We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Fresh Feeling Hotel”
Review of Rydges St Kilda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rydges St Kilda
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Checked in late and process was very simple. Hotel was easy to find, Car parking was a bit of a challenge but found it. Car park is a very tight squeeze but managed to park. Signs from the carpark to the Hotel lobby could be improved after I ended up in a staffroom trying to find my way after parking.

The feel and look of the hotel is very fresh and modern. The lift is very cool with it's full colour beach wrap on the walls and floor. The room was very clean, modern and have everything I needed. Free wifi was an added bonus! Very rare to find free wifi in cap cities in Australia. Room was very big, bed was comfortable and shower/bathroom was outstanding.

Not much of a view and the windows we're half frosted but if that doesn't worry you - your in for a great stay. Plenty of food places in and around the area and easily accessible to the city.

Value for money - definitely!

Room Tip: Carpark is a bit tight, if your in a larger vehicle you might struggle parking and getting down to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jedi1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Hi Jedi 1984,

Thanks for your great review, we're so glad that you enjoyed the look and feel of our hotel and your stay was such a positive experience. We're always trying to look at new ways of injecting fresh and unique elements into our design. Thanks for the suggestion about our signage, we will look into ways of improving this so that our guests don't end up in the kitchen with our friendly staff, rather than the lobby. Did you get a chance to try Hub Café which is just at the front of Hotel Urban – the delicious seasonal menu has been impressing local foodies and our guests alike since recently opening?

We hope to welcome you again soon Jedi 1984!

Kind regards,

James Muscat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 651 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have never slept so well in a hotel before. The bed and the bedding were extremely comfortable. Also you could open a window which means a lot to me as I often feel quite claustraphobic in hotels. The position was great so close to the beach and restaurants also very easy access to the trams to go into Melbourne. I will stay again because it is not too pricey the parking is good. The breakfast was very tasty and the staff were great. I really loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Hi Lorraine 1803,

Thanks so much for your glowing review, we are thrilled to hear that your stay was such a pleasant and restful experience. It sounds like you had a great night of shut-eye, thanks to our cloud-like Urban Snorer beds – our guests often comment on how super comfy they are. And so glad you enjoyed our location and our close proximity to the beach, dining and entertainment scene.

Thanks again, for taking the time to comment, our friendly team would love to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

James Muscat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Having booked based on the 'trendiest Hotel' recommendation, I was a little disappointed. The decor was quite dull. I was expecting a little bit of pizzaz. The Room was very poky and small. However the sheets and bedding were lovely and the toiletries the best i've come across. staff were not overly helpful and could not provide a restaurant recommendation. Location was great. Pricewise it compared poorly with the other hotels we stayed at.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meeka O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, Manager at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Hi Meika O,

Thanks for posting your feedback. We're so sorry to hear that our decor didn't live up to your expectations. We like to put our unique spin on interior trends and regularly update our décor to keep things interesting for our guests. We are glad that our evo hair care products and the amazingly comfortable Urban Snorer bed made your stay enjoyable. Our guests often comment on how friendly and helpful our staff are, so it's very disappointing to hear that this didn't stand out to you as much as our fantastic location did. I'll be sure to raise this with the team. Thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards,

James Muscat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here overnight while visiting Melbourne and after having bought a Spreet's voucher earlier in the year. The hotel is situated toward the end of Fitzroy Street (near the water) with secure off street parking offered at $30 per night.
Our room quite large with a very comfortable king bed, desk area and small fridge. TV was good and reception worked well. the room was very quiet. The bathroom was reasonable - though the shower leaked.
Breakfast at the Hub (cafe downstairs) was provided and this was quite a pleasant area to sit and eat.

Reception staff were pleasant and helpful. Plenty of cafes nearby within walking distance. Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the St Kilda area. Good safe area in which to walk around and close to everything.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor - no view as such but neighbourhood quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruizin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, Manager at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Hi cruizin42,

Thanks for your comments. We aim to be a calm oasis in the midst of St Kilda's many delights so it's so good to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel.

Hub, our recently opened café and bar has proven to be a real hit with our guests and local foodies alike. We've just released an updated brekkie and lunch menu with some delicious new dishes to keep things interesting for our regulars. Sorry to hear that the shower caused you a spot of bother. If you would like to email us at stay@hotelurbanstkilda.com.au and let us know what name you booked under, we will get our maintenance team to take a look at the shower in the particular room that you stayed. Our friendly team at Urban hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
James Muscat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in room 217 and found it exceptionally quiet and the bed was very comfortable, no view out the window but we werent there for the view, location was excellent, restaurants and cafes everywhere, the beach a very short walk and trams to the city very close by, will definitely stay here again, only minor downside was there lovely looking hotel bar was closed, but the cafe served a lovely coffee.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6swiftys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, Manager at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Hi 6swiftys,
Thanks for your comments – it certainly sounds like you enjoyed being in the best location in St Kilda! Although our hotel is right in the thick of St Kilda’s vibrant neighbourhood, you really wouldn't guess just how close to the action you are by how quiet our rooms are.

Sorry to hear that you missed out on visiting Hub. We’ve already received rave reviews about Hub from the media, local foodies and travellers alike. Hopefully you will have the opportunity to pop in another time to try our signature house made crumpets - the ultimate comfort food.
Thanks again for your feedback,

James Muscat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The rooms were spacious and the bed was so comfortable. It was nice to be able to sleep so well.
Staff were nice and friendly. The hotel was very clean and with trams running out the front it was handy to get around. No view from windows but amazingly quiet, you wouldnt know you were on a busy main st.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meg038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlands, Marketing at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Hi meg038,

How comfy are our Urban Snorer beds! It’s great that you got a good nights sleep. We love our location too and the access the trams provide to all surrounding suburbs, so thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards

David
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed here mid July, place is basic 3 star but the 2 good points are firstly location and secondly staff were very polite and nice to deal with. Rooms were a good size and comfortable, Bathroom huge and spotless. Bars and cafe's right on doorstep. City about 20 minutes away by tram. Would definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trebor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlands, Marketing at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Hi trebor44,

Thank you for your lovely review. We will definitely share your comments with our staff and housekeepers – they'll be pleased!

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards

David
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.4 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
0.1 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda Melbourne
0.1 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges St Kilda

Address: 35-37 Fitzroy St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia (Formerly Hotel Urban St Kilda)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
#6 Business Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: $95 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges St Kilda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 200 metres from the beach, and with cosmopolitan and vibrant Barkly and Acland Streets around the corner, Rydges St Kilda will suit those who value designer chic combined with relaxed, modern comfort. All of our rooms feature premium amenities and ultra comfortable beds. For extra treats, consider our Deluxe King Spa Room featuring an indulgent one-person spa bath, or the decadent Spa Suite Room with your own double spa bath. For extra fun check out our popular Round Room, with a luxurious double spa featured in a unique circular space. If you're feeling peckish pop down to Hub cafe for scrumptious Genovese coffees and mouthwatering treats for breakfast and lunch. Later in the day visit Mavis Brown's. Our creative, friendly and relaxed bar with an extensive range of local and international craft beers as well as scrumptious tapas and daily specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rydges St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor St Kilda
Urban Hotel St Kilda
Rydges St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing