We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of 28 Mary Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
28 Mary Street
Ranked #1 of 4 St Kilda B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed here recently, and would recommend it highly. I travel extensively for work staying in '5 star' hotels, so wanted a change of style for this personal weekend in Melbourne. The house is beautiful, and if you are sick of the beige/generic visual decoration and furnishings in the chains, you will be impressed by the art. The hospitality from Catherine and Bob was warm and friendly, and their recommendations in terms of getting around Melbourne and local restaurants were spot-on. Breakfast was just right, lovely cereals, fresh fruit and yogurt, toast or croissant with home made jams, and repeat coffee to your order! We especially enjoyed sitting in the back-yard for extended breakfast in the spring sunshine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
47
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

My partner & I have just had a lovely weekend in Melbourne. Our 3 night stay here was stunning. Our hosts Catherine & Bob were very welcoming into their beautiful home. Everything from comfortable beds to there wonderful art collection, made it a memorable stay. Very well located for traveling to city centre, & a close walk to the beach. I would recommend 28 Mary st as a lovely place to stay, whilst visiting Melborne.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powwow67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I’ve always hated the lacy curtains, chintz and chenille bedspread décor of traditional B and Bs. 28 Mary Street offers something different and very classy. Superior comfort, genuinely warm hospitality from Catherine and Bob, both respected producers in the arts; theatre (her) and film ( him) have given them the experience to cast the right behind-the- scenes team who keep everything shipshape. Talking to either of them about the neighbourhood will give you a really solid local orientation that beats any guide book.

Best of all, apart from the quiet location only minutes from beach and tram to the city is an eclectic collection of Australian and international contemporary art scattered generously in the stylish guest rooms and public spaces. Bob is a willing and knowledgeable tour guide, if you want to know more about the pictures. There’s free wifi and outstandingly good coffee (another of Bob’s areas of expertise) in the cheery breakfast room . Catherine’s home made plum jam ( from trees at the couple’s second property on the Mornington Peninsula, worth booking for a weekend of coastal walks and wineries; see www.stayz.com.au/90429) is another seasonal bonus. Somehow, this place manages to feel very professional and very personal at the same time, a rare combination pulled off with flair and warmth in an award-winning performance.

Room Tip: The Red Room is the largest with generous sofa and flatscreen TV. Loved the electric blanket in win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

St. Kilda is a great place to be based for a stay in Melbourne, with access to nearby restaurants and nightlife, the beach, and public transport to the centre of the city. 28 Mary St is in a lovely quiet spot while being just blocks from the busy areas of Fitzroy St and Ackland St. The B&B is a lovely old (by Melbourne standards) Victorian house, with everything you could want - comfortable rooms, friendly hosts, and a tasty breakfast served whenever you want it (within reason).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbtcrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My wife and I are on the road for more than 9 month, have seen and stayed in so many B&B's and we just loved 28 Mary Street.
The rooms are cosy and very clean, the old Victorian home has its own nice atmosphere, the house is decorated with many unique art pieces.
The hospitality of Cathrine, Bob and crew was just amazing. The highlight of each day was to stand up, getting a breakfast with everything you wish to have on a breakfast table - we just loved the extraordinary coffee.
The B&B couldn't be positioned better - by foot you can reach the best cafés and a lot of nice restaurant. Catherine can always recommend a super delicious place for eating, she has an outstanding knowledge of the local cuisine. St. Kilda is a very nice area to stay (I say a new trendy area of Melbourne) and also the city centre can be reached within a resonable amount of time with the tram. What are you waiting for, 28 Mary Street gives you everything you need and want as a tourist with a special taste!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cako2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I'm picky about hotel rooms, but this was one of the best I've stayed in. Very comfortable beds, and very good airconditioning/heating. Small fridge in the room, and a good selection of cereals, with toast, coffee, tea and yogurt for breakfast. Catherine and Lorna were so helpful - accommodating our very early Great Ocean Tour start for breakfast, recommending restaurants, lending us silverware and plates so we could try all the new fruits we bought at the markets. And the location is great - right by the tram stop, and very close to literally dozens of restaurants, as well as the beach where the little penguins nest. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eek_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

What a wonderful bed and breakfast in St. Kilda, only a couple of blocks from the beach. 28 Mary Street must be one of the most beautiful streets in Melbourne--many Victorian Filigree homes. It was so great to arrive, on a 33 degree
summer day, into a beautifully air conditioned room. Catherine and Bob, your hosts, are very knowledgeable about the city. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jclarkebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.1 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 28 Mary Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 28 Mary Street

Property: 28 Mary Street
Address: 28 Mary St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia (Formerly Fountain Terrace)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 28 Mary Street 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
28 Mary Street offers luxury bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of St Kilda. The B&B has recently been refurbished and sits in one of St Kilda's most beautiful, tree lined and quietest streets. 28 Mary Street is equidistant to St Kilda Beach and Albert Park, both within 300m from the front door. Featuring a stunning collection of artwork and retaining many original features throughout, the house offers an eclectic mix of antique and contemporary furniture. The Kingsize & Queensize bedrooms have comfortable luxury beds and bedding, ensuite bathrooms, TV and DVD, wireless internet, mini fridge, tea and coffee making facilities. An upstairs sittingroom is available for use by guests as is the secluded courtyard. A generous continental breakfast, home roasted coffee and a variety of teas are all included in the room rates. With three trams (16, 96 & 112) all within a short step from 28, Mary Street, Melbourne's most popular attractions and events are easily accessible. The cultural calendar includes events at The Wheeler Centre, The Arts Centre, numerous inner City theatres and galleries. The sporting calender, includes The Australian Open tennis championships, The Grand Prix, The Melbourne Cup Racing Carnival, Test Cricket & Australian Rules Football at The MCG, The President's Cup golfing championships in Hampton all of which are easily reached from 28, Mary Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your 28 Mary Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
28 Mary Street St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing