We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home from home”
Review of Habitat HQ

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Habitat HQ
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Habitat is a really good hostel. It's easy to find and it's in a very good location to get in and out of the city. They have brilliant facilities and a clean kitchen with enough equipment to go round and the showers get lovely and hot. The staff are friendly and helpful and habitat organises loads of in house events at no cosy and some low cost stuff as well as having a jobs book. The bonus being it's just around the corner from the beach!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
There are newer reviews for Habitat HQ
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 626 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed at Habitat twice either side of a Great Ocean road trip. Having booked an 8 bed dorm we were put into a 6 bed with its own bathroom which was really nice, for our second booking we booked the same 8 bed and found we had to pay $2 extra as rates had gone up (and this time we weren't fortunate enough to be upgraded) which was a shame. The 8 bed was a little cramped as everyone's bags had to go into the middle of the room but the 6 bed was pretty luxurious for a backpackers so I'd recommend paying the extra for this! Free wifi was a bonus and they do $2 dinners on Thursday. Communal areas and free breakfast were also good. Staff were super friendly and helpful and the location is really nice - St Kilda is lovely (and if you're lucky you'll see penguins on the pier) and the tram links to the centre make it dead easy to see everything else. Free airport pickup (as our stay was 3days) was also a bonus.

Room Tip: Book a 6 bed as they come with private bathroom and more space.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed there few weeks ago, their wi fi really works (wooo wooooo). I stayed in a 4 beds dorm, pretty clean and nice. Kitchen is fine and their living room is super big and cosy. Staff from reception is cool , lied back and helpful. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in a triple with private bathroom. Everything was very clean and fresh, nice warm blankets, tea and coffee and towels already in the room. There was also free wifi and a tv, plus a window overlooking the outside area. It was very quiet and the staff were helpful and efficient!
I would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor in a private and it was so peaceful. We all slept very well :)
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitanya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a 4 night stay in a double room. The room was quiet , clean spacious with a lovely ensuit and revercse cycle a/c. Only downside the tv remote didn't work , but when staff notified they tried to fix it ASAP. You could use the stairs or lift :) the communal areas where clean and open plan. Location was great. $15 in cab to city or tram right outside and short walk to the beach. Staff were wonderful. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glam0872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Location is great; too easy to find and accessible for those who haven't been to Melbourne or St Kilda before.

The rooms are good; a little messy and smelly but that's not the management or staffs fault at all. Only thing is, maybe powerpoint outlets next to the top bunks?

Toilets were clean first thing in the morning and later at night, but obviously so much traffic during the day you can't expect them to stay pristine.

PS we stayed in an eight bunk, mixed room. I'm sure less bunks in a room would mean more floor space :)

Thanks for the stay!
Anna

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Anna168168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed in double room with private bathroom. The bathroom was great, newly renovated. The room was decent. But overall building looked a bit worn out. It needed a coat of paint and carpet change. Other than that it's great. Great location. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
0.6 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartments Ink
Apartments Ink
#5 of 19 in St Kilda
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habitat HQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitat HQ

Address: 333 St Kilda Rd | Corner of Blanche St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in St Kilda
Price Range: $58 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Habitat HQ 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habitat HQ is a Victorian Tourism "Hall Of Fame" and City of Port Phillip Business of the year 2014,budget accommodation and backpacker hostel located in St Kilda, Melbourne. Options available from 4, 6, 8 & 10 bed dorms to private double and triple rooms with en-suites. Free breakfast, free WiFi, large kitchen, lounge, TV room, outdoor courtyard, Cheap and secure car parking with 24 hour reception. We specialize in providing budget accommodation for international and domestic travelers and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Habitat HQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitat Hq Hotel St Kilda
Habitat HQ St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing