there weren't enough warm bodied diners in the room.

Helpful?
1 Thank touringmusician77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grossi_Restaurants, Owner at Mirka, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for trying Mirka.
We are pleased you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    23
    7
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My family and I lunched at Mirka one Sunday recently, as a birthday celebration, and it was everything you would hope for. The food was beautiful, service was efficient and professional, whilst remaining friendly, and the location was also good. Highly recommended, but if you are watching your pennies, it is slightly on the pricey side (worth it, though!!).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nataisha19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grossi_Restaurants, Owner at Mirka, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
thank you for dining with us at Mirka recently. We are pleased you enjoyed it and look forward to being able to look after you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Bistro with Beautiful Mirka murals”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a great Melbourne institution which has been enhanced with signature Grossi. Very good food, wines & service make this a stand out Bistro offering very good value for money.
It has been one of our favourites for a long time, albeit with a gap in the late 90s when under different owners

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank skyejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grossi_Restaurants, Owner at Mirka, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy Mirka Continental Bistro. We always look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A quiet lunch together at Mirka one day............”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were very impressed with the food, wine, service, ambience and attention given to detail with this restaurant and would highly recommend it! Location was literally just over the road from the Urban Hotel where we stayed in St Kilda.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank annahb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Continental Bistro - Fun Dining with Friends”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Guy Grossi through his local television exposure and Italian background in the restaurant business is a consummate provider of great fare. Mirka is an ideal location to celebrate as we did doing 2 birthdays at once. The al fresco dining menu with shared plates was excellent and all 5 of us reckon it was a top evening. We thought the spare ribs / carciofi ripieni and the goat cutlets (special of the day) were great starters. The ravioli which four of us opted for was just that a as in one ravioli. It was just right after all the dishes we had enjoyed already. Two serves - yes two serves of the truffle fries also vanished and those who ate the very special deserts (and maybe shouldn't have) were in raptures, Mirka - great fresh food, good service, ample wine selection did it very nicely for us. Allow about $150 a head + tip

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mirka also viewed

St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing