We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Good Value Stay”
Review of Rydges St Kilda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rydges St Kilda
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at the Urban for 3 nights in February. The rooms were comfortable, clean and the service was what was expected for the price. The main benefit of the Urban is its is close to lots of restaurants and cafe's and if trams are your style its easy to jump on one that goes straight to the city and all the usual attractions...too easy. On checkout they offered a significant discount on our next visit.. we just might take them up on the offer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WazandKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, Manager at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Hi WazandKy,

Thanks so much for posting your review, we're thrilled to hear that our hotel ticked all the right boxes for you and that you enjoyed our superb location – an oasis right in the hub of St Kilda's action, yet only a quick tram ride to the city.

We would love to see you again!

Kind regards,
James Muscat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 628 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay here as it was ranked #1 in St Kilder on tripadvisor & wow what a let down it was! Booked a 1 night "all about chocolate package" in a superior king room. Upon check-in we were not welcomed or told about our package or what it included, just given the room key. Then told we would be charged for parking, even though it was included in the package if they had read it!

Room tip: dont stay 315 as surround the entire lift shaft. Room felt clostrofobic as it had frosted windows 4/5 up. But did look into backyards with dogs barking all night.
Our package stated "welcome chocolates" we got stale brownies- fail. It also included unlimited hot chocolates which were machine/instant made in take away paper cups w lids, when asked they said that is what you get when you order a drink on room service. Not acceptable in my opinion for a four star hotel as advertised on certain booking websites!
The bathroom had white liquid drips down the brown wall. The toilet moaned in agony every flush which meant we could not use it during the night or it would wake the other person up.
We were woken up by a rude maid barging in to make up the room at 8:15, even though we were checking out that day at 11:00.
The aircon smellt of urine and the remote was covered in brown grime.
Upon check out we were charged for breakfast that we never ate so check your bill closely. They did however remove it apologetically.
Overall not worthy of number one. An insult to chocolate it should be called, definitely not for the chocolate lover as advertised. Will never stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VoodooHelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, Manager at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hi VoodooHelo,

Thanks so much for your feedback, we're really sorry to hear that your stay didn't live up to your expectations.

Due to your request to check in early before the regular 2pm check in time on the day that you arrived, the first room available was located near the lifts, which I believe was communicated to you – we're sorry if this was not made clear enough on check in. A much wider range of rooms would have been available at the regular check-in time, so it's disappointing to hear that our friendly staff didn't have the opportunity to re-accommodate you to a more suitable room.

The hot chocolate that was part of your package was Genevese hot chocolate, we do however deliver our hot chocolate to rooms in take-away cups to ensure it stays hot upon delivery. We can also assure you that that our chocolates delivered to the room are home made truffles made fresh daily too, so it's a real shame that they didn't hit the spot for you.

Thanks for the feedback about the issue with the toilet too, our maintenance team will look into this. We will also look into why the housekeeping staff member entered your room before check-out time, as we really take guest comfort and privacy seriously.

Kind regards,
Operations Manager
James Muscat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights for a conference. Accommodation was clean, spacious and tidy. The conference room was a good size and comfortable. The bar staff were friendly and cheerful which adds to the cheery atmosphere of that St. Kilda area. The food in the cafe at the Hotel could have been better. Reception staff pleasant. I question the value for money.

Room Tip: I would certainly compare prices and rooms of different accommodation places before booking again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54Jenlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, Manager at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hi 54Jenlan,

Thanks so much for your review, we're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed our accommodation and reception facilities and that our staff lived up to their friendly reputation.
We have just recently refurbished all of our meetings and events facilities, so we are getting lots of great feedback about the modern, bright and spacious look. We're sorry to hear that the price of the accommodation didn't live up to your expectation of value.

Our prices do fluctuate depending on peak periods and demand, so you may have stayed at a particularly busy time. We generally receive lots of great feedback about the food at Hub from guests and local foodies alike, so it's disappointing to hear that you thought it could have been better, so will certainly take this feedback on board.

Thanks again for your comments 54Jenlan.

Kind regards,
James Muscat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have stayed a number of times at the Urban, both for business & for pleasure. If you want a good value, well located hotel, the Urban is a very good option--if you want 5 star with all the bells & whistles, look elsewhere! The positives are the rooms (all but a couple a very quiet, with a very comfortable bed, individual control AC, and quite satisfactory bathroom), the location in the heart of St Kilda, and the Hub restaurant for breakfast. The negatives are the very tight parking spaces, the very slow lift, and a mixed performance on the reception desk, which can be slow & painful at times. I've normally paid $155 for a room and $18 per day for parking--at that rate, it represents very good value

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frans_12255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, Manager at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hi Frans_12255060,

Thanks so much for your review and for choosing to stay at Hotel Urban again. We're really happy to hear that enjoy the comfort and serenity of our welcoming rooms, it sounds like you enjoyed our top location too!

We're sorry to hear that our staff's service hasn't lived up to your expectations 100% of the time, this is really disappointing to hear as we really do pride ourself on providing a warm, welcoming and helpful experience for all of our guests.

Over the past 3 weeks, we have been training three new receptionists and two Duty Managers which may have resulted in a varied level of experience in customer service.

Thanks again Frans_12255060 for your review, we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
James Muscat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed her for two lovely nights after we married, a mini-moon, if you will. After an exhausting lead-up to the big day, we were very relieved to find ourselves in the quiet hum of Fitzroy St. The concierge and staff were absolutely wonderful, an absolute credit to the property. They were very helpful on several matters, and we appreciate their kindness at the end of our special day.

Pros: Staff, comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, location to everything worth visiting in St Kilda.
Cons: Toiletries could have been way better for the class of room and hotel. The size and layout of the rooms need to be addressed in future rethinking of the property, as they were akin to an airport hotel. The thumping noise from the bars below and bands playing at The Prince were also a distraction, but not a deal-breaker - it's the heart of Fitzroy Street, after all!

Overall, a perfect spot for two nights in St Kilda. Barney Allen's (great food, drinks) and the Pelican (excellent coffee & chai & breakfast) are across the road, and there are plenty of great restaurants on the strip. The beach, Acland Street, and the Esplanade market are a moment's walk away.

I recommend the Hotel Urban St Kilda for quick trips, couples wanting a central spot to base themselves, where you will be busy with everything around St Kilda, but not for a luxurious, romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, Manager at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Hi Karen J,

Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank-you for the 5 star review and for choosing Urban as a post wedding getaway ! We're so glad to hear that our staff made you feel so welcome during such a special time, we really do like to make our guests feel like they are at a home away from home.

We're really sorry to hear that you experienced some problems with street noise and we often get great feedback about our delicious smelling Evo salon products too, so it's disappointing to hear that they didn't meet your expectations. Glad you were able to enjoy some of the amazing restaurants and bars that surround our hotel – we love Barney Allen's and Pelican too.

Thanks again for your review Karen J,

Kind regards,
James Muscat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

A good place to stay in St Kilda. Hotels has a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Close to the beach and restaurants. Tram stop just a few meters away which makes getting into the centre of melbourne very easy. Small but clean and comfortable rooms. Only dislike is the painfully slow lift.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi Hazmanda,

Thanks so much for your 5 star review – we're so glad to hear that you found our hotel to be just like home (if not better). Our friendly team really do try to go out of their way to make sure our guests feel welcome and special. It sounds like you really enjoyed the delicious food at Sure Café, you are certainly right about it being a local favourite. Our outdoor courtyard is the perfect place to relax with friends and enjoy a coffee or bite to eat or relax in the sun.

We hope to see you again at our home away from home Hazmanda.

Kind regards,
Amanada Cottome
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a pretty good hotel. Great location with tram stops right outside. A 2 minute walk to the beach. Rooms nice and a massive bed. There is also a cafe connected to the hotel. I went to this once and found it very good.
My only complaint is that you have to pay for the wifi. It is 10 dollars a day or 50 for a week. In all the hotels I have stayed in recently this is the only place to take a charge.
However I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, Manager at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Hi Hbhoy,

Thanks so much for your review, we're glad to hear that you had a positive stay and enjoyed our fabulous location. Hub Restaurant and Café certainly is a great spot to enjoy a feed – our menus are carefully planned by our Executive Chef and have lots of fresh and delicious options for breakfast and lunch. The five spiced calamari salad is a real favourite of mine.

Thanks for your feedback about the WiFi too, we will certainly consider this when next reviewing our pricing. We always love to hear that our guests are recommending our hotel to friends and family too, we really appreciate that you are spreading the word.

We hope to see you again sometime Hbhoy.

Kind regards,
James Muscat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.4 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
0.1 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
0.1 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges St Kilda

Address: 35-37 Fitzroy St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia (Formerly Hotel Urban St Kilda)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#6 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: $92 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges St Kilda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 200 metres from the beach, and with cosmopolitan and vibrant Barkly and Acland Streets around the corner, Rydges St Kilda will suit those who value designer chic combined with relaxed, modern comfort. All of our rooms feature premium amenities and ultra comfortable beds. For extra treats, consider our Deluxe King Spa Room featuring an indulgent one-person spa bath, or the decadent Spa Suite Room with your own double spa bath. For extra fun check out our popular Round Room, with a luxurious double spa featured in a unique circular space. If you're feeling peckish pop down to Hub cafe for scrumptious Genovese coffees and mouthwatering treats for breakfast and lunch. Later in the day visit Mavis Brown's. Our creative, friendly and relaxed bar with an extensive range of local and international craft beers as well as scrumptious tapas and daily specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Rydges St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor St Kilda
Urban Hotel St Kilda
Rydges St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing