We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deflated”
Review of The Local Taphouse

The Local Taphouse
Reserve with
The Local Taphouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 287 Restaurants in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Sister site of The Local Taphouse from Sydney, which is already listed on the site but is quite different.
Bargara, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Deflated”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Was expecting a great experience at this St Kilda institution, but after a Sunday lunchtime visit, left feeling rather deflated. Arrived to find the main ground floor bar closed, but stumbled on the upstairs area via the side entrance.

Greeted by the huge board listing today's beers, only to annoyingly find that each of my fist four tap choices were unavailable. Also, the service appeared slightly shambolic, but will put this down timing of our visit being at the end of a very successful 'Melbourne Good Beer Week' and as a result, the pub probably taking quite a hit.

The overall beer list is impressive, showcasing many specialist craft breweries, but the bottled selection is quite expensive. The extremely popular rooftop outdoor area is a great spot and the interior is also characterful. Our meals, when they eventually arrived, were of a satisfactory standard.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NickyP54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    25
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The way a pub should be”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is what the local pub should be. Not some glass and steel trendy place with music too loud to talk but a comfy place with booths and armchairs and quirky bar staff. There's a range of fantastic beers and tasty food and friends all around you who've popped in for a pint.

They have board games behind the bar ... which makes you think 'backpacker' but it isn't at all. It's full of locals hanging out and actually being social.

We went back twice in one week for the mussels. OMG, those mussels!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraInTheMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“One of the Best Bars in Melbourne”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Local Taphouse is one of the best bars in Melbourne, with an outdoor seating (heated during the winter months), great selection of tap and bottle beer, wine and spirits and casual and relaxed atmosphere. It has it's own indoor petanque field, weekly trivia and regular live music performances. For the best experience head upstairs.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoannaInAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Showed up for America Night”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Made an appearance here after hearing from some beer folks that it was the place to go. Upon arriving we were asked for a gold coin donation, for...AMERICA NIGHT, haha, this was going to be funny. It was still a little early but the bar was already decently filled. On tap they had all US beers, mostly from Cali but some from other states. I had hoped when I came that I would get a chance to try some AU craft beers but it wasn't meant to be here. Grabbed an IPA, something from Green Flash. We were hungry but the only thing on the menu was all "American"; bbq wings, hamburger, hot dog, etc. we grabbed wings and a hamburger (no cheese though, don’t they know us Americans like cheese?!). The wings were mediocre as was the burger but it filled us up. I grabbed another beer, a stout this time. Overall, the bar was pretty cool and you could tell as the night went on that this was a popular bar that seemed to attract the craft beer fans. I’d go back again if I was in town but would shoot to go during the day when I can sit back, relax, and enjoy some beers. **** Go, go, GO to the bottleshop too as I saw beers there that I saw no where else in AU, picked up several Cantillons. Prices were high but probably to be expected given the current beer scene there.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Level Contributor
365 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“All beers are Craft Beers you fool”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Service from male behind first floor bar left a lot to be desired sarcstic at best. Paddle of beers chosen was good by female employee not much more to say really.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TasmaniaLovesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Local_Taphouse, Owner at The Local Taphouse, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We aim for everyone to have a positive Taphouse experience and apologise this wasn't the case with your visit. We will do our best to ensure it doesn't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Local Taphouse also viewed

St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 
St Kilda East, Port Phillip
Balaclava, Port Phillip
 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The Local Taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing