We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Backpacker Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BASE Backpackers St Kilda
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Backpacker Hostel”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed at this hostel in march 2014 and we both really enjoyed our stay. We were there for 7 nights.

The place has a good atmosphere and is lively with a good busy bar in the evenings. It can be quite noisy from lots of drunk people coming in/going out we were in the room right above the front door although this didn't really bother me that much light sleepers/ people who go to bed early may want to bring earplugs or don't stay in a room above the front door.

Its a great hostel if you want to meet people, enjoy having a few drinks in the bar etc. The staff are really friendly and helpful.

The kitchen was pretty dirty and lacking in equipment there never seemed to be any forks, cups, glasses, bowls. Plates/ pots etc were always dirty because there was never any cloths or washing up liquid to clean them with so even tidy guests couldn't really keep the kitchen clean. I saw people using the drying up towels to wipe the floor!! There were plenty of cleaners cleaning the rooms but i never once saw anyone cleaning the kitchen and if they did they didn't do a very good job.

For people who don't know Melbourne this hostel isn't in the centre its in St Kilda which is a nice enough area of Melbourne but we did end up spending a lot on money on the trams getting to and from the centre most days.

I would defiantly recommend this hostel to other backpackers and I would be happy to come back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zoe845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for leaving us a review. We appreciate all comments :-)

It sounds like you pretty much enjoyed your stay which is what we aim for!

Here at base we see the cleanliness and functionality of our communal kitchen as a huge priority. Did you know we clean this area 6 times a day? 5am it gets a thorough clean by professional cleaners, 10am, 2pm, 6pm and 10pm by the day staff, and then again at midnight by a volunteer. We admit that despite signage and warnings, sometimes with the number of guests using the kitchen all at once, the mess can build up – especially if people “forget” clean up after themselves!

The communal kitchen is an area that is a challenge for many hostels, as it is difficult to watch over people constantly. However base generally does an excellent job and able to keep this area clear and accessible at all times.
We wish to say sorry that we were not able to reach the standard you were expecting on this occasion.

I hope the next time you stay at St Kilda or other bases properties that we are able to leave a fantastic impression. We hope to see you in the near future!

Best Regards & Happy Travels,

BASE CREW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    122
    96
    51
    41
See reviews for
5
66
164
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This hostel is well located if you're looking to be out of the hustle and bustle of the city.St Kilda is full of independent shops and cafes. It costs about $7 return to get in to the city by tram.
It is quite noisy due to having a bar downstairs, there are good value offers on every night for food and drinks (although the food isn't that great) and every night has something different going on.
The rooms are averagely priced considering they all have en suite bathrooms. The Sanctuary girls only rooms offer free champagne every night, towels, toiletries and tea/coffee at the weekend if you're willing to pay a little more.
The staff were all really friendly and willing to help.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loti18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi There,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor :-)

We appreciate all feedback given and it sounds like you had a good time with us which is what we aim for!

We hope to welcome you back to Base St Kilda or another Base hostel in the future.

Best wishes and safe travels,

BASE ST KILDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights last week. Mon - Thu. It was 8 female dorm. Very noisy place. I would not recommend anybody staying here. Maybe good for people who come to Oz to party and sleep all day then, but if you want to explore and get to bed before 12am I would suggest explore other options. Also some facilities are in bad way, kitchen and ironing....Serious health hazard.

Location is the only good thing about this place and the we got good price.

Room Tip: make sure to book private room ...never a dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrlandeRussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Melbourne, St Kilda. We appreciate you taking the time to compete an online review, we value your comments submitted.

I noticed in your response that you noted that the noise from the Bar affected your stay with us which is disappointing.
Although our in-house bar can be lively and patrons come to party hard this should not have impacted on your sleep.
We have made a number of changes to reduce sound spilling into accommodation areas. These include a state of the art sound system, sound proofing, and decibel reading though a hand help monitor during the night.

We wish to apologise that noise from the bar area may have impacted on your stay.
I hope that the next time you stay at this or another Base property you will encounter a more restful night. We hope to welcome you to this or another Base property in the near future!
Best Regards & Happy Travels,

BASE CREW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for about 5 weeks. After 4 months in Australia, by far the best hostel I've been too. The rooms are decent and lockers provided for all occupants. The staff are friendly and helpful... Just don't be in the party room! The free activities are really good and the food deals are great. Rooms are cleaned really well providing everyone uses their drawers but a bit annoying that the cleaners prop the doors open for about an hour while they do it and u have 4 or 5 people going in and out. Bad points, mostly the Sunday $5 roast dinner... Sounds like a good shout huh, WRONG! Starts at 6.30 and sold out by 6.32 to all the staff and an occational visitor. This happened 3 out of the 5 weeks I was there. Also they advertise $13 bottles of wine on a Monday but it's actually $15, not a big deal but false advertising really bugs me. All in all a very enjoyable stay and I made some good friends here, very easy to get involved in the party.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay - it's exactly what we aim for!

We appreciate any feedback given and we will increase the Roast portions so that everyone can get involved! We're also in the process of changing all signs that do not have the correct details on them.

We hope to welcome you back to Base St Kilda or another one of our Base properties.

Best wishes and safe travels,

BASE CREW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanstead Abbotts, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed in base for about 5 days over about a week, the main aspect of this hostel is the night life, there is always something going on in the night!
I stayed in a 4 bed hostel was $40 a night but you have a private bathroom just for your room and it was all very clean and tidy.
The only downside is your not supposed to bring your own alcohol in as they have their own bar in the hostel
The hostel gets very busy to book in advance!

I would stay here again if i came to St Kilda

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie_Fresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review for us. We appreciate all feedback given.

We're thoroughly pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! It's exactly what we aim for.

We hope to again welcome you back to Base St Kilda or another Base property.

Best wishes and safe travels,

BASE CREW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This was the first hostel we stayed in, in Australia. I booked it based on the reviews and the location although it was probably the most expensive hostel we stayed in throughout our trip. We stayed in the Sanctuary which was actually quite nice, You have to go through a seperate door and there are about 4-6 rooms in here each with bunk beds in. We got our own private shower and toilet and we got given a towel and toiletries. The rooms and bathrooms were clean although the rooms were quite small for 6 people. This is definitely a party hostel, even the locals around St Kilda come here for a night out. The staff are friendly and helpful and we used the shuttle bus to the airport. If you are looking to meet people and party then this is the place to be!

St Kilda itself is pretty cool! The shops there are the best shops i visited in Australia, quite pricey but nice and quirky! I wish i had more time in St Kilda!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlover117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi there!

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate all feedback.

It seems like you enjoyed your stay with us which is exactly what we like to hear!

We hope to welcome you back to Base St Kilda or another Base property in the future.

Best wishes and safe travels,

BASE CREW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed in Base for 4 nights but wasn't as impressed as I thought I would be. Heard many good things about the Hostel however, I could take it or leave it.
Stayed in a 8 then 10 bed dorm (8 dorm was $40 which is pretty expensive!) and the rooms didn't seem that clean. One morning there was glass on the carpet what someone must have brought in from theirs shoes, I cleaned it up straight away before the cleaners to save an accident. I came home that evening and the room hadn't been hoovered, so was a good job I did!! The bathrooms are anything flash and the walls are pretty thin! The sanitary bin STANK! And clearly hadn't been emptied for days and days, which is pretty gross.
Beds are pretty good, and I liked that you had lockers under them.
The food in the bar was amazing, ate there a few nights. GET THE WINGS! And was offered a free bottle of Trevi one evening, don't get that in alot of places :)
I wouldn't recommend this place if your not out to party (we were unaware) You can hear the music from your room until early hours, I have to put in ear plugs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EveryonewantstheD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi there!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us! We appreciate all feedback given.

We're upset to hear that we did not exceed your expectations of us. During our summer months our prices do go up - however we do provide many free activities like yoga, run club, daily tours and games in the bar.

Regarding the cleaning - we have communicated with our house keeping team to ensure a situation like yours does not arise again. We appreciate you cleaning it up yourself however, feel free to tell Reception and we can come do it for you as well - day or night :-)

Other than that it seemed like you enjoyed your stay with us which is what we like to hear. We hope to again welcome you back to Base St Kilda or another Base property in the hopes we can exceed your expectations of us.

Best wishes and safe travels,

BASE CREW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.0 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Habitat HQ
Habitat HQ
#1 of 17 in St Kilda
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BASE Backpackers St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BASE Backpackers St Kilda

Property: BASE Backpackers St Kilda
Address: 17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BASE Backpackers St Kilda 2*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BASE Backpackers St Kilda offers the best in high quality Budget St Kilda accommodation. With a range of small and large mix dorms, private Queen Rooms and the exclusive Girls only Sanctuary dorms, we have a room for all fun loving budget conscious travelers, we are the closest hostel in Melbourne to the iconic St Kilda Beach & have the PUMPING Red Eye Bar on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your BASE Backpackers St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Hotel St Kilda
BASE Backpackers St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing