We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“base backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Base Backpackers St Kilda
Reviewed September 27, 2007

This place isnt a proper backpackers its more of a hotel for flash packers.

I stayed in the girls sanctuary. I was brought a cup of tea in bed, champagne to our room at 7pm every night! I had free Aveda shampoo and fluffy towels-this pace is defo recommended for a detox and a pamper, but was expensive compared to other hostels it was $30 a night. Everyone enjoys being spolit though!!

The bathrooms were very modern and clean and the place had security locks in the lifts and every corridor.

There was a great internet access point downstairs but this was pricey and a fab bar where the party really got started!

Location was great, close to mcdonalds and the beach. Opposite Luna Park and the tram stops.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 475 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2007

stayed here while travelling round australia - loved the location of this place and the contemporary decor. st kilda has loads of cool cafes and interesting little shops as well as the crazy fun fair!
higher standard than normal for a hostel, great place to stay even if you are travelling on your own as there is always something going on down in the bar to get involved in.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank curlie_wurlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2007

Myself and a friend needed somewhere within our budget to stay down there for a weekend at the footy. When we arrived i was pleasantly surprised as the place is extreemly new, and the vibe as soon as you walk in is a positve one.

The facilities down staird are A+, plenty of internet access, kitchen is neat and tidy, the bar is absolutely fantastic 7 nights of the week, with its theme nights every night it gets everyone involved.

The rooms too were fantastic. We stayed in an 8 person dorm, and the beds were your standard size single bunks, but matress was great. With secure drawers which can fit an entire suitcase in makes you feel secure to leave you stuf whilst doing the touristy thing.

Rooms cleaned every day, bathroom also. Staff were extreemly keen to lend a hand with any question about the Hostel and even all of Melbourne.

Have already planned my next trip to stay at this place! Loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BennyVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed here in December 06, in a private room with bathroom and TV. The room itself was very clean and modern, though both the room and bathroom were quite small & a bit dark. You only sleep in the room... It is a really good position with lots of things to do, eat and see nearby... and the tram basically at the door. There was a bit of noise from the niteclub inside the hostel which we could hear through the wall. Otherwise okay!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank brenda1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed February 10, 2006

We stayed here based on the fairly impressive web site. Unfortunately it wasn't up to much, especially considering the price. Later we stayed right in Melbourne city for $15 less in 4* accomodation. At $95 I's suggest you look around as there is plenty of better accomodation for couples in Melbourne.

The staff didn't make themselves particularly helpful, and seemed happier to bury their heads in the sand than deal with any complaint. The rooms were small and generally felt unclean (although the en-suite was fine). The carpet looks worn out and filthy.

To me it seems like a money making machine, and as I mentioned earlier there is far better,more spacious accomodation in Melbourne. Just go and look for it.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2005

a new clean backpackers hostel in a good location in st kilda. we stayed in a double room with TV and en-suite, it was small, but good value when travelling on a budget - would definitely recommend it for future trips

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob0018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2005

This hostel was of a high standard - much better than your average hostel - halfway between a hostel and a hotel.

Our room was of a good size - contemporary and clean. The bathroom was small, no bath but the shower was excellent.

The staff were friendly and very helpful - nothing was too much trouble.

It's an excellent base to explore St. Kilda and the rest of Melbourne, close to the bars, cafes and restaurants, and Melbourne City is only a tram ride away. Go for it!!

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sjdjw04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.0 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
0.3 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.5 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.3 mi away
Habitat HQ
Habitat HQ
#1 of 17 in St Kilda
629 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ritz for Backpackers
Ritz for Backpackers
#7 of 17 in St Kilda
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Backpackers St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers St Kilda

Address: 17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in St Kilda
Price Range: $28 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Backpackers St Kilda 2*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BASE Backpackers St Kilda offers the best in high quality Budget St Kilda accommodation. With a range of small and large mix dorms, private Queen Rooms and the exclusive Girls only Sanctuary dorms, we have a room for all fun loving budget conscious travelers, we are the closest hostel in Melbourne to the iconic St Kilda Beach & have the PUMPING Red Eye Bar on site with live music, DJs and amazing food 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Backpackers St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Hotel St Kilda
Base Backpackers St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing