We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for travellers who value sleep or want ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Base Backpackers St Kilda
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The place was heaving in more ways than one when we arrived at midnight off our plane. It looked like a night club when we arrived as many many young people spilled out on to the street as they queued to get in to the bar at Base. The bouncer helpfully parted the crowds so we could get in. Traveller tip: if you are horrified that the receptionist is wearing a camisole and knickers at your accommodation, then this will not be the place for you. However this made more sense when the poster on our bedroom door revealed that Thirsty Thursday is 'Wet t-shirt and wet jocks night'.
My sister shouted to the guy at reception that we would like a quiet room, wishful thinking that he smirked at.
The room itself was a clean but musty smelling bunk room with ensuite, as luck would have it directly looking over the throbbing bar and dj. The bunks are the kind that are so low you can't sit up in them. As there are no seats in the room, you would have to perch on the top bunks or sit on the floor.
The noise quiet ended down at 3 or 4 am. We did get ear plugs on request!
The next morning staff were not surprised that we asked for a refund, three mums on holiday from their little kids do not fit in at a place like this. People in their teens and twenties will enjoy hanging out at Base however, what a party zone. St Kilda is a great spot.
We were told that for our four night stay we could be refunded the last two nights and if the coming night our room was filled by other travellers who came in we would not be charged for that either. When we popped back to pick up our luggage we saw our room was being used. The refund has not come through on my account yet but I was told it might take around a week, I await with interest. I did appreciate their flexibility with us.

Room Tip: Do not travel here if sleep is a priority.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChChLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 478 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

we have been there for one night, in a double bed room.
the room had bathroom, tv air conditioner.
everything was clean.
we enjoyed the party downstairs, where there is a bar, discounted drinks, a lot of young people coming also just for the party.
the staff is very good, helpful, and smiling.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papero83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hostel seem to focus on young people looking for work in Melbourne in the day and partying in the night. If that is what you are looking for, they do a really good job at it (good atmosphere and lot of activities). If not, you should probably go somewhere else!

Room Tip: As the bar is on the ground floor, you should look for rooms at 2-3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kopfli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASESTK, Manager at Base Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Hi There,

we are sorry that BASE St Kilda was not to your liking? while we do have a lot of younger travelers with us on Work & Travel Visa's, we also work really hard to make a safe, FUN, clean environment for all travelers,

all the best in your future travels,
BASE Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Base has a great setup and some the best rooms I've stayed at in a hostel. It's clean (housekeeping cleans the rooms every day, be aware of that when trying to sleep in), nice bathroom in the rooms, ping pong and pool downstairs, laundry/kitchen/TV in basement, and a fun bar. The location is literally a two minute walk to Acland St. with all of its restaurants and shops, and only 5 minutes (if that) from Luna Park, the beach, and the trams. Wifi is reasonably priced too at $12 for a whole week.

There are activities going on every night at the bar- bingo, pub quiz, free barbeque, free pancake night, and massive bar night on Thursdays. Despite this, my biggest compaint is that the hostel doesn't feel very communal. There are too many people and not one particular area where everyone hangs out, so I didn't really meet anyone who wasn't in my own room, and for this reason Base does not make my list of top hostels. Another negative is the price- definitely expensive. Also, since they want you to spend money at the bar, you can't openly bring alcohol up to your room. You technically aren't allowed to have your own and so don't let them catch you in the middle of a party.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a great party hostel! With a bar downstairs, do not expect to get a quiet experience staying here. But if you are looking to party and meet people it's great.
The beach is a five minute walk, there is a tram stop nearby to get you into the CBD.
If you are there long term - there is a library 10-15 minutes up the road where you can get access to free internet/wifi if you get a membership, which takes 5 minutes.
The food at the hostel is good and cheap. The theme nights are brilliant. Thursday's are the best!
The quiz night and bingo are also great fun.
The cleaners came in to our room every day - which is good for cleanliness but not great when you are trying to sleep off your hangover.
I would definitely go back to Base St Kilda.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor - which i felt was better to be away from the noise downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Good stay here. The place is new or at least very recently renovated. Large clean reception, efficient staff. Room had aircon and the dorm was ensuite. They are very security conscious here too.

It is noisy at night as the hostel bar is very popular and busy. They have themed nights etc if that is your thing, it was certainly a very social hostel and would be good for a solo traveller as well as groups.

Would stay here again if I visited St Kilda. Was also pleased to see that unlike other hostels, they were not cashing in on the Australian Open being on and hiking up the prices considerably. Shame on the ones that went to 40 bucks + for an 8 bed dorm!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hostelhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Fantastic, helpful staff. Great location near Acland Street. My partner and I asked for and were given the "quietest room they had", which was room 303, on the top floor. The room was ok, but stuffy. We could open the door to the shared balcony, but that let in a lot of noise from Carlisle Street. The bathroom was large and clean. The room had no where to hang anything. The queen sized bed was pushed aginst a wall which made it difficult to access. The nightclub on the ground floor is super noisey, and finishes up around 12.30, but the patrons leaving the venue scream and yell until about 1.30am. It would be a good place to stay if you just wanted to party, but don't expect to get much sleep at all. Secure car parking under the building is available for $10 per night.

Room Tip: Don't expect a good nights sleep. even in the "quietest" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank contact_wayneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.0 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
0.3 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.5 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#9 of 19 in St Kilda
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.3 mi away
Habitat HQ
Habitat HQ
#1 of 17 in St Kilda
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summer House Backpackers
Summer House Backpackers
#3 of 17 in St Kilda
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Backpackers St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers St Kilda

Address: 17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in St Kilda
Price Range: $29 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Backpackers St Kilda 2*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BASE Backpackers St Kilda offers the best in high quality Budget St Kilda accommodation. With a range of small and large mix dorms, private Queen Rooms and the exclusive Girls only Sanctuary dorms, we have a room for all fun loving budget conscious travelers, we are the closest hostel in Melbourne to the iconic St Kilda Beach & have the PUMPING Red Eye Bar on site with live music, DJs and amazing food 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Backpackers St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Hotel St Kilda
Base Backpackers St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing