We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time lucky............”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nomads St Kilda Beach
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“3rd time lucky............”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The coffee palace certainly is not a palace nor does it serve coffee, but it does not mean it isn't an awesome place to stay. This is the 3rd time I have been back in 2 years and each time I have had an amazing experience. Staff are friendly and helpful. This time I returned, I was struggling for work and without the girls in the travel shop help me find work I would have had to fly home 3 months ago! Sure its not the most modern but i have met friends for life staying here.

Room Tip: Pick the top rooms pay a little extra but its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesH969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    37
    18
    35
    88
See reviews for
3
38
70
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

This place is disgusting. The beds are awful, the showers are barely working and the place stinks. The kitchen is dirty with flies and dirty tea towels all over the place. $29 a night is a rip off and I strongly advise anyone not to stay at Coffee Palace, it is anything but a palace. STAY AWAY BACKPACKERS.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliverswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St Kilda hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

When I read the other reviews before I left England I did not want to stay here; but on arrival I met loads of really friendly people. I have stayed here over a month now and I have never been able to say a bad word about any of the guests or staff members. Would diffidently recommend the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidwharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Would strongly suggest not to stay here!! I was really badly bitten by bed bugs, and when told the reception they were highly rude and unhelpful. Good location but not worth getting bitten and having to wash all of your clothes!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ekeyworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Its a nice place to meet people, yeah its a bit old, but who cares? The rooftop is chilly, the staff nice and nowhere else can u get pancakes as breakfirst in a hostel.

St kilda is the best place to stay in melbourne, u have everything close and in to the cbd its only a 20minutes ride with the tram

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ruben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed two nights in a 10 share dorm with 15 people sleeping in it (yep, extra people sleeping on the floor,who weren't paying to be there. SAFE!), and reception didn't care! It looked like the room hadn't been cleaned in over a year with garbage and crap everywhere! The room had an ensuite bathroom, which again looked like it had never been cleaned (the sanitary disposal bin was overflowing! and the sink was covered in grime and dust). It was very loud with music blaring all night and drunk people being loud and drunk (there are no quiet hours...). No air condition or ceiling fans in this one so it's impossible to try and sleep with the extreme heat and loud noise all night! As I was sharing a room with a bunch of other girls, the bathroom was never available to use, so I used the communal ones instead. The hostel claims they clean bathrooms 3 times a day,but if they do, they sure don't use any soap to do so! Just filthy, and the showers don't even drain - I was standing in a foot of communal shower dirtiness while trying to clean myself!

Room Tip: just don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

After our cab driver dropped us in a street that was crawling with hookers and having to fight our way through 30ish people sitting drinking, smoking, shouting and blocking the front door it was obvious this wasnt gonna be the ritz but what followed was worse!!!
Reception staff were awful, really could not be bothered to help and seemed more interested in getting back outside and drinking! We got given a key and sheets, no directions or information about the hostel or location at all.
The 8 bed dorm we were put in was dirty, smelly, cramped, over heated and had a window propped open by a broken fan, It wasnt clear what beds were free as they all had junk on them, had to ask the other guys in our room.
There was a constant flow of shouting, screaming, people having sex pretty much in any bed, drinking and drug use no matter what time it was!
The bathrooms were pure filth, over half the toilets didnt flush and the shower looked like it hadnt been cleaned since the place opened, they were trading cleaning for rent for some of the long time residents, who had all been drinking till 4am and could even stand at 7am let alone care about the standard of cleaning!!
I could go on all day but overall playing guess the stain and hope the toilet flushes is not my idea of a fun place to stay!!

Room Tip: Pick a different place to stay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.5 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.1 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.5 mi away
BASE Backpackers St Kilda
BASE Backpackers St Kilda
#3 of 18 in St Kilda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Habitat HQ
Habitat HQ
#1 of 18 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads St Kilda Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads St Kilda Beach

Property: Nomads St Kilda Beach
Address: 24 Grey St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia (Formerly Coffee Palace Backpackers)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Specialty Lodging in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads St Kilda Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
❤❤NEW MANAGEMENT AS OF 1ST OF MAY 2014❤❤ Free Wifi, Free meals Sunday - Thursday. Free freshly brewed coffee! The Coffee Palace is an institution when it comes to backpacker hostels in Melbourne. Located in the heart of St Kilda, the Coffee Palace offers the budget conscious traveler never ending memories. We insist that you must have loads of fun when staying at the Coffee Palace. We cater for all types of travelers. We have 8 bed dorms all the way down to 4 bed dorms both with and without ensuites. For the quieter type or couples, we also have twin, single and doubles available. Our rates are very reasonable, so as not to break the budget, therefor allowing you to get out and enjoy what this beautiful city has to offer. As well as spending some of your hard earned in our bar!! The bar is opened from 11am right through to 11pm. We are one of the longest serving hostels in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nomads St Kilda Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coffee Palace Backpackers Hotel St Kilda
Nomads St Kilda Beach Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing