We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly, reasonably priced ... Would recommend!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Habitat HQ

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Habitat HQ
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, reasonably priced ... Would recommend!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Loved our week stay here - can't complain about anything. People we met were all lovely, staff very friendly, clean rooms and bathroom.... List goes on :-) location is out of town but tram stop is literally 2 mins away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LylieJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    215
    78
    24
    10
See reviews for
30
87
238
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brixham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Great hostel! Lovley quiet clean dorm rooms. Helpful staff. Great location loved st kilda. Very nice outside area. Nice communal area! Very traveller friendly. Highly recommend it. A very "green" hostel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

I stayed in the hostel from early/mid September for 2 months. Originally booked for a week but met so many amazing people from all over the world and was having a great time so didn't want to leave.
Of course being a hostel the quality of sleep can vary when you're sharing a room with 9 other people and yes there may be peoples luggage/belongings everywhere in the room but what do you expect. However this said the house keeping staff do their best to keep the rooms as clean as can be. All members of staff were brilliant and couldn't go further out of their way to help you out, it made it feel like a proper family and a home away from home.
The location couldn't have been much better there is a tram stop right outside the door with a regular service going to and from the CBD, there are multiple shops and supermarkets within a 5 minute walk, the beach is only a 10 minute walk. If you have a car there is ample parking too.
Although I did have a great time and I definitely recommend this hostel there was only one thing for me that held it back slightly. When I first arrived there wasn't a liquor license on the premises meaning it was more than OK to bring your own alcohol into the hostel and consume at a very low cost. However during my stay a license was acquired therefore the bringing of alcohol onto the premises was not allowed and there was a bar installed behind reception selling beers, cider and wine. Although you could still buy drinks from the hostel I felt it did kill the atmosphere a bit as people were less likely to mingle with it being quiet in the common area (compared to before). I understand it is a legal requirement to adhere to these rules for the establishment, so it is by no means a complaint.
I can only thank the staff for being great fun and extremely helpful especially; Spencer, Ella and Sinead!
I couldn't have enjoyed my stay more. If you're in Melbourne go to Habitat and experience the awesomeness!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed here last week and was delighted by the amenities as well as the helpfulness and friendliness of staff and other travelers. I particularly liked having an ensuite for our dorm of six. I also liked the spacious kitchen, the courtyard and lots of spaces downstairs. Nice to have the tv tucked away in a tv room. The recycling bins were noticed and used. The hostel felt secure and was nice to return to after a busy day. Well Done Habitat HQ I will highly recommend this hostel to others.

Room Tip: My room on the third floor was quiet and had a large window overlooking the secure carpark area, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed here last May for a good bit, it was the first hostel I have ever stayed in and it certainly set a high standard for every other hostel I stayed in. Staff are great. Rooms are very good, the rooms on the 3rd floor are the best and they are really clean!! Kitchen is very spacious although can be quiet messy. I would recommend this hostel to anyone as its close to everything and really sets the standard for other hostels in australia.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laura w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

No doubt, it is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed. Good kitchen & common areas, provide fine opportunity to mingle & make new friends. A tram station is just outside of the hostel, so well linked to the city. Would recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigelstrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

it´s easy to go to the downtown by tram (at the hostel door) and there´s also lot of nice places to visit around, like the acland street and st kilda´s beach. the dorms and showers are very clean and the staff is nice. I´d be back there for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelica_Belmonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.6 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
0.6 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.4 mi away
BASE Backpackers St Kilda
BASE Backpackers St Kilda
#4 of 18 in St Kilda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habitat HQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitat HQ

Property: Habitat HQ
Address: 333 St Kilda Rd | Corner of Blanche St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Habitat HQ 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habitat HQ is a Victorian Tourism "Hall Of Fame" and City of Port Phillip Business of the year 2014,budget accommodation and backpacker hostel located in St Kilda, Melbourne. Options available from 4, 6, 8 & 10 bed dorms to private double and triple rooms with en-suites. Free breakfast, free WiFi, large kitchen, lounge, TV room, outdoor courtyard, Cheap and secure car parking with 24 hour reception. We specialize in providing budget accommodation for international and domestic travelers and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Habitat HQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitat Hq Hotel St Kilda
Habitat HQ St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing