We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your wallet, Dont expect much sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BASE Backpackers St Kilda
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bring your wallet, Dont expect much sleep”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Location is everything, right in the heart of saint kilda a few minutes from everything and half hour from downtown by tram. Facilities are nice, clean rooms with ensuite and great security. Staff are great. The only problem I had was with my bank account, this place has a strict no byo, they have a small bar downstairs and they do everything possible to get you there buying drinks. Every night the whole ground floor turns into a night club, its a great party if your into it, but if not your out of luck, cause theres nowhere to hide and the music goes straight through the walls. Theres no outdoor area in the hostel, only places to hang out are the kitchen and the bar, theres a small room for smokers but after 8pm it closes and they chuck all the smokers out onto the street. This is a party hostel, I lasted about a week before exhaustion set in and I had to find somewhere else to catch up on sleep.

Room Tip: Higher floors get less noise from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dead_Pandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    119
    95
    50
    41
See reviews for
5
63
163
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The moment we walked in the door we realised it was going to be a fun stay. When checking in the receptionist showed us around the hostel, told us everything about what facilities they had and made us feel really welcome.

We had a private room which was fine in size, with a private bathroom. The bathroom was extremely clean and so was the room. Bed was extremely comfortable.

The bar downstairs is great for some cheap drinks and the people that frequent the hostel are friendly and great to have a drink with.

Couldn't fault anything about the stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poscarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

On first glance very good hostel, looks clean, I stayed in the sanctuary rooms which are card access only, but stayed in the smallest room, the only thing I would say is there isn't a lot of room when there is 6 people in them, especially when they aren't the tidiest of people, and when reception were informed it still didn't happen until 3 days later which wasn't a great improvement. The staff are very friendly and helpful, always in the party mood, there is a bar on site which is really good if that's what you want otherwise very noisy at night and doesn't stop till around 0230am. But generally good, if you want peace and quiet book somewhere else, has very good food offers. Cooking facilities and laundry with television room onsite which is good. Location to st kilda is right near the Main Street for main city centre trams serve it well and there is a night rider bus for late night. The only real problem I had was the height of the bunk beds, if your staying on the bottom bunk, there isn't enough room to sit up you have to lay down as they are too low, this could do with rectifying, I kept banging my head and try to get a room that doesn't have messy roommates in it, that can't be bothered to clean, it does make a difference especially if your here for a long time. Although staff on reception and travel desk very helpful!

Room Tip: Stay in the sanctuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amiejsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Not cheap. The base is in a good position near the main st in st. Kilda close to the beach. internet connection expensive and slow, 10 dollar a day for parking!
They don't change the quilt
Habitat Hq give u for free. I been in there and its better than base you have also a small gardend free wifi!! And its more clean!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bostonj85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The best hostel ever! I spend a month in base and it was excellent! The hostel is more a design hotel just with shared room. Every day they clean the bathroom and the room. St.Kilda is a very good spot in Melbourne, the beaches are 2 min away from the hostel and bars, restaurants and club just around the corner. The bar from the hostel do theme night every night, sometime the music and the peoples can be too loud. Base is one of the expensive hostel in town, but is worth it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Me and my wife stayed here for 5 nights in July. We had an awesome time here. The staff are amazing, every time you walk into the building you are greeted with happy smiley face's. Everyone goes out of their way to make you very welcome. We had a private en-suite room and every night we slept very well. No matter what was happening in the bar, we could not hear it. on the nights we did go into the bar for a drink we were made to feel very welcome, despite being a little older than the normal patrons. We loved the "boozy bingo"! The rooms were spotlessly clean and the kitchen was very well equipped. Great location too. What more could you want? My top tip for Melbourne. Very easy to get into the CBD from here too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The best backpackers i have ever stayed in. my girlfriend and i were there for a week and every memeber of staff got to know us and became good friends. security is top notch as there are swipe cards to get into the accomodation area. the bar downstair is always livly nomatter what night with live bands and games to play and have fun. definatly recommended to anyone..
the best budget accomodation i have ever seen..

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.0 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Habitat HQ
Habitat HQ
#1 of 18 in St Kilda
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BASE Backpackers St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BASE Backpackers St Kilda

Property: BASE Backpackers St Kilda
Address: 17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BASE Backpackers St Kilda 2*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BASE Backpackers St Kilda offers the best in high quality Budget St Kilda accommodation. With a range of small and large mix dorms, private Queen Rooms and the exclusive Girls only Sanctuary dorms, we have a room for all fun loving budget conscious travelers, we are the closest hostel in Melbourne to the iconic St Kilda Beach & have the PUMPING Red Eye Bar on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your BASE Backpackers St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Hotel St Kilda
BASE Backpackers St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing