We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit scruffy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Canberra
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A bit scruffy”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here several nights. Good location. The traffic on Inkerman St is challenging. Room itself was a bit drab and scruffy. The secondary lock on the door was broken. The toilet ran the whole time, despite being reported was not fixed. The place needs a bit of fresh air. There was a lack of power points - the only place to boil the kettle was in the bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mslaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    50
    28
    11
    9
See reviews for
34
35
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I booked a wotif.com 'Business Package'. This was for a standard room with an upgrade to a spa suite (if available), wifi and continental breakfast basket.

I was staying in the area as my wife was staying overnight in a nearby private hospital undergoing a medical procedure. This was the closest and more affordable place I could find with what was included at $165.

The day I arrived it was approaching midday, and although check-in time isn't mean to be until 2pm, I decided to drop in to check to see how on target we are with that time or if I could check-in early. I was told by reception that there's no room ready for me, quite understandable and I wasn't expecting it anyway. However I was then told my check-in would be closer to 4pm due to there being "some slow movers this morning". Looks like check-out times aren't really enforced here.

They did however offer to take any baggage I had with me, which I hadn't really. I was fortunate enough to not be in a position where I had to check in at a certain time. I returned after 4pm and checked into the room.

Obviously the place must have been rather full as I didn't get my spa suite upgrade. I was mildly disappointed but knew the terms of the deal. It just would have been nice. I ended up with the standard suite. Very standard I found and rather drab. The whole feel of it is just old like the TV, appliances and the furniture. Even the fridge looked like it was older than the building itself. My room contained a large bed (secretly two singles pushed together, that old trick) and a single bed. The bathroom was again basic, small shower, basin and toilet. Everything still looking very old and well used.

There was a small little private outdoor area with a table and chairs. More like a smoking area. This added some more pleasant feel knowing I wasn't locked into the room and had my own little nice space outside.

The breakfast basket was waiting for me in the fridge. It was satisfactory. The one problem I found was the appliances like toaster and kettle were there as usual, but the position of power sockets didn't allow them to be used anywhere other than in the bathroom. There's a set of double power points located next the the TV cabinet high on the wall but nothing underneath to put them on.

The location itself is on a main road but no traffic noise and the main building is set far back from the road. The car park is in between the building and the road, which is for guests parking. Although it's kind of tight for room but this could have been because of the place being so full when I stayed.

Quite a few guests staying I found as from about 9pm (their recommended time to keep noise down for other guests) the suite next door to me started up what sounded like a party with about 20 of them in there. Yes I could have complained but it didn't bother me too much, just thought it was a bit discourteous of them. What makes me wonder is if anyone noticed as our rooms were located quite close to reception and I could hear various people going in and out of that room all night.

It's quite a walk to anything where it is situated. Or catch a tram somewhere. It's right in the middle of residential with not much in the way of businesses around. But if you're keep, Chapel Street isn't too far away.

Room Tip: Pay more to get something other than just the standard suite. It might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TH_Geelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The only thing that one could criticise would be dicing with the traffic on Inkerman Street. In all other respects this strangely designed but wonderfully accommodating hotel is simply perfect for convenience of location, ease of access, straightforward facilities, spacious rooms and good value for money. I made the awful mistake of staying closer to St Kilda in 'Apartments Ink' recently and have since regretted my decision to be disloyal to the wonderful Quest East St Kilda.

Room Tip: A room facing east and backing onto the leafy backyards of East St Kilda provides beautiful, quiet m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed ta the Quest St Kilda for 2 nights, it was a nice comfortable sized room, probably a little overpriced, based on the location. It was a also a little hard to find - as we drove past it twice before noticing the small green sign amongst the green leafy fence.

If you don't have a car this is a less than ideal location to stay as it's quite a walk from anywhere except the odd pub or two, and being in a traditional Jewish area a lot of the shops close for the Sabbath. The parking situation is pretty poor. We ended up having to park our car on the street as there was some sort of seniors dinner on and all the parks were taken.
The furniture was a little run down, the decor quite dated and the terrace outside our room needed a sweep. The staff were polite enough but didn't really appear friendly or interested in going above and beyond.

Overall an ok place to stay, but I won't be rushing back in a hurry.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NurseEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

After reading some not so good reviews online I was a bit apprehensive about staying here. My partner and I spent one night in an executive suite with a spa. It was a very clean and tidy room, the spa was great! The service from staff on check in was pleasant. The pizza place that delivers straight to your room is a brilliant idea. The pool was gorgeous. The courtyard outside out room was nice and quiet and it was very quiet. Overall it was a great place to stay I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahj2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. It was quiet but the whole place needs a refurb. Our room got the morning sun and the only sun shade was heavy blackout curtains, partly coming off the rails which meant we either sat in darkness or with lights on, not very pleasant, no view. Carpet was stained and general appearance in the public rooms was that the decor was tired and needed some money spent on it.The buildings are modern and well built with glass atrium etc Reception staff were helpful. Fire alarm went off in the night & we found the fire exit was locked but have been told it will be rectified in a couple of days, also alarms did not go off in our rooms only in the corridor. Not good if you wear ear plugs!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We booked 2 rooms with one room with a foldout bed.
It was pretty tight but ok. Staff where great and tried to organize a bigger room when they found out we had a fold out bed in the double room. Indoor pool was great, spa didn't seem to heat up at all. A short walk away in Balaclava was fantastic cafes and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room if there is more than 2 of you staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank proundnewdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
1.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
1.6 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Kilda
234 reviews
1.6 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
432 reviews
1.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
1.6 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments

Property: Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Address: 441 Inkerman St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3183, Australia (Formerly Quest East St Kilda)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just 7kms from Melbournes CBD and close to Caulfield, Elsterwick, Brighton and Malvern. Close to public transport and situated on acres of landscaped gardens, we offer a range of accommodation options including Standard Rooms, Executive Spa Roomsand our spacious 1, 2 and 3 Bedroom Apartments. All of our rooms have cable TV and complimentary wireless internet access and complimentary car parking is available. Beautiful indoor heated pool and spa. Discounted rates are available for stays of 7 nights or more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing