We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Rydges St Kilda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rydges St Kilda
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
latrobe valley victoria
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

could not find anything to fault at this accommodation, very minor thing but a tv guide would have been handy.Very close to local pubs and restaurants etc luna park and the palais theatre are a short walk away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikepaynter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, Manager at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks for your review mikepaynter,

We're thrilled to hear that you had a faultless stay! Sorry you couldn't find a guide, we don't normally stock them in the rooms as you can access the guide via the remote, however we will check to ensure all rooms have clear instructions on this one.

Kind regards,
James Muscat
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    238
    128
    42
    31
See reviews for
54
277
47
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Great location on busy Fitzroy St - close to bars, restaurants, public transport and the beach. Very comfortable room. Good staff.

The bed (called the "Urban Snorer") is promoted as a "cloud of comfort", and that's a fair description.

Minor complaints: minibar is typically overpriced - $6 for a bottle of water, for example. And the view from the window was a dirty corrugated iron sheet and some pebbles - though it probably wasn't as unpleasant as it sounds. Also, the TV had Foxtel channels programmed into it, but they all showed error messages.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samdukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, Manager at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks for your review samdukes,

We're so pleased to hear that you had an all round enjoyable stay. It's hard not to when you are staying in the best spot in St Kilda! Thanks for the feedback about Foxtel too, we hope that one of our friendly staff were able to help you sort this out during your stay.

Kind regards,
James Muscat
Opearations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here on Good Friday and chose St Kilda because it's touristy and thought it had the best chance of things being open. They were.
We payed about $115 I think which is pretty reasonable when you're talking about a hotel in such close proximity to the beach, every amenity, shopping, trams, nightlife etc.
Our room was at street level and such meant we had a view of a brick wall from one window and a dodgy carpark from another.
The hotel itself was pretty basic; the room was small, though strangely the bathroom was huge by comparison. The bed was great, comfy and had nice linen but everything else in the room seemed cheap.
Water saving shower head meant I was really glad I didn't need to wash my hair but the bath was a spa so that was a nice touch even though we didn't use it.
We had free parking which was very much appreciated but I don't think this is the norm. Wifi was included though and I beleive that's standard.
The fancy shampoo etc that they harp on about on the website, not sure why they go on about it, they weren't very nice.
The room was nicely made up but there were hairs in the bath and on the bed so that was a bit gross.
The bar downstairs has the potential to be cool but they were playing 'Grease' when we walked by so decided to give it a miss.
Overall I'd say it suited us because we were just there for one night in between catching up with friends but It didn't feel ho,ely enough to make us want to go back.
Oh also, the 'gym', don't bother. It's literally one treadmill, one rowing machine and a bench with weights. The 'sundeck' next to it is a balcony about 2x2 metres with a rusty set of furniture - seriously dodgy.

Room Tip: See if you can ask for a room above ground level but it's only 4 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dibbers29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi Dibbers29,

Thanks so much for your review and choosing to stay with us during your Easter break. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great location and famously comfortable Urban Snorer bed.

We're sorry to hear that our Evo hair care products didn't live up to your expectations. It's also very disappointing to hear that you experienced an issue with your linen. Our linen is inspected at the laundry and again supervised prior to being made up on beds. I’d be grateful if you could kindly contact us on stay@hotelurban.com.au and let us know what name you booked under so that we can investigate this issue further.

It's a real shame that you missed out on visiting Mavis Brown's Bar which is quickly becoming a local favourite and a great spot to enjoy regular live acoustic music and DJ sessions. Thanks for you feedback about the gym too, our guests are also lucky enough to receive complimentary access to the nearby St Kilda Sea Baths which includes use of their impressive gym and a lap pool right on the waterfront. You should have been made aware of this at check in.

Thanks again for your feedback Dibbers29.

Kind regards,
James Muscat
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

As a former St Kilda resident (from many years ago), I know this area well and knew that Fitzroy St at night was 'lively' to say the least. When we arrived late on the Sat evening, the hotels adjoining bar was in full flow and quite rowdy sounding, I started to panic that the sound would carry through to our room too - thankfully it didn't!

We spent 3 nights here and really enjoyed our stay. The contemporary Urban hotel has unique little twists that make it that little bit special. The room was a good size and the bed was really comfortable. The Evo toiletries are great, as is the small guide book to the St Kilda area, we took advice on two restaurants from there and were not disappointed with either. If I was to fault anything it would be the lack of upkeep in the fixtures in the rooms/bathroom - the shelf in the bathroom had dropped, the washing line didn't work, the handles on the cupboards were wobbly.

The breakfast in the Hub café was excellent. The free use of the Macs in the lobby was great. The no.96 tram runs right outside the hotel.

We picked up the FAPAS (Frankston and Peninsula Airport Bus Service) bus leaflet from by the computers in the hotel lobby - but would not recommend them, they were over 45 mins late picking us up. Would have been quicker to take the tram to Southern Cross and get the Skybus.

At night, it can't be denied that Fitzroy street is a hive of activity and can be very very noisy, and during the day it's not the most salubrious areas of Melbourne. But we had no complaints and we would return to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mejo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, Manager at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
What a great review mejo09, thanks for choosing to stay with Hotel Urban as an ex St Kilda local!

We're thrilled to hear that your stay was such a positive experience and that you really enjoyed a restful night's sleep in our famously comfy Urban Snorer bed. It also sounds like you appreciated our extra little touches which includes Evo salon products and our plush Tie Me Up Tightly robes and Slow Down Slippers. We have been getting some great feedback about our in-room 'Know It All' guides with all of the info about the places to go that your run-of-the-mill tourist guides won't tell you about – so glad that you found it to be a useful read.

Sorry to hear that you had a few little glitches with items in your room, if you would like to email us at stay@hotelurban.com.au and let us know what name that you booked under, our maintenance team will look into this.

Thanks again for your feedback mejo09, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
James Muscat
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had high hopes for our first stay in St Kilda in a trip adviser winning property but were very disappointed by our stay which was more budget than boutique. The room was actually quite lovely and large and we received an upgrade to a spa room, although there was no bath plug for the bath so didn't get to enjoy it. The towels in the room were ripped at the edges and had holes in them, and on the second night we had no hot water for a period. We get that things go wrong but receptions response when we rang was that we'd just have to wait as they were looking at it. There was no call to say it was working again or apology. The TV didn't work properly and although when we asked about this someone did come and look at it they couldn't fix it, and despite saying they would get someone to fix it the following day we heard nothing and it remained unfixed. Every morning, at 7am a terrible rumbling noise from the floor above woke us up and reception informed us they didn't know what it was and didn't make any effort to help. Despite our numerous issues throughout our stay we weren't asked about our stay when we checked out or offered any apology.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BunyipJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, Manager at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi BunyipJr,

Thanks so much for your feedback, we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your spacious room but so sorry to hear that there were other elements of your stay that didn't meet your expectations.

We're really disappointed that the quality of our towels were not up to our usual high plush quality. Our linen is inspected at the laundry and again supervised prior to being hung on a towel rack. I’d be grateful if you could kindly contact us on stay@hotelurban.com.au and let us know what name you booked under so that we can investigate this issue.

We will also look into why our usually helpful and super friendly staff weren't able to help you with your other glitches. Once again, thanks for bringing these items to our attention.

Kind regards,
James Muscat
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St Kilda hotels

Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this lovely hotel, reception staff really helpful....great beds & extras in the bathroom.
Loved the interior of the lifts...very imaginative. Busy area with easy tram links. Great beach area and you get free entry to the fab Sea Baths, even encouraged to take the hotels towels there with you.
Just found the café staff a bit slow to serve & saw people leave who'd waited too long, staff could have been friendlier in there too!
But still great place to stay.

Room Tip: stayed twice & both rooms were good,and tho one was linked to another room & we could here t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, Manager at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi patricia f,

Thanks so much for your review, we're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying at Hotel Urban and our extra little touches that make us 'more than a hotel'.

Sorry to hear that the service in Hub didn't live up to your expectations – we really do pride ourself on friendly and helpful customer service throughout our hotel and our café and bar, so it's disappointing to hear that it wasn't up to our usual standard. We will certainly be keeping a close eye on this.

Thanks again particia f, we hope that we can see again some time soon.

Kind regards,
James Muscat
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim
2 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great location with easy access to Trams. The room was modern and clean. But a bit dark the room had only one external window.
The staff at reception were fantastic, friendly and helpful.
Noise was the only real problem, it was very noisy on the weekend could not sleep.
Service in the cafe was poor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEREBuderim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, Manager at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks for your review GEREBuderim,

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed our fabulous location and our modern designer touches. It sounds like our staff really lived up to their cheerful and super-helpful reputation – always nice to hear!

It's disappointing that you experienced some noise issues and that the service in Hub didn't live up to your expectations. Thanks for bringing this to our attention now, we really do take guest comfort seriously.

Kind regards,
James Muscat
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.1 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
0.1 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges St Kilda

Property: Rydges St Kilda
Address: 35-37 Fitzroy St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia (Formerly Hotel Urban St Kilda)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#9 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges St Kilda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 200 metres from the beach, and with cosmopolitan and vibrant Barkly and Acland Streets around the corner, Rydges St Kilda will suit those who value designer chic combined with relaxed, modern comfort. All of our rooms feature premium amenities and ultra comfortable beds. For extra treats, consider our Deluxe King Spa Room featuring an indulgent one-person spa bath, or the decadent Spa Suite Room with your own double spa bath. For extra fun check out our popular Round Room, with a luxurious double spa featured in a unique circular space. If you're feeling peckish pop down to Hub cafe for scrumptious Genovese coffees and mouthwatering treats for breakfast and lunch. Later in the day visit Mavis Brown's. Our creative, friendly and relaxed bar with an extensive range of local and international craft beers as well as scrumptious tapas and daily specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rydges St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor St Kilda
Urban Hotel St Kilda
Rydges St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing