We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We became regulars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lava in Balaclava

Lava in Balaclava
Reserve with
Lava in Balaclava is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #63 of 282 Restaurants in St Kilda
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
BELLINGHAM
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We became regulars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great food, nice atmosphere, friendly staff, and people who remember you - what more could you ask for? Plus they were willing to make substitutions to the menu - we love this place!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank phebess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    9
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a very nice evening at Lava. Fabulous, attentive service. The food was good, but could have used more seasoning. The spicy chicken wasn't, it lacked any kind of zing and my salad dressing needed salt and acid. That said, the portions are generous and the ingredients very fresh.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2020trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A favourite on Carlisle Street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Relaxed, interesting menu that caters well for vegetarians. Staff are generally friendly. Enjoyed the breakfast, early or late, still good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CilliA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“fresh taste~”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

datails you could find my photoes in their all day dining restaurant.
we tried their breakfast buffet and dinner~ we also had a special dinner near the pool~ its great!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Try the Local Food in Treolet.the Breyani is Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank KevinNaidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava in Balaclava also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 
Balaclava, Port Phillip
St Kilda East, Port Phillip
 

Been to Lava in Balaclava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing