We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Chinese food, worth the trip”

Lau's Family Kitchen
Ranked #8 of 290 Restaurants in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious Chinese food, worth the trip”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We ate there on a Wednesday night when the place was busy but not full. Very good Chinese food, no hint of MSG here. Beautiful presentation, our waitress suggested some excellent dishes. Not the cheapest meal we had but worth paying for. No faults.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wiltshiregirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    73
    18
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Quality Chinese Food in St. Kilda”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Our adult family of 4 ate at Lau's in early January. It was a balmy evening and we chose a table outside. After entrees of various dumpling dishes, whitebait omelette and a siu mai, we decided on chicken, pork and beef dishes accompanied by simple boiled rice. All were cooked and presented beautifully except the rice which was gluggy and not separate. For this reason we couldn't give an excellent rating. The wine list was reasonable with a few highlights, one of which was, what we thought, a top NZ Pinot Gris from the Waipara area north of Christchurch.
All in all a good evening was had by all of us. Pricewise, a little on the high side, but that's what one pays for quality. Would go back again despite the gluggy rice!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fantastic fresh food!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Fantastic fresh food presented by staff willing to be flexible with the menu and accommodate groups and individual preferences. So consistently fantastic, particularly for groups and families.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneBookGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Happy Noise!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Second visit to this vibrant and busy Kitchen. Extremely well organised, excellent unobtrusive service,very tasty well presented chinese cuisine. Has plenty of happy noise and satisfied customers. Need to book.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnnieTMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“a little piece of flower Drum”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I dined here in early December, quite by chance and from the moment I was taken to a terrace table, I was won over. As a re-invented Melbourne girl with a cooking school in Marrakech, I am always keen to revisit favourite chefs when I'm in town. I didn't know until later, the history of Lau's, when I was raving to fellow Melbourne foodies that I had dined street side in St Kilda on the most fabulous food, reminiscent of the Flower Drum.. the penny dropped! It wasn't shades of Gilbert..it WAS! I supped on everything pork with wines to match as it was a divine, divine meal. I'll be back in February!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edwina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lau's Family Kitchen also viewed

St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 

Been to Lau's Family Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing