We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Building”
Review of 28 Mary Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
28 Mary Street
Ranked #3 of 3 St Kilda B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 9, 2008

Like other reviewers, we also found Fountain Terrace to be an excellent choice. Our room was large and spacious, and, again as previously reviewed, Penny and Heikki were always helpful.

Personally we are not great fans of a communal breakfast table [perhaps we're just not 'morning' people] and breakfasts lacked fresh fruit, but the fact that these are our only adverse comments shows how good Fountain Terrace is.

It was nice to be in St Kilda, but only a tram-ride away from the city centre. All in all an excellent alternative to a 'standard' city centre hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 78 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2008

We have just returned from Melbourne. Staying at Fountain Terrace for 12 days. Penny and Hekki are wonderful hosts. Especially as I ended up in hospital. They helped my husband with the contacting of tour operators etc.

Fountain Terrace is a beautiful example of restored architecture, with period furnishing and fittings.

After staying in such lovely surroundings you wouldnt want to stay in a hotel again, just luxury.

Breakfasts are excellent, good quality food.

Staying in St Kilda this is an excellent location just off Fitzroy and the beach.

Not to be missed.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jan059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

Hunting for another Easter getaway location in St Kilda this year, we stumbled on the great reviews for Fountain Terrace on this site.

This is a renovated period terrace home with a colourful history. It has had its architectural features restored and decorated with various period themes. With high ceilings, ornate fixtures and comfortable bedding, our "Sidney Nolan inspired" room was quiet and breezy, with an open access verandah to sit out on. It had a simply finished ensuite with good heating/lighting and the usual tea/coffee/fridge, iron & TV/DVD; no phone but that added to the peace.

Breakfast included cereals and toast with a choice of hot dishes. Sharing the common dining table with a variety of guests from UK, NZ, Japan and Oz made for interesting morning conversation.

If bacon and waffles with maple syrup is likely to kill your holiday diet, then the complimentary access to the St Kilda Sea Baths & Gym is likely to come in handy - a short 10 min walk away and it is a fully functional gym and pool.

The B&B location is 2 blocks to Fitzroy St - easy access to convenience stores, trams and various St Kilda drinking holes & restaurants. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheQueenslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

The rooms are very comfortable. Good location. The owners (who also manage) are very friendly and knowledgeable. Often I stay at larger hotels - I found this boutique hotel to be a breath of fresh air. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Con_Thai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2008

From the first moment we met Penny we felt we had known her forever. The hotel is fabulous, they have done a wonderful job with the building. Penny and Heikki are very wam and friendly and it was a pleasure to have met them both. We would definitely stay here again, loved St. Kilda, we received great recommendations from them for Restaurants. We spent a fantastic 5 days and we can't wait to return.

Stayed: January 2008
Thank savblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

We booked this B&B very last minute having searched the internet for hotel accommodation in Melbourne that might have some character. We are so glad that we opted for this charming B&B instead, such better value for money than most hotels. It turned out that just staying here was probably one of the highlights of our trip to Melbourne, and Melbourne is a fun city! Penny, Heikki and Dennis the dog are the most welcoming hosts you could meet and from the moment you arrive you instantly feel at home. The house and rooms are beautiful. I cannot comment on breakfast as we slept through each morning...as I said Melbourne is a fun city. There is a fridge in every room and tea and coffee facilities and Penny will provide you with any crockery you might need. It was 42 degrees Celsius on one of the days we were in Melbourne so the quite aircon in the room was a definite bonus. We would wholeheartedly recommend the Fountain Terrace to all, truely boutique accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kierand74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

The Fountain Terrace is truly lovely. I sprang for the "Melba Suite" and was glad. It's the corner-suite at the front of the house, with the long terrace running alongside it, and you get, in addition to an unbelievably comfortable King-size bed in a spacious bedroom with very high ceilings, a small sitting area with couch, TV and a writing desk, and an immense bathroom with a deep soaker tub. The TV is very mod, and there's free internet access in the room if you have your laptop with you.

Breakfasts are fabulous -- you get a choice of hot and cold items, including a lovely fruit platter and omelettes that Heikki whips up on demand. I don't usually gush about hosts, but I have to say that Penny is truly welcoming, and really does make you feel right at home. And as the FT attracts a diverse, cosmopolitan crowd not only from Australia but from around the globe, there's always an interesting conversation to take part in at the breakfast table. I also really enjoyed staying in a real Melbourne neighbourhood rather than in a hotel in the Central Business District, and this particular neighbourhood comes with some serious plusses: not only oodles of restaurants and bars within a few minutes' walk, but also the hip-and-happening St. Kilda Sea Baths where you can go for a swim in the salt-water pool, get a water massage in the spa pool, and open up your lungs in the eucalyptus steam room (you get complimentary passes from Penny), and then (once you're all exercised, clean, and relaxed) do some people-watching from one of the several restaurants that are a part of the complex. (The vegetarian restaurant Soul Mama offers terrific views from its terrace, and the restaurant beneath it -- sorry! can't remember the name -- has really tasty food such as lamb-and-rocket pizzas and innovative cocktails such as the Granny Smith Mojito made with fresh juices and fruit.) You won't want to stay for just a single night, as you won't begin to enjoy the benefits of this lovely place. Treat yourself to a few nights, and luxuriate in having chosen such a lovely place from which to experience Melbourne.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Labonneviveuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.6 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
0.5 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.2 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
0.4 mi away
Sixty Two on Grey
Sixty Two on Grey
#12 of 19 in St Kilda
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 28 Mary Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 28 Mary Street

Address: 28 Mary St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia (Formerly Fountain Terrace)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St Kilda
Price Range: $175 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 28 Mary Street 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
28 Mary Street offers luxury bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of St Kilda. The B&B has recently been refurbished and sits in one of St Kilda's most beautiful, tree lined and quietest streets. 28 Mary Street is equidistant to St Kilda Beach and Albert Park, both within 300m from the front door. Featuring a stunning collection of artwork and retaining many original features throughout, the house offers an eclectic mix of antique and contemporary furniture. The Kingsize & Queensize bedrooms have comfortable luxury beds and bedding, ensuite bathrooms, TV and DVD, wireless internet, mini fridge, tea and coffee making facilities. An upstairs sittingroom is available for use by guests as is the secluded courtyard. A generous continental breakfast, home roasted coffee and a variety of teas are all included in the room rates. With three trams (16, 96 & 112) all within a short step from 28, Mary Street, Melbourne's most popular attractions and events are easily accessible. The cultural calendar includes events at The Wheeler Centre, The Arts Centre, numerous inner City theatres and galleries. The sporting calender, includes The Australian Open tennis championships, The Grand Prix, The Melbourne Cup Racing Carnival, Test Cricket & Australian Rules Football at The MCG, The President's Cup golfing championships in Hampton all of which are easily reached from 28, Mary Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your 28 Mary Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
28 Mary Street St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing