We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some attention”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Needs some attention”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. It was quiet but the whole place needs a refurb. Our room got the morning sun and the only sun shade was heavy blackout curtains, partly coming off the rails which meant we either sat in darkness or with lights on, not very pleasant, no view. Carpet was stained and general appearance in the public rooms was that the decor was tired and needed some money spent on it.The buildings are modern and well built with glass atrium etc Reception staff were helpful. Fire alarm went off in the night & we found the fire exit was locked but have been told it will be rectified in a couple of days, also alarms did not go off in our rooms only in the corridor. Not good if you wear ear plugs!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    50
    29
    11
    10
See reviews for
35
35
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
canberra
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We booked 2 rooms with one room with a foldout bed.
It was pretty tight but ok. Staff where great and tried to organize a bigger room when they found out we had a fold out bed in the double room. Indoor pool was great, spa didn't seem to heat up at all. A short walk away in Balaclava was fantastic cafes and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room if there is more than 2 of you staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank proundnewdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Hubby and I stayed here as we needed overnight accommodation before heading to Cabrini Private Hospital. This was very convenient and only a short easy drive. Very quiet location, no neighbour room noise, comfy bed. We stayed in motel section and found the room clean and comfortable. It has an indoor heated pool but we didn't take a dip so cannot comment. Staff very helpful. Off street parking. Restaurant on site. This accommodation was ideal for our needs and when booked online, the price was excellent.
Not far from the massive Chadstone shopping centre, around the corner from Malvern Central or the boutique shopping in Prahan and St kilda.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiverinaLouLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Poor service,Over priced, bathroom clean to the eye but look a little closer dirty grout and little hairs in the shower. Baclcony with no chairs or table and unsafe for toddlers as we discovered the is a plant box they could climb with no proper safety barriers.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground level apartment for families staying with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St Kilda hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

this hotel is smack bang in the middle of a religious jewish neighbourhood with a synagogue and a kosher restaurant on the property

i stayed in a suite and it was big, spacious and tastefully f
urnished. the staff were helpful. parking is on the premises.breakfast is not served, although the hotel can make you a packet up

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

My daughter and I, as well as 2 other kids stayed here during a trip to Melbourne for a sports event that they were competing in. We had previously booked somewhere else, but it was completely inappropraite for kids.

The staff at the hotel were exceptionally helpful and calming after I had spent nearly 4 hours trying to find accommodation for 6 nights in an apartment in the St Kilda area and was stressed. They had a 1 bedroom apartment available with a pull out sofa in the loungeroom which sounded perfect.

We found the master bed very comfortable althought the sofa lounge matress was probably only suitable for kids and not adults.

The bathroom was bright and very clean. The only thing was, it looked like it had a spa which we were excited about, but it definately did not operate anymore so we made good use of the indoor pool and spa which were great after a long day out.

The heating in the apartment was thermostatically controlled and looked fairly new, although it was in the main loungroom and kitchen and did get a bit chilly in the bedroom overnight.

I found the outside patio from our room a nice place to chill and have a coffee while the kids enjoyed some easy access to fresh air.

The internet charges very reasonable being able to purchase either a download amount or a timed amount without download restrictions. The connection and speed were great.

There is a restaurant on site, but seemed very expensive just for a burger. There is a menu in the room from a local Pizza and Pasta place which delivers and then they will charge back to your room. What a great service and great food!!!!

There was a full kitchen with dishwasher, microwave, hot plates and oven. The fridge was a small bar bridge and was not in the main part of the kitchen but in a small part of the loungeroom. The 1st night was a bit annoying with the noise of it going on and off but the kids got used to it after that.

We had no problems with getting a car park each day when we returned and most of all we found it very quiet and peaceful.

Definately will stay again next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideFamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brest, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

I stayed in that place for tens days, first in an apartment then a regular room (much cheaper...). The apartment was very nice, perhaps a tad drab in its decoration, but pleasantly furnishe, roomy, and with a suitable range of amenities. The "spa" apartment was much the same but consists of only one room. There are micro-wave ovens in a room near the pool, and coin-operated laundy, each room and apartment has a nice shared patio. All in all, a pleasant stay and extremely helpful staff (my cab did not show up to take me in the morning, the reception desk employee took me in her car as she would have for a friend). Very quiet. All in all very recommended if you have to be in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alceste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
1.6 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
446 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
1.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
246 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apartments Ink
Apartments Ink
#7 of 19 in St Kilda
286 reviews
1.6 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments

Property: Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Address: 441 Inkerman St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3183, Australia (Formerly Quest East St Kilda)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just 7kms from Melbournes CBD and close to Caulfield, Elsterwick, Brighton and Malvern. Close to public transport and situated on acres of landscaped gardens, we offer a range of accommodation options including Standard Rooms, Executive Spa Roomsand our spacious 1, 2 and 3 Bedroom Apartments. All of our rooms have cable TV and complimentary wireless internet access and complimentary car parking is available. Beautiful indoor heated pool and spa. Discounted rates are available for stays of 7 nights or more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing