We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Position in the Hub of St Kilda”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Have stayed twice at this hotel and have been satisfied with it. It is only steps from restaurants, cafes and shops, right in the heart of St Kilda. Very close to Luna Park and a stroll from the waterfront. Parking available (no charge). I would stay here again, everything was clean, comfortable and in good condition. Looking at other reviews I'm not sure if there are two standards of rooms.
There is a popular backpackers right across the road from it, if you prefer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venusbathstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,090 - 1,096 of 1,559 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

Booked this hotel over the Melbourne Grand Prix weekend, so in line with all other hotels in the city had to pay a premium even booking 6 months out. This was our second visit to the GP so picked St Kilda for the location as last time we had stayed in the CBD in an area where there was not much going on at night. On this front we were not disappointed - plenty of restaurant choice close by. Booked a studio apartment as read they were at the back of the hotel (no view though, if that matters to you) and quieter than rooms overlooking the front and also providing more spacious accommodation. No problem with external noise but being GP weekend the place was filled with groups of men talking in their room until 2 a.m. each night above us. They were not being rowdy, simply chatting but it was clearly audible.

Overall, thought the accommodation was disappointing. Biggest problem was the bathroom which was tiny in comparison with the rest of the space and an old fashioned, concertina shower screen arrangement over the bath which whatever you did leaked all over the floor. We reported it twice to reception who gave us extra towels to mop the floor with but if we did not hide these in our suitcase the cleaning staff took them away each day. Pity the cleaning staff were not so quick off the mark in other areas as the room was not properly cleaned on a daily basis i.e dust on surfaces, bathroom sink left with a tide mark from my husband’s wet shave & no vacuuming. Thought these apartments had been newly refurbished from the photo.’s but there was peeling paint in the alcove by the window and shadows on the wall which the wall light had caused over long use. The bedside lamps were all crumpled in giving a very down at heel feel to the place. Another big gripe was the internet speeds which were so slow we could not send emails or even search the web for our on going travel plans which was very limiting. Also no easy chairs to relax in just a cafe table and 2 hard chairs.

On a positive note the bed was comfy with good clean linens (which incidentally are only changed every 3 days), the reception staff were very helpful & friendly and the hand written welcome note from Ben, the manager a nice touch. Breakfast was good value at $15 each in comparison with other places we ate. But the final annoyance was being charged an extra $20 credit card fee on payment when I felt we had already paid over the odds for sub-standard accommodation. None of the other 6 hotels we stayed at in Australia on this trip made this charge.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkietrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Yorkietrav,

Thank you for taking the time to provide you feedback on you recent stay at the Cosmopolitan Hotel St Kilda.

It is really disappointing to see that we have missed the mark on providing you a quality memorable stay on this visit.

Thank you for your feedback about the shower screen in your bathroom, we are currently redesigning the shower screens in our Acland wing and I am sorry we were unable to fix this during your stay.

I hope you would like to try the Cosmopolitan Hotel in the future

Warm Regards

Hayley Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed with a friend recently, and was very impressed. The hotel is close to the Palais Theatre, Acland St, and two tram routes directly into the city. Our room was well presented, clean and tidy, and we had a huge bed and breakfast thrown in for good measure. Plenty of carparking too. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Wendy H

Thank you for taking the time to publish a review on your recent stay.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient and our rooms great value.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cosmopolitan Hotel when next you travel to the area

Warm Regards

Hayley Williams
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Underwhelmed to say the least. For the price of our 'Grand Apartment' ($350) understandably more was expected.
From the dingy, musty, airless rooms. To no working lights in bedroom. To paper thin walls. To no balcony - as advertised. We could've done a lot better for our money.
Don't trust the photos!!!
To put it bluntly, it's a bit of a dump & certainly not 4 star - 2 at best.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear CeraGray

Thank you for taking the time to provide you feedback on you recent stay at the Cosmopolitan Hotel St Kilda.

It is really disappointing to see that we have missed the mark on providing you a quality memorable stay on this visit. Rest assured the maintenance items you have mentioned.

For the benefit of other guest all our apartments have opening windows and reverse cycle air conditioning to assist with the airflow in the room. In addition balconies are available on request and we do our best to fulfil our guest requests.

I hope you would like to try the Cosmopolitan Hotel in the future.

Warmest Regards

Hayley Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Overall I enjoyed a six night stay in Feb. The hotel is very close to the restaurants and beach area. It's only about 2 short blocks from a tram stop to Melbourne, and I easily pulled my suitcase there when I returned to Melbourne. The king size bed was comfortable, but the pillows were too high and gave me a sore neck (but there's a place on Acland St where you can get a five minute neck massage for $5). There was a cabinet for toiletries in the bathroom and the water pressure is great. The pillows were nicely arranged on the bed when I arrived, but after that tossed on the floor at the side of the bed. Wi-fi worked for my PC but not for my smartphone. The safe lock didn't work; it was replaced and still didn't work. The carpet was not cleaned during a 6 day stay - there were bright orange cracker crumbs and other obvious bits on the floor. The first couple of nights I found that my slippers were moved from beside the bed to under the luggage rack. So the next morning I put them under the luggage rack and they dissappeared! They were next to a trash bin - I might have assumed the staff thought I meant to throw them away, except they were where the staff had been moving them to.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PA-Kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, Operations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear PA-Kitty,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with the Cosmopolitan Hotel.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, but was disheartened to hear about the small issues with housekeeping. Rest assured your feedback has been addressed as we pride ourselves on the service we provide – including from our housekeeping department. The confusion regarding your misplaced slippers has also been addressed and new procedures in place moving forward. I am glad that we were able to assist with the broken safe but am sorry to hear that a replacement didn't solve the problem – I have requested our maintenance to look into this straight away.

I’m happy that you enjoyed our superior micro-cloud bedding and King size bed – however I understand you had a dislike for the pillow size.

If you will be travelling back to St Kilda in the future, please feel free to contact myself directly, so I may personally take care of your reservation and extend to you a discounted rate.

Thank you again PA-Kitty, I look forward to speaking with you in the future.

Warmest regards
Ben Higgins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Conveniently situated in St Kilda near the beach and the town, with a local tram to downtown Melbourne, this provided a useful stay on our road trip in Southern Australia. We did not have to take the car in to Melbourne, but it was handy to use locally. The stay was very comfortable and quiet and free parking. Would recommend it for a mid price stay in Melbourne. The Airport shuttle also stops just opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffSurryUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, Operations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear GeoffSurryUK

Thank you for choosing the Cosmo for you recent visit to Melbourne and for taking the time to comment on here.

Complimentary car parking is something the Cosmo is delighted to offer guests and I'm glad to see you were able to take advantage of this. For other readers, as you mentioned there is a third party shuttle bus that picks up and drops off at the hotel from Melbourne Airport, taking approx 1 hour and is a great option for those not driving on their visit. Guests are welcome to call the hotel and we can provide details for this service.

Thank you again Geoff, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Warmest regards
Ben Higgins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed two nights to enjoy the locale. Booking and greeting were straightforward and friendly. Free onsite parking, shaded if you are lucky. Room was bright and clean without being anything special.

Well located just back from Acland street. Good views to beach and St Kilda landmarks without noise. We didn't use restaurant or breakfast because we were so close by to Acland Street.

Will do iut again one day.

Room Tip: Upper balcony overlooking Palais, Luna Park and Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Semperpronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Semperpronto,

Lovely to have you stay with us and thank you for your review!

We understand value for money is important, so on your next visit be sure to ask our friendly staff about our special packages on offer including - Boutique Breakfast (in Chalk Café) Parking and Wi-Fi – in a room type suitable to your needs and comfort.

See you on your next trip from the country.

Warmest regards
Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.4 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
481 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda Melbourne
1.3 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne

Address: 2 - 8 Carlisle St | St Kilda Beach, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: $89 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the action of Melbourne’s favourite beachside playground, this 86 room boutique hotel is a perfect base to explore St Kilda, Melbourne, and its surrounds. Moments away from St Kilda Beach, Palais Theatre, Iconic Luna Park as well as famous Acland Street cake shops, cafes, restaurants, and bars. There's so much to explore and quite a bit of history too. Influenced by St Kilda's entertaining scene in the 50s to 70s, Cosmopolitan was once known as the Rock and Roll hotel, popular with a number of great Aussie icons and international performers. Catering to all budgets whether it be for business or leisure, Cosmopolitan Hotel has accommodation styles to suit all needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8 St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing