We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great St Kilda stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2014

A non expensive stay right in the heart of St Kilda.

Hotel was cute - old movies from the 1940s play at the reception desk. Complimentary dvd and magazine library. No mini bar but beverages available for purchase from reception.

Staff - Always happy to help - my fiancé broke the safe in the late afternoon of our first nights stay. A handyman was there the next morning to retrieve his laptop and fix it.

Room - a lot bigger than I expected. The bed was super comfortable too and the ensuite adequate. Down side was that we looked directly at the Base backpackers across the road so at night we looked straight at drunk revelling travellers and the backpackers bouncer. BUT our windows were double glassed so you couldn't hear anything once they were shut.

Location - quick walk to St Kilda, The Espy and Trams. Taxis at your doorstep.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, Operations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Crystal J,

Thank you for your taking the time to share your feedback form your recent stay with us.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Cosmo and enjoyed your spacious room. I am very happy to read your comments about our staff - thank you. It is great to hear you share our fondness for the black and white movies playing in our foyer and I’m glad you were able to make use of the DVD and magazine library during your visit.

Being in the heart of St Kilda it’s easy to get wrapped up in the hustle and bustle of it all. I’m pleased to hear this did not disturb you and that our double glazed windows did the trick!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warmest regards

Ben Higgins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,109 - 1,115 of 1,559 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here for 11 days over the Christmas and New Year. The hotel offers a range of different room categories and on site parking. We chose a de lux room on the first floor. The room was a reasonable size with basic facilities. It excluded micro wave and toaster. The multi cultural reception staff were very friendly and helpful on several occasions.

However the hotel is stingy with some things compared with the premium prices being charged and compared with lesser establishments in which we had recently stayed. Although there was shelf space there was a no table or sofa. There was very limited coffee and tea facilities but no biscuits. A particular niggle was no complementary water bottles. Water was available but as part of a mini bar and at really eye watering prices. Similarly if you wanted a microwave and toaster, management had set prices for each which were priced unacceptably high on a daily basis. There is a sizeable breakfast room with high prices hiked further for the weekend and public holidays. An additional niggle was charges for using credit card settlements. However wi-fi was free.

The hotel is in a quiet location on the edge of the CBD. It is on the doorstep of the frequent tram service to Melbourne with its shopping, historical buildings and the MCG and Rod Laver arena. The hotel is close to a range of eateries, supermarkets, other shops and night clubs. It is only 5 minutes walk from the esplanade, beach and pier. There are fairie penguins close by.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin_bishop1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Colin_bishop1941,

At the Cosmopolitan Hotel we pride ourselves on being transparent in what we offer and it is a shame that we did not meet your expectations on your recent stay.

With our guests "value for money" in mind, we happily include Car parking, Wi-Fi, Tea and Coffee facilities at no extra cost. Packages including breakfast in conjunction with discounted stay and save deals are also on offer online, and direct at the hotel. Our friendly team are conversant in the 8 room categories we available, and will always recommend the best room type to what our guests are asking for. I am sorry the Deluxe room category didn't have the extra features you were after, however on your next visit you might like to try our Cosmo Studio rooms which offers self-contained facilities located in our Acland Wing.

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Well you won't be disappointed if you choose to stay here... The location is perfect.. stroll to the beach, great bars, restaurants, live entertainment or step on a tram that will take you anywhere you need to be.. Not sure where to go what to do? Just ask the staff... felt so good to enter reception and always be greeted with a smile from employees who genuinely cared that you were having a wonderful time while staying with them. On their recommendation I drove the great ocean road, ate some of the best food I have had in a long time, easily found my way around town, on and off the public transport to victorian markets, federation square, south bank, chapel st etc.. So much to see and do while in St Kilda, I was there five days, will go back for sure.. Free internet, parking, clean very comfortable rooms, if driving easy access out of town, to west gate bridge and great ocean road you can't go wrong sure you will have a wonderful time, I did :)

Room Tip: I stayed in one of their delux rooms, was very impressed with price and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth6018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Ruth,

Thank you for the glowing review.

I'm delighted that you found our customer service exceptional - our team works very hard to ensure each guests' stay is special and memorable. We know what it's like to be in a new city, and for the benefits of those other reading this, we're armed with plenty of suggestions for things to do and places to eat.

We look forward to your return visit!

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I had a really great stay at the Cosmopolitan, mainly thanks to the multicultural super nice team. With their attentive and warm way of caring they left a really good impression. Can only recommend this place! Its also really central and very close to all the trendy bars and the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielaniederer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear danielaniederer,

Genuine friendly service is what the Cosmo Team is all about, and it is much appreciated you have taken the time to share this on here!

Thank you for your recommendation, and hopefully we will get to see you again in the future.

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I am an ardent buffet breakfast lover, it offers a rather luxurious opportunity to graze, relax, eat, meet and enjoy whether for business or pleasure. A couple of weeks ago I had arranged to share breakfast in St Kilda.
I associate the "buffet breakfast" experience with the larger 4 or 5 star city hotels, I had been to the Grand Hyatt the previous week for a business breakfast so was rather surprised that the Cosmopolitan Hotel actually provided this service.
We walked through the pretty cool looking lobby into a the light filled "Chalk Cafe", crisp white linen on the tables, stylish and European in its feel, I was pleasantly surprised. I then saw the buffet on offer and was speechless. The array of options was worthy of a Collins Street address, beautifully presented and fresh, fruit, pastries, bread selection, muesli's, porridge, cheese, hams, eggs to order…... amazing. The service was discreet and friendly with Tyson the head chef personally delivering our perfectly poached eggs. All of this in the heart of St Kilda for $15?!!!!
The secret is out, great place to stay (I knew that) , but really this is a fab place for breakfast whether you are a guest or not. Really impressed.
I loved it and will be a regular from now on.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJW919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear DJW919,

Our Café Manager Tyron's passion for Breakfast, shines through with the beautiful presentation and the abundant selection, that encompasses our very unique Boutique Breakfast!

Thank you for sharing your positive experience for our other guests to read and we look forward to welcoming you back to Cosmo (& Chalk Café) in the future!

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stay here on business around 6 to 8 times a year. Stays vary from 1 to 3 nights at a time. Staff here are second to none. The place is clean, rooms are tidy and clean and the air con works well. Get a carpark facing rom if possible as The Carlisle St facing rooms can be a bit noisy from the trams and the backpackers place directly opposite. Continental Breakfast is good value and the fresh coffee really nice. Only down side is there is no bar in the hotel, something the management should consider putting in for in house guests. Good restaurants are close by and some nice bars. Recommend the Dogs Bar for dinner and just around the corner and a 2 min walk away.

Room Tip: Grab a car park facing room for a good nights sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Stefan,

Great to here you are still coming to the hotel and thank you for the suggestion to open the bar of an evening.This may be something we can look at when considering future hotel developments.

For the benefit of our other readers; Beverage service is available at the hotel. Our reception staff happily serve beverages from our Quench menu (Reception display fridge), up to our guests rooms, or even alfresco, on the deck outside our cafe. The perfect placed to enjoy a cold one and and watch the world go by, down on Carlisle Street!

Stefan, thanks for sharing your recommendations, and lovely to have you staying with us again!

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The cosmopolitan Hotel was wonderfully is the handling of my booking, we had a excellent time, staff were the best I have come across in a long time and I have travelled around the world
Studio aparment was clean, tidy and a great size for us, THANK you to all at the Cosmopolitan Hotel, you made my daughter's 21st weekend Excellent and Special. Please carry on doing what you do best Making people's stay in St Kilda an amazing time Debbie J

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Debbie J,

We are delighted to hear your Daughters 21st Birthday weekend was special, and it is our pleasure to be able to provide you this experience!

Our Cosmo Studios are a great self-contained accommodation option,featuring comfortable , well-appointed apartments style rooms, all for a price that doesn't break the budget.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again in the future!

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.4 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
482 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda Melbourne
1.3 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne

Address: 2 - 8 Carlisle St | St Kilda Beach, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: $89 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the action of Melbourne’s favourite beachside playground, this 86 room boutique hotel is a perfect base to explore St Kilda, Melbourne, and its surrounds. Moments away from St Kilda Beach, Palais Theatre, Iconic Luna Park as well as famous Acland Street cake shops, cafes, restaurants, and bars. There's so much to explore and quite a bit of history too. Influenced by St Kilda's entertaining scene in the 50s to 70s, Cosmopolitan was once known as the Rock and Roll hotel, popular with a number of great Aussie icons and international performers. Catering to all budgets whether it be for business or leisure, Cosmopolitan Hotel has accommodation styles to suit all needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8 St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing