We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little corporate, a lot bar-like”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BASE Backpackers St Kilda
New York, NY
Level Contributor
333 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“A little corporate, a lot bar-like”
Reviewed November 17, 2008

I found Base to be more of a "corporate" hostel, as opposed to offering helpful, flexible customer service. For example, during my three day stay, I asked if they loaned or rented alarm clocks out since mine had just broken two days before the end of my trip, and they offered to loan me one as long as I left my ID card (not a great option since I can't afford to have it misplaced or left) OR left $50 with them. Also not a terrific option. I ended up electing to just go buy one for $15 or $20.

Another example - the hostel advertises free airport transfers on their website, but they actually only offer free transfer TO the hostel from the airport. You're on your own for the return trip to the airport.

I stayed in the girls' Sanctuary on the top floor. It was blessedly far removed from the lobby, which turns into a full-on bar in the evenings. I don't think they allowed smoking inside the building, but it didn't matter since the sliding glass doors frequently open, allowing all the cigarette smoke being generated two feet from the entrance to drift inside constantly. I am not sure it would smell worse if they allowed smoking directly inside the lobby.

They also served alcohol and had bar games (pool, karaoke, etc) in the lobby at night. A proportion of the guests seemed to like this benefit, but I would rather have a quiet hotel lobby without the smoke. The lobby is where all the computers are situated. There are plenty of them, and they were fast. But it was rather unpleasant to use them amidst the smoke in the evening.

The Sanctuary rooms were okay - a little shabby given my expectations about the "sanctuary" but adequate. The first storage drawer I was going to use had something sticky and liquid spilled in it, so I switched drawers. There were 6 people/beds in my room and no personal lights at the bedside, so I was both on the 'turning the lights on to get ready for bed/ready for the day while everyone else was asleep' side of things AND the 'having the lights turned on while I was asleep at night/in the morning' side of things. Personal bedside lights would go a long way.

The bathroom was fine and clean, though since each room (with 6 girls) shared an attached bathroom (there were no communal baths in the halls that I could find), there was some coordinating to be done as far as schedules.

So that covers the rooms, the bathroom, the lobby, computers, front desk. There was also a tour-booking desk right in the lobby, which was convenient but also a bit corporate. I felt a little like I was hustled every time I interacted with the front desk/tour staff.

However - the big plus of this place was the location. It is not in downtown Melbourne, if that's important to you, but the tram ride into town was very quick and the trams ran often. I never waited more than 5 or 10 minutes for one to come (and that was when I was downtown coming back), and more often it was a 1-2 minute wait. But St. Kilda is adorable and charming. There are lots of small restaurants and bakeries, plus plenty of little shops. It's a true neighborhood, so there are lots of dogs walking on leashes too, if you're into animals like I am. Plus, you're close to the beach and the boardwalk, which is lovely.

I would definitely stay in St. Kilda again, but I do not recommend this hostel unless you're in college and into bars. Because that's basically the lobby scene after 5pm.

  • Liked — Location - St. Kilda is the best!
  • Disliked — Horrible cigarette smoke problem in bar-like lobby after 5pm
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank julie248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    119
    95
    50
    41
See reviews for
5
63
163
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2008

We stayed at Base in St. Kilda for four nights during our recent trip to Melbourne. It is a big modern hostel with a large reception area/common area and bar. We stayed in an ensuite double which was very spacious and clean. The shower was also very good. Each floor is secured by the use of key cards. These we used in the lift to gain access to your assigned floor.
The hostel is well located close to St. Kilda beach, restaurants and shops.
This is a good value and clean option in St Kilda. We even availed of the free BBQ!

  • Liked — Clean room, spacious bathroom
  • Disliked — Kitchen a little cramped and not to clean
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CiaraMuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2008

I stayed in the girl's sanctuary at Base for two nights and loved it. The sanctuary area was in a hall of only other all girls rooms and felt safe from the normal after hours hostel debauchery. The linens and bed were very nice and the bathroom within the room was clean, light filled and spacious. The bar downstairs had great drink deals and was a lot of fun and a great way to meet people. The first night when I didnt go to the bar I still fell asleep at about 9pm and didn't have problems sleeping. I was on the third floor, however, and if you're a light sleeper I might not suggest the 1st or 2nd floor. The kitchen area and tv area were clean as well. The location is GREAT! right off Acland street (the main street in St. Kilda) and about a 2 minute walk to the tram station that takes you right into the city. I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a great place to stay in St. Kilda/Melbourne area.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of rooms, bathrooms
  • Disliked — The staff was not particularly friendly (typical attitudes of staff in hostels).
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank puravidaLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2008

This hostel was recommended to me by others who stayed here and said it was great. I have found the staff to be very friendly, the atmoshpere is great, the location is fantastic and really cool bars nearby. I stayed in the Sanctuary which is the girls dorms, they are sectioned off from the rest and have so many additional extra's! Tea in bed on a Sat/Sun morn, en-suite bathrooms, hairdryers in every room, towels, shampoo, comfy beds and feather pillows etc. There is even use of hair straighteners if you want to. It's a really comfortable place and I wish I could've stayed longer!

  • Liked — The rooms are comforable and safe, very friendly too
  • Disliked — The bed height between the bunks is a little bit too low. Can't really sit on the bed properly which is a bit pants when you're chatting, but very comfy to sleep on!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissyt25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Base is lively, clean and modern with good facilities. i stayed in a 10 dorm- mistake far to many people. however it was en-suited which made a nice change. the bar was very good but the kitchen was far too small for the number of guests. i stayed during the tennis open and did not have a problem with noise even though the hostel was full.
base is a very good hostel but expensive compared to others. if you dont mind paying to guarentee reasonable accomodation, just not a 10 dorm!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank ysarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2007

I stayed there over a busy time in December, in a double room ensuite. The room is new, but very small. Security & staff are good.

However, the noise levels in the room were incredible, because parties downstairs were going on until 2am almost every night. Even on early nights, there was noise from fellow travelers, who were talking loudly in the corridor at the middle of the night.
Also the room is not cleaned during the period.

Probably doesn't worth more than 1.5 stars, so gave 1.
Don't recommend. Add another 15$ and stay in a hotel.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank kangarooInAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St Kilda hotels

Frankfurt
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2007

We stayed in the "luxury" two-person ensuite room for some days. First of all, you should not go there if you are very sensitive to noise, since there are parties in the bar downstairs every day of the week and it can be clearly heard. The room was not clean, especially the carpet. The bed and bathroom were OK but not as clean as you would expect it for the price (we paid 99 AUD/night).
The location however is good, you have nice shops and pubs nearby and can go to the city centre by tram.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank crazybeavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.0 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Habitat HQ
Habitat HQ
#1 of 18 in St Kilda
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BASE Backpackers St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BASE Backpackers St Kilda

Property: BASE Backpackers St Kilda
Address: 17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BASE Backpackers St Kilda 2*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BASE Backpackers St Kilda offers the best in high quality Budget St Kilda accommodation. With a range of small and large mix dorms, private Queen Rooms and the exclusive Girls only Sanctuary dorms, we have a room for all fun loving budget conscious travelers, we are the closest hostel in Melbourne to the iconic St Kilda Beach & have the PUMPING Red Eye Bar on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your BASE Backpackers St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Hotel St Kilda
BASE Backpackers St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing